We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Ranked #400 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Christmas holiday”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Fantastic hotel, small and intimate, incredibly welcoming. Massively authentic decor, staff wonderfully friendly. More than willing to help in any way. Overseen by an incredibly 'hands on' director who was very accommodating. Location allowed for relaxation yet a 1/2 hour journey on the number 1 (equal to 35p) to the centre and market for a busy atmosphere. The local bus however gets incredibly busy and can be quite a difficult task, however most locals are friendly and just want to get from A to B, some are not so friendly. We had a moment where a drunk local became over familiar, not troublesome, only a slight nuisance, and 3 locals were more than happy to help us out.
Service was friendly as were local Moroccans. A totally non-intimidating environment both in the centre and markets. Be willing to haggle, in a friendly environment.
Hotel exchange rate excellent, so change GBP here.
This is not a 5* hotel, however, the ambiance, the welcome, the environment and staff certainly were 5*. This hotel would not look right in a different country and that is what is lovely about it, it is not a polished chain that could be situated anywhere in the world, it is far more aesthetically pleasing than that.
We have had a wonderful Christmas and would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for small, friendly, local, special hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    233
    141
    85
    67
See reviews for
133
246
30
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais, Brazil
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The Tichka hotel is a very good hotel. The crew are very friendly. The room is big and very comfortable. The location isn't so good since its a 2,5km from the medina. The breakfast is good. It has a big swim pool which I didn't use since I went in winter and it was very cold. The price is fair.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielTeobaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Unfortunately my experience in this hotel wasn't so good.
The staff didn't speak English very well. They need some lessons about hospitality as well.

The infraestructure is good. The rooms are confortable and clean.
However the hotel needs some little repairs.
The localization is far from new and old center. So you will be a regular taxi customer.

Pay attention while you do your reservation, because they are used to not respect the terms.
I had a long arguement with the manager due it.

Room Tip: If you choose this hotel, asking for the room with garden or swimming pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandroSouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We just came back to London after staying in Tichka for 4 nights. I must say this hotel has got an outstanding value. I booked this hotel through Hotels.com for £50 a night - Double room, pool facing, third floor with Breakfast and Wifi access.

The room was brilliant and the staff was really very friendly.

Positives:
1. Bus no 1 takes you directly to Jema El FnA for jus MAD4 where as the Taxi will charge you MAD 40-50. When you come out to the main road, cross the road (Stop opp the petrol station) and take bus no1. 15 mins service takes about 15 minutes to Jema.
2. Very friendly staff
3. Big spacious rooms and I must say the the cleaner even folded our clothes. I have gone to various countries across the globe, but never had an experience like this.
4. Close to one of the best Spa's I have been to (La reiveria) and best Lebanese restaurant (La Cuisine de Mona - dont follow Trip Advisors Direction - Call the restaurant).

Negatives:
1. Pathetic internet - if you are away from the WiFi router.
2. The Hamam Lady was not in throughout my stay. Be careful of the staff and dont trust blindly.
3. Breakfast is really bad. Limited choices - Never the less they can make an omelette for you, if you ask them.
4. It can be noisy.
5. A bottle of water is MAD 25, but a bottle of water from Total Petrol pump for MAD 6 (near the bus stop)
6. You might find cats near your breakfast table.

You must be thinking as to why I am giving 5 stars!! well I was over-whelmed by the kind staff members and the amazing value this hotel offered. It was just one night which was noisy and its not Hotels mistake. All the best.

Room Tip: Call and speak to Mr. Abdul or Mr. Abdullah before your trip and tell them that you are looking for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Titansss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east preston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Just had a week at the Tichka and pleasantly surprised by the outstanding value. Great food and able to swap lunch and dinner when on half board.big comfortable bed.roaring log fires in lounge and dining room in the evening. Friendly staff. I liked the area tho a good 15min taxi to Jamal.would def go again

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 747rodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel with British Air ways for a good deal flight+hotel for 7 night for 247 pounds pp I went with my husband and when we got there the chick in was quick and easy, the room is large with ensuite, balcony overlooking to the swimming pool so fare it's Ok. What I didn't like is the breakfast , it's really very poor I have been in other 4 stars hotel in Marrakech and the difference is really huge. A small selection of pastries, two kinds of cheese, tiny boiled eggs, tomatoes, cucumber, and a tasteless fruit salad I was really disappointed. The only good thing is the Moroccan tea made by waiter Abbass he's the only friendly and smily waiter and make a really nice Moroccan tea.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank San C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The hotel in general we found was rather tired for want of a better word. The room we were allocated was ok but exposed wireing on two switch units in room 309 was a hazard as was also the leaky loo at the base which was pretty unhygenic. Broken light on the patio also exposed wires.
However our main problem was the breakfast in the morning which was a part of our B & B deal. First three days saw tables unlaid, fruit juices running out, no cups for coffee and tea, no hot water for tea which was disseminated from flasks, eggs ran out as did tomato, cheese etc. scrabbling around for clean cutlery, napkins etc. This was at around 09.00 with breakfast not due to finish until 09.00. This was pointed out to restaurant staff who in general certainly lacked leadership and coordination. The fourth day I took a camera to photo the evidence so as to speak. This ruffled feathers big time with the restaurant manager then also produceing a camera and after stocking up on the various items of which there were many missing then took his photos. It gets even better. He then put a plate laden with pastries on to the table in front of my partner and then took a photo of that with her as well, very good even though I had already amassd my evidence. He could well write the script for Fawlty Towers! Only problem was my other half who has a wheat intolerance would not have touched the pastries anyway, she just wanted some boiled eggs and some fruit etc. She also runs a very successful cafe in the UK so does know what the standard should be. Also I hasten to add she is not one of those fussy intolerant types either. We are both VERY seasoned travellers having being expats for many years, Airline staff and catering also. We do make allowances for the location etc as well knowing full well one does not expect the same range of produce one gets in other countries as Morrocco is after all a Muslim state. In all the breakfast service was a big joke.
The upside: Hotel staff polite and helpful, location excellent as off the main roads with only a short walk for bus No 1 into town direct. Poolside good and clean, hotel reception area open and airey with porters available and very helpful with local knowledge as were reception staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank longhauljock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
1.1 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#142 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
6.7 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#1 of 1 in Lagouassem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.5 mi away
LABRANDA Les Idrissides Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
#438 of 496 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
3.9 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#190 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.7 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#152 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marrakech le Tichka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marrakech le Tichka

Property: Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Address: Avenue Abdelkrim Khettabi | Quartier Semlalia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#193 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#211 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marrakech le Tichka 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm and ambience, comfort and convenience, the Hotel Tichka Marrakesh displays a revolutionary design. Nestled in shadypalms in a quiet district North of Gueliz, this hotel is only ten minutes from the historic Marrakesh medina and just fifteen minutes from Marrakesh's best golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marrakech le Tichka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tichka Salam Marrakech
Tichka Salam Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing