We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the faint hearted (or vegetarians!)”
Review of Mechoui Alley

Mechoui Alley
Ranked #151 of 875 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Moroccan
Description: Top Choice in Lonely Planet for the medina in MarrakechThere are several restaurants that serve slices/pieces of roasted lamb. I went at lunchtime and ordered 1/4 kilo plus bread, olives and a bottle of water for a total of 50 Dh. All the mechoui places have the meat and cooking out in front; I chose the one with the blue tile interior where I sat and ate my meal. Nothing fancy but really delicious! All the other diners were locals which is a good sign in my opinion.
Restaurant details
Description: Top Choice in Lonely Planet for the medina in MarrakechThere are several restaurants that serve slices/pieces of roasted lamb. I went at lunchtime and ordered 1/4 kilo plus bread, olives and a bottle of water for a total of 50 Dh. All the mechoui places have the meat and cooking out in front; I chose the one with the blue tile interior where I sat and ate my meal. Nothing fancy but really delicious! All the other diners were locals which is a good sign in my opinion.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Not for the faint hearted (or vegetarians!)”
Reviewed 7 February 2013

My boyfriend loved this but it just roast lamb (a whole lamb) on the side in the street, you buy the meat by weight, you need to haggle! The meat is fatty but nice! It is covered in cumin and served with bread. Was a 'experience' worth a try if your a 'meat eater'

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank abbymorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    25
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“As authentic as it gets”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

A bunch of food stalls at the southern end of the souks, just north of Djemaa-el-Fnaa, serving slow-cooked lamb cooked in clay pots in hamaam (bath house) fires. It's really basic and almost exclusively frequented by Moroccan families who eat with their hands and wipe up the meat juices with relish (the figurative, not the real) kind. Very enjoyable though and quite welcoming..just a few quizzical glances from locals surprised that you want to eat this very local food. I didn't try the more 'adventurous' sheeps heads etc.. Cheap, very filling and let's be honest, fatty. Lie down afterwards.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gingernut1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Went here after seeing it on Anthony Bourdain's show”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I got brave and went here to eat after seeing it on Anthony Bourdain's show. He said to pick out the lamb you wanted and select it. We weren't given that option, not that I would know how to pick it out anyway! That was all there was except bread. I had expected olives too. It was tasty. It was nice that they had a sink in the seating area so you could wash your hands afterwards.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoanMarietta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Slow Roasted Lamb”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Mechoui Alley was recommended by our Riad so we went along to sample the delights of slow cooked Lamb (4-5 hours).

No frills service and great lamb is what we got.

Don't expect cutlery, Do expect to be eating with the locals, don't expect extras like vegetables, do expect great tasting lamb and nothing else.

Served on Plastic trays with greas proof paper and no cutlery and no condiments apart from a small bowl of cumin on the table.

Only open for lunch and we paid 170 Dirahams for a 2 person portion of lamb and a large bottle of water - probably about £12.

Great experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AHWBeverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mechoui Alley also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Mechoui Alley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing