We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (524)
Filter reviews
524 results
Traveller rating
454
57
6
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
454
57
6
3
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 524 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2006

We stayed for 3 nights at Riad Malika in June 2006.

I would recommend it quite highly. The best part of the stay is the service. The staff are extremely attentive and helpful and speak a variety of languages, including English. Some of the staff really went out of their way to help us: they booked other accomodation for us, made enquiries about taxis, and allowed us to store our bags with them while we travelled to another town for a few days.

Riad Malika is quite a large place, with a lot of outdoor space for sitting and relaxing. Many of the rooms have private balconies that overlook the lovely interior garden.

The place does have a lot of charm, but I found the 1930s 'deco' furniture a bit cheap looking - I've seen far more beautifully decorated riads than this one.

I was a little disappointed in our room. I booked a suite, but the spatial arrangement was very awkward. It was set over three levels, so we had to keep traipsing up and down flights of stairs to get to our bathroom. Some of the other rooms and suites looked far nicer, so if I stayed here again I would request to get a room without so many stairs.

The breakfasts and dinners/lunches were really wonderful. Very good service, very good food, lovely peaceful garden. I would recommend it.

Date of stay: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruthy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 June 2006

LOCATION - 5
Hotel is in the northern part of the medina, 15 min walk from Djemma el Fna. There are some public parking areas nearby.
ROOMS - 5
Rooms are simply great: spacious, wonderfully decorated (art deco style), each different from the other, some have private terraces or balconies and most offer a view on the green courtyard. Try not to get room 2 or 12, on the ground floor, if you want more privacy. Due to the art deco decoration it is not a typical “Moroccan” Riad.
SERVICE - 4
All the employees were very friendly and helpful, most spoke good English. Only bad thing: They didn’t help us in any way to find the Riad when we phoned for help and didn’t help us with our luggage from the parking to the Riad, as most other Riads do, but once inside the Riad there was no reason to complain. (To get there look out for the Restaurant “Dar Marjana” on Fatima Zohra and follow the signs from there).
FOOD - 5
It was the best food we had on our trip. We sometimes ate lunch, sometimes dinner. It was always delicious, as was breakfast. The Riad is also licensed to serve alcohol.
FACILITIES – 5
The Riad’s has two courtyards, one with the pleasant (but obviously small) pool, the other one with lots of trees and tables in between, where meals are served. The many stairs of the labyrinth-like Riad lead to a number of terraces with shady, peaceful places to lie down and a good view on the medina. Internet access is possible.

This Riad is a great, peaceful place to stay in a very vivid city, offering outstanding food. I would definitely go there again.

Date of stay: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2sm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 June 2006

Me and my husband had booked a weekend at Riad Malika after seeing it being listed in Lonely Planet's author's choice.
As we had booked it a very long time ago, one week before our flight to Marrakesh, my husband called to reconfirm the booking. They could not find a booking under his name although I had made sure to make the booking under both of our names. Therefore he booked another room.
After arrival, we were told that we had booked two rooms and that we had to pay for both of them! obviously we had only booked the other room after the reception failed to reconfirm our original booking, why would we want to book two rooms?
They did neither apologise nor acknowledge for their mistake and instead insisted that we had to pay for the second room, as well. While we were trying to explain that it was them who had failed to reconfirm our reservation on both of our names, the man who seemd to be the manager of the hotel became extremely unpleasant. He raised his voice and his aggressive manner (for example, coming threateningly close with his body to my husband while he was shouting) was unacceptable by any standard, and certainly outrageous for a hotel of this standard in morocco which charges hundred euros a night.
We were truly shocked and had a terrible time in marrakesh as a result.
Riad Malika is not a maison d'hote as it is often claimed, where owners take care of the hospitality. The owners were completely not reachable and the admin people did not let us talk to them directly.
Even if such mistakes happen, I have never experienced such unpleasant and aggressive behaviour by a hotel staff. My husband "negotiated" with the bickering hotel manager to pay 2/3 of the second room price (two hundred euros).
The manager also contended that he has to bear any cost for vacant room out of his own pocket, which did not seem very professional to us.

Compared with other riads and small hotels or maison d'hotes in Morocco, Riad Malika seemed to be chaotic and trying to squeeze out every penny out of their guests.
Upon arrival we were not offered any tea or juice as in other places, and asking for a small map of town, one lady employee gave it to us, but then another employee came to us after she left and said that it cost two euros. Also we were not told what meals were included in the price or not and as a result dined out on the first day.

The reservation policy is very strict (100% no refund if cancelled less than 30 days before booking date etc) but seems normal in some western-owned Moroccon riads. So be careful to book and not to cancel something about three months in advance...

On a positive note, the hotel is decorated very beautifully and with impeccable taste.

But Riad Malika seems all style but no substance. There was none of the human warmth and hospitality we had experienced in other Moroccon hotels. The incredibly outrageous behaviour by the hotel manager had ruined our week-end in Marrakesh. Next time we'll spend our time elsewhere.

Date of stay: June 2006
13  Thank hyogared
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadmalika, direction at Riad Malika, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2007
Google Translation

Dear Tripadvisor,
I get back to you a second time, as I wish to opposite strongly to the negative feedback reported by this couple of travellers. We have a very clear cancellation policy that we inform of all our future guests, of course before they go further booking firmly with their credit card details.
This couple had the idea to book each one separately with: 2 different names, 2 different credit card and 2 different email address!
I don't see how we could have been able to understand that an error was going on.
All their anger and the following bad mood brought in depend by this silly accident and I have to repeat that their critics are not honest, moreover considering their attitude, definitely aggressive, regards to our moroccan staff (who has been menaced of a distructive feedback on internet in case of no refund)
Thank you to give us the opportunity to reply and to balance this negative report, as we always care extremely about our guests satisfaction and we do all our best to make their stay confortable and pleasant.
Best regards,
Jean Luc Lemée (propriétaire du Riad Malika)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2006

I used to work as a tourguide and took american groups from Tenerife over to Marrakech for the day during two years in the seventies.This year I wanted to show Marrakech to my son( 24 ) and it was the first time that I stayed in Marrakech for a couple of days.
I did not want to stay in a big international hotel like Sofitel etc as that does not give you the real flavour of the country,and I picked up Riad Malika on internet amongst hundred of Riads.
The Riad arranged transport from and to the airport for 10 euros each way and that worked fine.
We had a junior-suite,quite spacious on the ground floor.Nice patio with orange-trees,bambu,papayas and singing birds.Good home-made moroccan lunch or dinner,maindish and dessert included in the price,beverages extra.Polite staff,friendly and not pushy.Riad Malika had a nice atmosphere,you felt like at home,and it was not posh or luxury,just right with all sorts of old art-deco furnishure mixed with moroccan antiques and green plastic chairs,quite wicked.Do bring ear-plugs as you are close to a mosque and they cry out the first prayer over loudspeakers around 4 am and the second one at 6 am.My son was a bit worried at night,narrow streets around the Riad and quite dark and he felt unsafe,but I did not have that problem being used to Morocco already.
WE ENJOYED IT VERY MUCH,THANK YOU RIAD MALIKA.

Date of stay: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 November 2005

We stayed three nights at the start of our trip in Morocco in Riad Malika. It was lovely. We had a huge room with our own private terrace and we absolutely loved the breakfasts in the central courtyard surrounded by trees. The pool is very nice and the whole pool courtyard was beautifully decorated in art deco style. Comfy chairs and relaxing music with a cocktail or beer after dinner - perfect.

It was small and intimate but it never felt as though your privacy was being invaded. The staff were very helpful and dinner was very nice. It's difficult to know how this Riad compares to all the others - I'm sure there are nicer, and more expensive, ones but it was great for the price. We spent one night in Riad 1001 nuits at the end of our trip and hated it, so out of the two I'd rate Malika very highly!!

Date of stay: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Curiosity8769
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews