We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful riad-style hotel in quiet area of the old city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Les Jardins de la Medina
Ranked #56 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful riad-style hotel in quiet area of the old city”
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Would highly recommend to anyone wanting a boutique/luxury small hotel.
Good location - relief from the chaotic centre of the old city.
Breakfasts excellent, rooms spacious and spotless.
Lovely clean pool with ample sun-loungers - mostly shady though... there's a fab terrace (and some rooms have their own anyway) if you can't get a sunny one.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAbbott83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,092
    238
    39
    14
    15
See reviews for
260
794
40
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2010

This place is great - very attentive staff, nothing too much. Beautifully converted palace on the south side of town just inside the city wall so a fair walk to town but we went for it as it fitted our bill - getting away from it all with the city there for the occasional trip in for a meal or spot of shopping / sightseeing. Nice size (30 or so rooms); decent pool; lovely gardens; great breakfast; nice restaurant. Only slight disaapointment is £5 for a beer !!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarshMcgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Les Jardins de la Medina is a quiet, elegant oasis in the melee of the Medina. The hotel is beautiful and elegant in a simple way. It is not flashy or ostentatious. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The gardens are lovely and well maintained.
The pool area is very nice. The pool isn't huge, but it's definitely large enough.
The breakfast buffet is delicious, as is all the food at the hotel.
The spa was very nice and the massages were good.
The hotel is theoretically walking distance to Jemma al F'na, but we didn't attempt it; partially due to the heat but mainly because it seemed as though it would be pretty hair-raising to accomplish with a child in tow, due to the traffic.
The hotel is very child-friendly, although it certainly wasn't overrun with children.
We plan to return!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

We were booked into Les Jardins de la Medina by our travel agent. What a delight it turned out to be. Somehow we were put into a room with a private garden patio. It gave us a new dimension to our stay there. It was quiet and lovely. Our room was very clean and comfortable. A bit on the darker side of light but we found that to be true of all our stays in Morocco. The food in the restaurant was also very good and we ate all our dinners there. The entire staff was also quite helpful even though we spoke no French. We would definitely go back there if we return to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

The hotel is perfectly located in a quiet part of the Medina but within walking distance of the main attractions. On arrival we were warmly welcomed with a pot of mint tea and led to our room, which was sizeable, spotless and with adequate facilities, overlooking the beautifully maintained gardens. The whole ambience of this hotel is that of style and elegance in a very 'french shabby chic' kind of way, it is almost like a hidden gem within the chaos of Marrakesh - a very tranquil place. The food both at lunch time and evening was excellent and the mojito's are too ! We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Les Jardins de la Medina and are planning a return trip in 2011.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewFlavell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nfs001
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

The unassuming facade and entrance door of this Kasbah is in surprising contrast to the lush gardens, stylish interior and luxurious rooms inside. The hotel is about 15 minutes walking away from the great square. There are no restaurants or other points of interest in the immediate vicinity, but all important sites are easily reached by taxi in 5 to 10 minutes. The garden in the hotel is truly wonderful, and it has been a special treat to wake up to the chirping of singing birds. The hustle and bustle of Marrakesh is cannot be heard inside the hotel and gardens - it is a perfect place to recover from sightseeing and to relax. The restaurant of the hotel is also very good. Our room was furnished tastefully, however I would have liked to have a bit more closet space.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nfs001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Once again I was grateful that research on trip advisor proved worthwhile. We stayed at Les Jardins for 6 nights with two teen boys and an 11 yr old over the Easter break. Although there the walk to Jemma El Fna is an obstacle course and sidestepping speeding motos, caleches and cars can be tiring the boys were tirelessly entertained by all they saw. I would recommend a taxi on your first day until you have adapted to Marrakeshi street life. The hotel itself was a gem...spotlessly clean. wonderful breakfasts and an excellent dinner there (once only for us as it is pretty expensive). We loved the sunbathing terraces overlooking the city with floaty muslin curtains and scatter cushions - all very decadent and appealing. The pool got quite busy around midday but the lush dense gardens give a sense of seclusion and privacy. We all used the mini gym and massage/beauty treatments (adequate - not brilliant). My husband and boys played tennis daily at the Royal Maroc tennis club too - ring the hotel in advance to book. The rooms were lovely - spacious and clean with beautiful tiling and luxorious argan oils to use. Crunchy starched cotton sheets and effective daily room cleaning. It felt very french with its eau de nil shutters and shaded terrace restaurant - until you woke to the sound of the tropical birds calling and noticed friendly tortoises (a great hit with my 11 yr old) bumbling around in the undergrowth. I particularly want to mention how the reception desk (staffed by ever helpful and charming personnel) sent out a porter at 11 pm to find antibiotic eye drops for my son. They arrived within half an hour and the problem was cleared up in24hrs. A lovely place - I was really sad to leave!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#68 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#61 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#28 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
1.2 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.0 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#40 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Jardins de la Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de la Medina

Property: Les Jardins de la Medina
Address: Derb Chtouka, 21 | Kasbah de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Jardins de la Medina 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel and tasteful restaurant, Les jardins de la Medina benefits from the luxuriance of an exceptional 3000 m² garden in the heart Kasbah of Marrakesh, not far from souks and from historic monuments such as Djemaa Lefna ... In this historic house, the WiFi is free in the rooms as well as in the overall hotel; the breakfast and the smile of the staff are included too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Les Jardins de la Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De La Medina Hotel Marrakech
Jardins De La Medina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing