We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxing pool area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Ranked #448 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights here after spending time in mountains. We wanted a nice pool to dip into as weather was very hot. The pool area was very nice with plenty sun loungers provided and pool towels. The hotel looked very nice from outside and the reception area was clean however we had no toilet roll in our room, so we had to ask and yes we received very quickly and a few dirty plates were left laying in hall near our room for the full 3 days. We felt this hotel has the potential to rate higher in stars if a little more attention was paid to the smaller things. However overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nats1198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (699)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Was really happy with our stay. Staff were really friendly and helpful! The rooms were really large and clean. Beds were really comfy too. The air con wasn't overly powerful which became less of an issue after a day or two. The pool was gorgeous and is staffed during the day. I'd also recommend a hammam treatment in the spa in the hotel. Was so relaxing and really reasonable. My only issue was that the pool wasn't cleared out enough and was a graveyard for insects. Overall we were really happy with the hotel and would most certainly return.

3  Thank Eoin M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a traditional, friendly, spacious hotel. The staff are lovely, the ruins are huge and clean, the pool is magnificent, and it was exactly what we had hoped it would be.
The food was it's only let down, it was very reasonably priced, bit not amazing... Good, but not amazing. The breakfast is simple but plentiful. Their pancakes are a perfect start to the day.
Be sure to pick up some cat food for the little cat who lives there.... I called him Bert. And tell him dominic seems his love!!
Oh and be sure to put the DND sign on the door if you're having a lie in! They presume you're up and at'em otherwise!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank DomDinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just returned from staying at the Tichka Hotel for 5 nights, and all I can say is what a pleasant surprise it was! I had read so many negative reviews before going that I was kind of worried, but it turned out to be a really nice place to stay. Here's a few positives, Garden/Pool is beautiful, the staff are friendly and extremely helpful if you need anything, from pool towels to information about the area, they will help just ask! Food is good if your an easy eater, if your picky than I wouldn't recommend this hotel.
Few negatives, the carpets in the rooms weren't very clean and also there is not enough English channels on the television! Other than that we had a pool view room and it was very pretty :)
We went to the Souks in the square(Medina) such a traditional place, a little scary if your quite a reserved person as the Moroccans are quite loud and kind of in your face occasionally. Beware of the snake guys, they will literally put a snake around your neck without even asking, tell you to take a photo and then expect you to pay ££££... but do not pay more than 100D! Other than that it is a really interesting place to visit and experience...
We also went to the Majorelle Gardens, 50D to enter, its a very calm beautiful place to spend an hour or 2 :)

Room Tip: Ask for a garden/pool view room! we had 205 :)
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leanne2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I really think people on here are professional moaners!
This hotel is excellent in every way.... The staff (just take a little time to speak with them) the food... ( breakfast is good and varied dinner was excellent). The rooms.... We stayed in Room 305 and felt privileged. Very spacious... Huge and quality bed... Full size flat screen tv... Great room service... Clean.. And great balcony overlooking pool - couldnt fault anything.general areas around the hotel are many.. And spotlessly clean. Pool and sunbeds beyond adequate... And free towels too! Really couldnt ask for anything more overall.
Location is great ... Number 1 bus on main takes u into heart of medina for 23p and is a treat in itself.
Special mention for the lovely lady on breakfast reception!!!
So ignore the haters.. They will find fault wherever they go... This place is perfect for a Marrakech stay .. Avoid shiny new Hivernage... It looks nice but is lifeless and clinical... This is so much better.
Staying here for 11 days shows this was not written on a whim.... Have already recommended to others and would certainly return.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank X1owl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Value for money hotel in central/new part of Marrakech.
Really nice garden with pool and plenty sunbeds.
Drinks to be bought and breakfast taken at the pool.
Dinner and breakfast in traditional marroko style was fine
Large rooms with comfortable beds.
A bit run down and cleaning of rooms could be better?
Staff adequate but no more than that.
Bus for town centre right on the main road- but cheap enough taxis outside
the main entrance.Be certain to agree on price!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayknut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

As we were a mixed group of family and friends, with varying budgets, our main reasons for choosing this hotel were the price and the availability of different room types, including single rooms and proper triple rooms as opposed to double rooms with an extra bed squeezed in. We all agreed that the rooms were very spacious with comfortable beds, although it was mildly irritating that the telephone in our triple room did not work for the entire week, despite twice mentioning this to reception staff. Making arrangements with a group of people can be difficult enough without having to physically visit their rooms and speak to them, due to a broken telephone. In terms of the rooms, bedding was a bit hit and miss. I just had a top sheet on my bed, whilst one friend had a duvet cover without the actual duvet and another friend had the whole lot! There were the usual moans of no coat hangers in a couple of the rooms and insufficient toilet paper and towels in our triple room. Trying to get three sets of towels each day proved almost impossible and I began to think that it was a ploy by the staff to extract a tip when they had to bring a third set of towels to our door. Another downside to the rooms was the A/C which struggled to be effective. Had we been in Marrakech the previous week, when temperatures had hit the low forties, it would have been a nightmare.

Our triple room was located on the lower ground floor which meant that we were able to walk out of the French windows on to a patio area, although there was neither table nor seats there, and up a few steps to the gardens and pool. However, there were a couple of downsides to the position of the room. Firstly, the room was quite dark. Being below ground level, there was a small retaining wall directly facing the room which blocked out a fair amount of natural light. Secondly, because there was a pathway right outside the French windows, we were disturbed by noisy guests walking past.

The grounds of the hotel are pleasant and well tended. The pool area is attractive and there were always plenty of sun beds and towels. However, it was disconcerting to see that staff had decided to carry out some maintenance on the pool, during the middle of the day and whilst the pool was in full use. Scraping old paint from the inside of the pool, before repainting, and leaving guests to swim amongst the floating flakes of paint, is just not acceptable.

Breakfast was adequate but nothing more. Stocks were not replenished and, if you arrived towards the end, there was very little choice. Eggs, including omelettes, were available, although it was surprising to find that there was an extra charge for them. Yoghurts were not part of the standard fare either but you could generally get one if you asked. Apart from the first night, when some of our group were late arriving and asked for a sandwich but ended up being presented with some decidedly dodgy looking leftovers from the earlier evening buffet, we did not attempt to eat at the hotel.

One of the most negative aspects of this hotel is the lack of service and poor attitude of the staff, some of whom were downright rude and untruthful. Arriving after a late flight, and talking amongst ourselves about whether to grab a bite to eat before going to bed, a member of staff intervened and told us not to leave the hotel as it is dangerous. I had no doubt that the comment was made to unnerve us and entice us to eat inside the hotel but wondered how first-timers to a Muslim country might have reacted to such a statement. Morocco is a wonderful country and, in my experience as a single woman travelling there for many years, I would say, far safer than many other places in the world.

Having regularly visited Marrakech for the last thirty years or so, I can remember when this hotel first opened, proudly declaring its beautiful interior had been designed by the late Bill Willis, an American who had relocated to Morocco. I never stayed at Hotel Tichka in those early days but I visited on many occasions, drinking and eating by the elegant pool, and recall that it was a gorgeous place. However, like many of the Moroccan hotels where there is little or no maintenance, with poor quality repairs at best, standards at the Tichka have gone steadily downhill and, these days, it is faded and a very different hotel from when it first opened its doors. Realistically, it is nothing like the four star hotel it was, or any other true four star hotel come to that, but then neither are the prices four star. In all fairness, I would say that this is a low cost hotel and we probably just about got what we paid for.

Room Tip: Avoid lower ground floor if you are a light sleeper
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.5 mi away
LABRANDA Les Idrissides Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#141 of 502 in Marrakech
525 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#242 of 502 in Marrakech
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#203 of 502 in Marrakech
766 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
#445 of 502 in Marrakech
1,087 reviews
5.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marrakech le Tichka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marrakech le Tichka

Address: Avenue Abdelkrim Khettabi | Quartier Semlalia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#200 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#226 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £31 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marrakech le Tichka 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm and ambience, comfort and convenience, the Hotel Tichka Marrakesh displays a revolutionary design. Nestled in shadypalms in a quiet district North of Gueliz, this hotel is only ten minutes from the historic Marrakesh medina and just fifteen minutes from Marrakesh's best golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Marrakech le Tichka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tichka Salam Marrakech
Tichka Salam Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing