We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for the Neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Imperial Borj Hotel
Ranked #412 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 14 May 2007

One has to evaluate this hotel not as a 5 star hotel (which it shouldn't be), but in terms of value. The neighborhood in which it is located is among the best in Marrakech, and it is a reasonable walk to both the Medina and the Nouvelle Ville. The hotel's exterior appearance, while dated, is inviting and acceptable. The public interior spaces are very grand (although, again dated in appearance). The pool is acceptable and surrounding gardens are beautifully maintained. The pool furniture needs replacing. The rooms are very tired and shabby. An extreme renovation of the rooms is long overdue. In its day, the 5-star rating this hotel holds was probably justified. Today this hotel's biggest attraction is the price. Similar neighborhood hotels which are of the 5-star category (and deserve them) are considerably more expensive. If you want a primo location, a nice pool and garden for afternoon relaxation, this hotel is a good value. If you want a hotel with high style, picture book rooms and luxiorious bathrooms (for which you'll have to pay dearly), look elsewhere.

Two more comments -- the breakfast which is usually included in the room price if booked through an agency is adequate. Some of the hotel staff, although satisfactory, can be a little on the rude side compared to other hotels I've stayed in in Morocco.
James Stevens, Florida, USA

Stayed: May 2007
3  Thank casadetini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2007

I booked this hotel thinking it was 5 star, and paid 5 star prices. It was 2 star at best, and I would not recommend staying here if you can possibly help it.

The room cost me £275 for 2 nights.

It is appauling. It must have been a good hotel in the 1980's but they have not spent a penny on it since. Our greeting was cool and we were shown to our room - small, dingy, grubby (the sheets were clean thank goodness), peeling paint, stained carpet, a toilet seat that didn't fit the toilet, some manky fruit on offer in our room (why bother?), small squeaking beds and cupboards that don't close properly.

The breakfast was ok with reasonable variety (toast, pastries, eggs, fruit) - ironic having waiters in bowties and jackets when the table cloths are stained and need to be washed.

Stayed: April 2007
2  Thank Liboir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2007

Stayed here for 4 nights with 15 people on Trade Mission to Marrakech. Impressive frontage with flunkeys to open doors. Sadly rooms and service do not live up to this and definitely not 5 star by European - or any other standards. Rooms dirty and carpets badly stained with chipped and broken fittings. Service ranged from obsequious to complacent and insolent. Customer care is definitely not a strongpoint of this hotel. Two members of party were seriously ill during stay and unable to summon help because telephones in room did not work, although fault had been reported previous day.

Food and service in restaurant very good, unlike rest of hotel. Would never stay there again

5  Thank SSCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2006

On arrival at this 5 star hotel all seemed to be fine until we saw the bedrooms. Peeling paintwork dirty walls and a bathroom that I had to ask to be cleaned properly. The hotel public rooms are O.K. but look closer and the stained chairs broken pool furniture all add to a general appearance of a once nice hotel that has not been decorated since its opening ( some 15 or so years ago I was told). On check out day while at breakfast housekeeping removed all bedlinen and towels from the room, leaving the matresses on full show and had we known how filthy they were we would never have spent 4 nights there

31  Thank balabrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 696walter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tourchem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
2  Thank Jean-CharlesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 501 in Marrakech
2,092 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 501 in Marrakech
1,301 reviews
4.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
0.8 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#260 of 501 in Marrakech
189 reviews
6.7 mi away
Iberostar Club Palmeraie Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Borj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Borj Hotel

Address: Avenue Echouhada | Quartier Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#213 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Imperial Borj Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Borj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Borj Marrakech
Hotel Imperial Borj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing