We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Ranked #64 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed here one night as the grand finale to a biking trip. Our room and the surroundings were lovely. However it was overpriced and the front desk staff tended to be sullen. It was the first time in our 10 days in Morocco we had seen that type of attitude. My husband was quite ill while we were there, so I went in search of some bottled water for him. No one showed the least concern, but did manage to charge a very steep amount for the water. All that said, the buffet breakfast is lavish and delicious. We had originally planned to stay n extra 2 days, but the price pet night was over US$350 per night. Marrakesh offers many other options for lovely accommodation, without this price or attitude.

Room Tip: Check other options before booking.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobandTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,477)
There are newer reviews for Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

379 - 385 of 1,477 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

The hotel has a really excellent location in the heart of the medina. But that's unfortunately about all there is that is positive. During our stay, we found a lot of negative points: the elevator didn't work for 3 days (and the management didn't even care to post an out of order message), our room was not cleaned well (we spare you the details), the breakfast is not as good as you await from this kind of hotel and half of the time the tables we not cleaned properly and the napkins for meals were untidy. So the hotel is in our opinion overrated, and not worth the high price we paid.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Pierre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I must start by stating my confusion regarding some of the recent reviews, we found the staff and service to be one of the great selling points of this hotel.Having previously stayed at La Mamounia where the staff were incredibly distant,we found the friendliness and helpful attitude of the staff a lovely touch,we were made to feel very welcome ,nothing was too much trouble.The hotel itself was in a very central location,great for popping back to drop off souk purchases and a safe walk down the street at night after eating in the square,a must do.Having visited before, we knew what to expect from Marrakech .We did not eat lunch or dinner at the hotel so cannot rate, but thoroughly enjoyed the range available at breakfast,omelettes are lovely,toast machine a bit of a chore though! All in all we loved our stay,not quite perfect ,but would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I simply had lunch in the Patio Restaurant and the quality of the service and of the food was not of a five stars hotel restaurant. The staff was not supportive and the food was very "normal" (and for the price, very expensive!). The atmosphere is very nice, as well as the location. But it is not very clean (please look at the chairs' pillows in the Patio restaurant! It seems my 2 years daughter tee shirt after her lunch: dirty and a lot of spots!
Sorry, never again...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vialiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This hotel holds itself as a five star property and much of it is beautiful but the air conditioning should work in a hotel room that is so expensive. Not only did it not cool the room adequately but there was more hot air than performance in their attempt to fix it. They would not change our room either even though we met people who were checking out and were satisfied with their rooms. We checked out after one night and moved elsewhere for our other two nights in Marrakech. Other than that we had a great time in Marrakech.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The hotel has a great location just off the main square, with two lovely pools and all the usual trimmings
It's a pity they don't invest a bit more in staff training - we found them slow, disinterested and verging on discourteous at times.
Took the edge off what has the potential to be a great hotel

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Both pools too shallow to enjoy swimming and pool on the roof very dirty especially as it's 5* hotel with two pools that can be cleaned at different times! Hotel has lovely gardens, camp piano/cocktail bar excellent location etc....

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank sam71000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 501 in Marrakech
1,254 reviews
0.8 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#81 of 501 in Marrakech
376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#42 of 501 in Marrakech
1,268 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Jardins de La Koutoubia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de La Koutoubia

Address: 26 Rue de la Koutoubia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#34 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#84 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £150 - £566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Jardins de La Koutoubia 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Les Jardins de La Koutoubia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De La Koutoubia Hotel Marrakech
Jardins Koutoubia Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing