We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Adventure - but not for the faint hearted!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marrakesh Express

Marrakesh Express
Ranked #504 of 758 Tours in Marrakech
Attraction details
UK
Level Contributor
247 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“An Adventure - but not for the faint hearted!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Our party consisted of 52 people and we boarded the train in Tangier at 9 p.m. Basic is a gross understatement! The rooms are minute and some of our party shared with four to a room which must have been dreadful. They are so tiny - four bunk beds either side with a luggage rack at the end. We were supplied with two sheets each and had to make our own beds. The sheets were grey but clean. There was nothing else in the room. That was it. Our carriage was locked to stop other non-sleeping passengers entering our area. There was one toilet in the corridor near our room and we were told not to put paper down as it totally clogged up. Our leader left a tiny plastic bag hanging for our use. Needless to say I didn't use it. Someone told me it all went straight down onto the track. I didn't dare put my bum on that seat. However, the journey was good. As we set off a man came round with drinks and the coffee was very good. The room was stiflingly warm and we couldn't open the window. I did get a great sleep though. The sound and the swaying was quite delightful. My husband didn't think so though. He's a big fellow and he spent most of the night standing in the corridor and observing the stations. It was an experience and we can always say that we did it. We arrived at 8 a.m. and headed straight for our hotel and breakfast. Needless to say my first stop was the loo in my hotel room!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Yerma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enchanted City”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I loved the ethnic and romantic Riad's of Marrakesh, Morocco lot's of shopping Great dining and wonderful beaches, the People very helpful. Keep in mind you are a visitor in a Foreign Country observe their culture and abide even though they will go to the end to please you if you just smile and say Salam aleikum

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank goodwillbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Marrakech Express”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Hi, this was the final leg of our train journey from London to Marrakech all the way by train, it took around seven days of travelling but was worth it, although the famous "Marrakech Express" was somewhat of a dissapointment, we were expecting locals hanging of the sides etc, but instead we had a first class seat in a very modern and ordinary train,
There was a buffet car and a trolly selling rolls/coffee etc and apart from some interesting scenery and some very poor shanty towns it was pretty boring.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank steve k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Basic accommodation”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This train journey was 10 hours from Tangier to Marrakesh. We had to share a 4 berth cabin with another couple picked at random in our group of 43, who incidentally we have now become firm friends with. The beds were comfortable with clean sheets. I slept like a baby which I normally dont. The unfortunate thing were the toilets, being blocked from the start and with 40 people sharing two toilets not ideal! The attendant just locked one of the toilets when it was full to the top but miraculously managed to clear one of them nearing the end of the journey. Dont let this put you off it was a great experience, hurtling through Morrocco, seemingly dowhill a lot of the time. The train seemed to stop a lot during the journey so one could hardly call it express but a great experience and as the artisans said you do it for the bragging rights.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
14 Thank sammisandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“group holidays”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

had a fantastic holiday in marrakesh - the world's city of spicy's... could not find a good deal for a group booking of 12.

does anyone know of a site or company who specialises in block bookings around the world please??

thank you,

christopher chalice

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank warrior69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marrakesh Express also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Marrakesh Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing