We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most romantic hidden gem of Marrakesh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Palais Rhoul & Spa
Ranked #196 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2010

This is not a typical hotel. This is a private retreat, open to strangers!
You feel like you've been invited to a fantastic private house in the Palmeraie.
Staff was very kind, specially the manager Noura, who tryed to make us feel fantastic and welcome in this lovely house. She also helped a lot in advising and arranging for city guide and hip restaurants.
We stayed at "la Suite du Maitre", which is the best suite around the pool. The room is amazing. We also visited the tents and they're beautiful. Next time we'll try the tents.
One special warning: Do not stay here if you're not living a romantic moment of your life. You might feel misplaced! However, if you need a romantic break, you MUST stay at palais Rhoul.
I would recommend this hotel to my dearest friends and would come back in a blink.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filipa_Campilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
There are newer reviews for Le Palais Rhoul & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2010

This is an expensive resort; it could be fantastic, but lets itself down in stupid ways.

The positive:
- We stayed in a wonderful luxury tent (the one with the plunge pool in it) and loved it; the tent was kept spotless inside every day, including the plunge pool.
- We had a great meal in the attached Abyssin restaurant. Really good international food. Good service.
- The hammam was excellent and very rigorous (but note - a man does the major part of the massage - this might put people off)
- The grounds were very peaceful and generally well tended. Mostly grass and trees, but nice to stroll around.
- The entrance hall and day area was spectacular, as was the pool.
- The non-tent bedrooms (that we didn't stay in) are either directly around the pool, or on a slightly odd lower level. The top level ones looked interesting, but, because they are glass fronted and right next to the pool and dining areas, privacy and noise might be a problem. The lower level bedrooms got no sun.
- The general atmosphere of the place was good.
- We were leaving early and the staff made sure we got a good early breakfast (before the restaurant opened) and helped with our cases etc... without prompting.
- The bill was correct!


The negative:

- Silly things weren't provided in the tent: no pen, no paper, no body lotion, no desk to write at, no information about the place.
- Basic simple maintenance wasn't done: semi-broken hair dryer - always an irritation, missing tap cover on the bath tap, toilet roll holder that fell to pieces
- Basic cleaning wasn't done properly - for instance, we went to look at the Abyssin restaurant during the afternoon, and spotted a number of cigarette butts lying around that hadn't been cleaned up - they were all gone by the time we ate there in the evening, but not the best first impression.
- The food in the main restaurant was variable: nice tagines (but not the best we had) but truly awful puddings. Odd things too: a cube of ice in a glass of wine?? When we asked for a G&T we were told we could only have wine at the main restaurant... why??
- There was a stunning helical staircase leading up to the roof - but nothing had been done with the terrace - it was just a dusty roof and a storage dump. A real waste.
- Service in the main restaurant was slow: food took a while to arrive, and plates and trays were left around for too long, both in the restaurant and by the loungers.
- Not enough towels around the loungers.
- Staff tended to lounge around chatting. They weren't in any way rude - they just didn't really engage with what they were doing.
- The boutique was closed for all of July, and no cover staff had been arranged. Somehow this just made the place look a bit forlorn.
- No-one really seemed to be in charge of anything.

It's a shame; the raw ingredients are all there for a perfect stay, and I have to stress that none of my negative points ruined the holiday in any way, and you might think some of them are a bit picky. But this is an expensive resort, and the website promises the earth. The management and staff need to deliver on their promises. They don't care nearly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spruzes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

What a fab and tranquil place.  5sq acres of gardens with wonderful luxury  bedwin tents complete with air con, high end audio visual and sumptuous funishings dotted throughout.  The service is outanding as is the lunch of different tagines offered daily. The tents and gardens are set around the palais and pool which occupies no more than 20 guests. This is a nice chilled place to escape the saharan heat as you drift aimlessly in thier ice cd fresh water pool. 

Your butlers are intentive and quickly  learn your exact needs and each day exceed them. 

I'd highy recommend the hammam and morrocon massage - it's an experience you won't forget and leaves your skin tinggiling and your soul energised for days. 

One let down, but remidied quickly if challanged, was the bill on checkout. We were charged fir the fruits placed in our room each day even though not requested.  Also you have a morrocon breakfast included which is delivered to your room/tent daily. Be aware that the itmes other than the bread and honey are induvidully charged and are very expensive. Get your butler to explain before you tuck in. 

Would I go back?  Sure ad hell I would.  

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JamesSharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

I'd wanted to stay at le palais rhoul for some time as it looked very impressive by the website and as it was family owned I had visions of there being lots of personal touches and attention to detail......unfortunately my experience was quite the contrary.
It started out badly waiting over 30 mins for our collection from the airport, when I called '8 times' to the reception to ask where the driver was only to be told each time he was there waiting for us....which he wasn't.
Upon arrival at the hotel , there was no one to greet us and we made our way into the main room waiting for a welcome or to sign in.
eventually someone came along booked us in.
We had to pay for the hotel in full via bank transfer prior to getting there.
The hamman which peope have mentioned they are famous for....was v strange and as I've had a hamman before, so when I turned up without a bathing costume i was suprised to be greeted by a man who would be doing the hammam.....ladies be warned....this is no ordinary hamman......the positions he puts you in, are quite acrobatic and i left there feeling as though it was somehow not the norm......
I've stayed in Marrakech a few times and definately feel as though Le Palais rhoul are missing a trick.......VIllas |des Orangers was great as was La sultana.....each had additional added personal touches, something that le palais rhoul did not.
We stayed in the tent which was very impressive,however be warned about lighting the fire as the room filled with smoke and all of my clothes stank of smoke for the rest of the holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MissWonderfu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

We didn’t actually stayed at the hotel. We merely went there for a cooking lesson and lunch afterwards by the pool.
However we ended up staying for the afternoon, since the staff was extremelly helpful and showed us around. We didn’t have the time or we would have stayed longer for the hamam.
The cooking lesson was enchanted. The chef had everything prepared for us to start and was extremely helpful in letting us know the tricks of cooking Marrakesh food; he also had a trip to the garden planed so that we could see and feel the herbs we were using in our cook. The setting helped too: a glass jardinière in one of the corners of Palais Rhoul pleasant gardens.
Our menu was Lamb Tagine, it tasted very good, but the whole experience was enchanted. A must in every visit to Marrakesh to have a glimpse of local luxury culture.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritinha74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

really peaceful and beautiful
staff very helpful and attentive
had a massage it was the best also a cookery lesson which was great

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mia005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We spent 3 really enjoyable days there.

- The rooms have been beautifully and tastefully decorated. You really get what you pay for here.
- They have a Moroccan and French menu. Although the food is very good, I think that the Moroccan is better, as you would probably expect.
- The staff are extremely helpful, efficient and friendly.
- There is a strong security presence there, so much so that they do not give you a room key unless you request one! My child was also able to freely roam around the extensive grounds with some friends that she had made.
- The pool and other facilities look great, however because the weather was bad, we could not use them!

Negatives
- Due to the design the rooms can be overlooked and when I return I would opt for a tent rather than a room.
- The hotel is slightly outside the town and you will find that the taxi bills start to add up after a while. A simple return trip costs about Euro 30

In summary, a fantastic experience. We looked at some of the other hotels in Marrakech, and none compared to this one in terms of overal experience.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harboro04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
0.1 mi away
Lodge K Hotel & Spa
Lodge K Hotel & Spa
#158 of 501 in Marrakech
152 reviews
1.7 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#47 of 501 in Marrakech
751 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Al Assala
Villa Al Assala
#1 of 1 in Palmeraie
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Palais Namaskar
Palais Namaskar
#82 of 501 in Marrakech
531 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palais Dar Ambre
Palais Dar Ambre
#289 of 501 in Marrakech
60 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#15 of 501 in Marrakech
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Palais Rhoul & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Palais Rhoul & Spa

Address: Route de Fes, km 6 | Dar Tounsi, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#106 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#131 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £238 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Palais Rhoul & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Palais Rhoul & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palais Rhoul Hotel Marrakech
Le Palais Rhoul And Spa
Le Palais Rhoul Marrakech
Palais Rhoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing