We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely NOT a 4 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Ranked #419 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Definitely NOT a 4 star hotel”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Arrived in the evening. Male receptionist kind of welcoming, but the poor man didn't even have a pen (he had to ask someone else, he even asked us!) to give us to fill out the registration form. His uniform was dirty and old. Not a very good image for a "4 star hotel". The actual building looks like it had been a nice hotel many years ago. I liked the furniture in the public areas and the actual decor was Moroccan style and quite charming. We then checked in. Our room (319 I think) was very quiet and big in size. Carpets were old and tired. Air conditioning didn't work. It didn't bother us too much as during the night is quite cool if you have the windows open. The bed was very comfy. Only one thin pillow per bed, though. TV channels are not in English. In room safe you have to pay 25dh per night to use it. Bathroom needed a bit of tlc. On the second day we didn't even get towels replaced (I actually left them hanging on the door so they don't replace them...they took them, but didn't leave new ones!). The room telephone hasn't got anything on it so you don't know what number to call reception...tried 9, 0, etc...nothing. The big let down in this hotel is the breakfast. Such nice gardens and swimming pool, though (the water is freezing). Breakfast is more than rubbish. Loads of pastries (not fresh) a bit of cheese and cheap meat (dunno what) and some orange juice available...awful. Like I said, the pool and gardens are lovely, though. Final straw was on check out when they asked for some tourist tax (100 dh) - it would be nice if they had warned us on check in! The hotel is quite far from the centre. Take the number 1 bus, not a taxi to the centre :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Juan141171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    234
    142
    86
    69
See reviews for
135
248
30
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The service is very poor. We reserved a room with a double bed but instead got two single beds the management didn't care at all. The breakfast had the worst service I have ever had they ran out of basic things such as cutlery and crockery, the food was not replenished and when you asked for something it took about 10 minutes to get it and they seemed angry that you asked them for something. The breakfast area is in a really nice location but the staff and service let's the whole thing down. I have had much better service in lower rated and much cheaper hotels. The overall service is very poor as it seems they have forgotten that people actually pay them for a service and we can go somewhere else which means they don't have a job anymore. I don't usually complain but the service is that bad

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petes1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Quiet location, nice pool, a bit far to the center (if you want to walk, taxis are cheap anyway). Our room was quite dark and a bit outdated, but we only slept there anyway. Great breakfast, especially the pancakes. We travelled a lot, so only took B&B option. The drinks in the bar are quite expensive, but there is a local shop 5 min away. There was a fridge in our room, so no problem at all. We have used the hotel spa, the body scrub was really good, but the spa looked a bit shabby. I guess that was the only downside of this hotel. Overall excellent value for the money we paid.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AdicA000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Have just come back from a couple of days stay in Tichka Hotel Marrakech.

The staff in the café/bar/breakfast area/dinner area were all extremely friendly and welcoming and would go out of their way to help you. Altho, I cannot say the same thing about the staff on reception ~the women on reception desk were very extremely rude with a capitol E. They had no manners whatsoever.The hotel was very clean, the room modern and spacious. The Hotel itself is beautiful.breakfast included in our stay ~ great variety for a continental and staff are so helpful and nice.

Stayed in room 206- big comfortable king size bed and lovely pool view. Beautiful big balcony over looking the pool with 2 chairs and room lovely and spacious. The cleaners came in every day to make the bed and give us new towels. Felt very safe at the hotel. Lovely to sit outside in the outside café bar near the pool and have a coffee.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IRISHGAL30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Have just come back from a five day visit to Marrakech- couldn't fault the hotel at all.

The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. The hotel was very clean, the room modern and spacious. Great value for money.

Although it isn't in the Medina it was very nice being just outside, a cab ride into the markets took less than ten minutes and were very reasonable (usually about 50 dirham). You can walk into the medinas which would take about half an hour, but being blonde you do get a lot of unwanted attention!

We had breakfast included in our stay; great variety for a continental and always enough left no matter whether we went early or later.

Stayed in room 53- big comfortable king size bed and lovely pool view. The cleaners came in every day to make the bed and give us new towels. Felt very safe at the hotel.

Would recommend for a nice break to the city! Note that although you pay for the hotel in advance you do have to pay hotel tax during your stay- I understand this is the same for any hotel in Marrakech, however we was not expecting to pay this as it had not been pointed out before we received the bill.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Very clean hotel, nice staff, reasonable price, good location. All what a family needs for a nice time in Marrakech. I really recommend it for youg couples that don't want to spend time in the old medina.

Room Tip: Choose the ground floor room with balcony to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

staff helpful, room fine, good wifi only bus1 into market, they offer goodish deals on trips
plenty of food outlets around, did enjoy my stay. would return. go out of the complex and get a taxi on main road. mini markets 10mins walk away. not many there in jan. had two rooms, one the heating did not work but other did. nice hot water for a bath.

Room Tip: upstairs over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark-on-the-road888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#157 of 500 in Marrakech
502 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#241 of 500 in Marrakech
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
#443 of 500 in Marrakech
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
LABRANDA Les Idrissides Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#196 of 500 in Marrakech
733 reviews
0.7 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#147 of 500 in Marrakech
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marrakech le Tichka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marrakech le Tichka

Property: Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Address: Avenue Abdelkrim Khettabi | Quartier Semlalia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#197 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#224 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marrakech le Tichka 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm and ambience, comfort and convenience, the Hotel Tichka Marrakesh displays a revolutionary design. Nestled in shadypalms in a quiet district North of Gueliz, this hotel is only ten minutes from the historic Marrakesh medina and just fifteen minutes from Marrakesh's best golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Marrakech le Tichka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tichka Salam Marrakech
Tichka Salam Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing