We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming converted palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Les Jardins de la Medina
Ranked #59 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2010

If you are looking for a place with a pool and good outdoor space to relax and sunbathe, this is a much more interesting place than the boring purpose built new hotels. The main downside is that the main square is a long walk or short taxi ride away, the hotel food is way too expensive, and there isn't that much locally by way of good places to eat (the stork cafe being the one exception). On the upside there is a charming garden and lots of balconies, some rooms have private roof space, and generally a pleasure to be outside if the weather is good. It's a great place to explore, the staff are very helpful, and thefts are a few excise machos most of which work. The pool ISA not quite big enough to be much of an exercise option but was warm enough to swim in at Christmas.

Overall this is a great choice unless you want to be really close to the main nightlife and eating areas around the souks, and are willing to trade this off for a higher price or more limited space.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sprigun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,483)
There are newer reviews for Les Jardins de la Medina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

608 - 614 of 1,483 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2010

Located in the centre of the Casbar just down from the main Square and the Souk. Crazy location - the old Casbar with its run down shops, coffee bars, kids begging but happy, bustling, motorbikes and pushbikes running beside pedestrians a noisy, dusty old part of Marrakech and suddenly you open this old big heavy door into Heaven!! The hotel is superbe and if you wish to experience the real Marrakech this is where you need to be. The hotel is Colonial style with large comfortable rooms each with its own terrace complete with sun loungers, beautiful pool and pretty gardens and Spa facilities. Lovely restaurant with great food (stick to the local menu) and very helpful, sweet staff. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Propertiesbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Our stay at "Les Jardins de la Medina" was superb. We stayed in Room 112 which had a private terrace and a solarium. The room was exceptionally clean and the attention to detail was remarkable. The staff were very professional and attentive the moment we stepped out of the taxi outside the hotel. The porter came immediately to take our cases and we were welcomed with mint tea and dates as the reception staff were dealing with forms. In the room, the bouquet of roses and the complimentary bottle of water on arrival were a nice touch. The buffet style breakfast was plentiful and varied. We stayed there for nights and had dinner there every night...The desserts are truly delicious ! We hope to be able to stay there again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

This place really is an oasis from the hustle and bustle of the city. The accomodations are wonderful - light and stylish, overlooking the large and beautifully kept gardens that give the place its name. The restaurant was amongst the best that we found in Marrakech. The optional cookery course is well worth it: excellent and friendly tuition leading to probably the best tajine we tasted during our stay: it made for a great lunch. The only criticism is the front desk. In contrast to all other staff, those who man it are not over-friendly or helpful. Odd that what is often the most important and frequent point of contact for a hotel should be its weakest link, when all other staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful to deal with. This is far from a deal-breaker, but needs addressing. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

The 'Jardin de la Medina' offers a unique service to the visitors.
The rooms range from having a private roof terrasse or alternatively your own garden area. The pool area is integrated in the large garden and the restaurant offers the best from the Morocco cuisine.
Go there - and experience something special.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellstev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at Les Jardins for 3 nights at the start of our honeymoon and it really was a lovely experience. From the moment you walk through the door from the street, you are met with sense of calm that is very welcome after a day in Marrakech.

The hotel is only a short walk to the centre of Marrakech- not far at all.

We booked a 'Superior' room and it was divine, had everything we needed and little french doors onto a small shady terrace that led to the pool. One thing that has stuck with me that may seem strange is that our room always seemed to smell gorgeous! The Sens la Marrakech toiletries provided were a treat too. We ate in the hotel one night and the food was very nice and I recommend the Lamb Kofte at lunchtime. The buffet-style breakfast was vast, varied and delicious!

This hotel has a quiet serenity and understated style that has stayed with me, I would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristiloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

When we arrived at Les Jardins Hotel (Riad) we were welcomed with a traditional tea drink. We quickly felt welcome and the staff did more than can be expected to make our stay comfortable. The room was spacious and clean, as was the whole premises. Les Jardins has a very good restaurant with outstanding service. The swimming pool was clean and at a comfortable temperature. There were plenty of places on the premises where you could enjoy the sunshine and relaxation. We enjoyed the Hammam and the Spa. Les Jardins is situated in the old quarter of the Kasbah and in walking distance to the Jemaa-el-Fna Square as well as the Soucks, so we could enjoy the hussel and bussel of that and still go the Les Jardins for some peace and quiet after a busy day. In short we are very pleased with our stay and would recommend it any time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agusta_Hr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.5 mi away
Riad Morgane
Riad Morgane
#331 of 502 in Marrakech
48 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#6 of 502 in Marrakech
232 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#32 of 502 in Marrakech
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
L’Hotel Marrakech
L’Hotel Marrakech
#259 of 502 in Marrakech
20 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#142 of 502 in Marrakech
821 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Jardins de la Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de la Medina

Address: Derb Chtouka, 21 | Kasbah de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#31 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#41 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £129 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Jardins de la Medina 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel and tasteful restaurant, Les jardins de la Medina benefits from the luxuriance of an exceptional 3000 m² garden in the heart Kasbah of Marrakesh, not far from souks and from historic monuments such as Djemaa Lefna ... In this historic house, the WiFi is free in the rooms as well as in the overall hotel; the breakfast and the smile of the staff are included too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Les Jardins de la Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De La Medina Hotel Marrakech
Jardins De La Medina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing