We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap hotel does the job”
Review of Agdal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Agdal Hotel
Ranked #463 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 18 April 2013

If you are the type who'd spend most of your holiday time outside the hotel exploring the city rather than in your room, then this is the hotel for you. Very convenient location, close to restaurants and in between two of Marrrakech's main avenues. 5 minute walk to a supermarket (Acima). A cab ride from the hotel to the medina (old city) would cost 10-30 dirhams (depends on how well you haggle).

Rooms are a bit dated although airconditioning is ok. Water pressure is good, warm water is available. Most of the rooms have a balcony. Smoking permitted almost everywhere - from the lobby to the corridors. Hotel restaurant located next to the pool.

Breakfast consists of bread, bread and more bread. Eggs and pancakes are available as well, along with coffee and juice. I asked for more servings of eggs but was refused, saying only one egg per person. Ha!

Staff was friendly and accommodating. All in all an OK hotel, nothing much but located in a very convenient location.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the pool. Seem to be more quiet rather than the rooms facing the main stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rafael_Mendoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

Arriving at was in general no pleasant experience. The staff is harassing you at your room, with endless offers, most of them over-priced; the breakfast is poor and the coffee undrinkable and the rooms are old and smelly. In general a no-go

Room Tip: Go some place else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Apart2gether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Hotel Agdal was not good at all. The Breakfast was very bad (the croissants served were hard as rocks and didn't taste of anything, the coffee was disgusting and I didn't dare to try the rest of the food), the people who worked there weren't very polite (the only polite person in the building was only the man who took our bags up to the room, and that was because he wanted money). The reason why I'm giving this two stars is because the rooms have got A/C. The Wi-Fi only reached the reception area and even there it was pretty bad. Not recommendable

Room Tip: Wi-Fi only reaches reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jens J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

For the price this hotel is fantastic. It is very central in Marrakech just a little walk away from the railwaystation and the airportbus stops just on the other side of the road, It has a little swimmingpool. The breakfast is good and there a lot of small restaurant with fantastic and very cheap food

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

I stayed here from 20.12.12 to 27.12.12. When I first laid eyes on the hotel I was very hopeful, as the outside looked promising and as well as the reception but once I entered my room all the hope was lost. The room was very dark and the decor wasn't very inviting. The bathroom was dingy and my mom had the clean the toliet herself! But the shower was very powerful and hot! The food at the hotel was horrible and all I ate was pancakes (you have to pay extra for fruit) and if you drink at lunch or dinner you have to pay for that too. The lunch was terrible the fish and chicken was always deep fried...not very moroccan. I only thing I would recommend this hotel is for the location which is very good. At the moment there is a hotel being built next to it so if you like to spend a lot of time at the hotel this could be a problem. Some days the work started at 7am! On a nice note there's a bar called Charlie's on the same side as the hotel where the food and hospitality was lovely!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

A fairly decent hotel situated in th heart of the commercial area and close to the train station and straight road to the old city, which takes around 25 minutes to walk to. I was reasonably content that at least it had free WIFi availability, even if is just limited to the foyer area.

The rooms offer limited satellite TV including a BBC world news and a movie channel along with a host of Arabic channels. The en-suite bathroom was reasonably decent with a tap operated shower, with a daily change of towels, although they were a little worn out. The room was kept clean by the ladies who provided a daily going over. The real serious gripe I had was with the beds which really past it and gave me some backache every morning.

But unfortunately the rooms and corridors do feel very lifeless due to the dull decor, infact the whole hotel could do with a fresh lick of paint and bit of general sprucing up.

A decent buffet breakfast is provided with a reasonable choice of bakery products. the chef will cook up an omelet on request, which was very tasty with the crepes or the flat bread. However it had no cereal during my stay which I found very disappointing. The evening meal consisted a choice from set menu with standard 3 course meal. During our stay we tried the soups, chicken, kebabs and spaghetti all had the same dull microwaved taste. The sweet dish consisted of a choice of gateaux, flan or the chefs choice, which we discovered to be a bowl of fruit.

The hotel reception staff are initially overtly friendly and helpful until they suss out how much you will be spending on their in-house excursions and gift shop and then they become quite robotic.

Overall I had a pleasant stay of 4 nights, considering the cost, and it would be the only reason that would compel me to return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Captain_Kirk_Out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Just returned from 7 days half board stay. Room was spotlessly clean and overlooked the pool. The towels which were changed every day had seen better days! Pool towels were threadbare and had large holes in them. Sheets clean but again had seen better days. The cleaner was a joy always smiling and even gave us carpets in our room when it turned a bit chilly! Breakfast was always freshly made omelette or fried eggs with croissants,bread etc. Loads fresh orange juice,tea and coffee. Dinner or lunch was varied! Sometimes very good but always a choice, it was just bad luck if you chose the wrong thing. The only person with no sense of humour and not helpful was the Restaurant Manager. All reception staff were very friendly and helpful.
We ate from a roadside cafe one day which was very cheap and very good. Another night had to experience the stalls in the Medina! What a disaster that was , very expensive and poor quality. Just around the corner from the hotel a restaurant called Nostalgia serves very good food and is cheap. Less than half the price of eating in the square!!!!
Take extreme care if visiting the Kasbah many people want to act as guides and are not amused when you do not give them much money.
The trip to the berber village and Atlas mountain was well worth doing also the day pass on the Tourist Bus. No 19 airport bus very good value.
Marrakech was a "must go place" on our list but having been once am unlikely to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank madpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oudaya
Hotel Oudaya
#391 of 500 in Marrakech
458 reviews
22.6 mi away
Le Coq  Hardi
Le Coq Hardi
#457 of 500 in Marrakech
68 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ibis Marrakech Palmeraie
Ibis Marrakech Palmeraie
#300 of 500 in Marrakech
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Central Palace
Hotel Central Palace
#416 of 500 in Marrakech
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Hotel Mont Gueliz
#441 of 500 in Marrakech
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
#442 of 500 in Marrakech
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agdal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agdal Hotel

Address: 1 Boulevard Zerktouni, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #463 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £15 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Agdal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Agdal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agdal Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing