We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool. All else not so great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sangho Club Privilege Marrakech
Ranked #465 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great pool. All else not so great”
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

The pool and landscape are very nice. However, when we got there no bathrooms had toilet paper. While I waited for her to get it she brought it to the men's room where I had to send my boyfriend to get it for me. Water pressure was lost while showering. And when we just wanted a drink they had kids all over the club at midnight. On top of that the drinks were way overpriced to be around three year olds. And yes. It is far from town but that was ok with me to get away from the chaos.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portiany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    87
    64
    68
    82
See reviews for
182
87
14
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here twice. The staff is very nice and pleasing. The food was very good and delicious. Dinner (which we had each night) was buffet style, probably the best buffet style I have had in a while. Breakfast is very good also.The rooms are a little old, but everything worked, AC and flat screen tv. It is on the outskirts of Marrekech, but if you want to just get a Taxi as they are cheap. All in all We had a very pleasant time both times. They speak, Berber, Arabic, French and English and probably more. The animation team members are very friendly and local so they have good ideas on where to go for fun.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nouwandaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Couldn't find this on google map before we booked, so for those interested this is the location 31.71299,-7.994978, cut and paste this into google maps.

We thought we'd been kidnapped at first as we believed it was near the French Quarter, so when we got driven down these dark dusty lanes, we were ready to thump the driver and run!

First night was a bit rough, we had the small twin room shown in there literature, which was ok, although my missus did find a cockroach, but once we removed it, we didn't see any more. Apparently you're not suppose to squash them as it distributes their eggs, so keep your eyes pealed!

It mainly catering for the French, only two people spoke English (our kids entertainer and one chap on reception, who we saw twice!) plus none of the menus or signs are in English either.

Apparently the British and American Army use the hotel to acclimatize themselves before leaving for Afghanistan, so not sure if it make the place a target to would be terrorists.

The food is ok, but thankfully we only went half board, so ate in the other restaurants on site (avoid the pizza the cheese is way to salty), and ate in the French quarter during the daytime.

There is a very tired old minibus to take you to the town, which is complimentary, but they drop you about 20 mins walk from the Square of the Dead, next to the Place de la Liberte roundabout. It's not got any seat belts and the back two windows are held in by gaffer tape. The journey time is around 25 minutes through some of the scariest roads I've every experience at that included driving in Bangkok and Jo'burg.

Please beware when you cross the road, even on the zebra crossing, they will drive at you and expect you to run out of the way, even with a push chair. The Moroccan government need to introduce a proper pedestrian system, it's appalling!

The hotel staff are general very nice, although one waiters was a scammer, always trying to make a quick buck.

The children entertainers were excellent despite their out of date, broken equipment, particular a young man called Kakawa (spelt wrong) as he was English speaking. Many are working foc, as it's part of their training to become full time entertainers at college, so if one in particularly looks after your kids, make sure you tip them, we gave ours £40.

The very young kids have a rip of Disney Club, but I was alarmed to see them lock about 10 kids in a small dark room with a single bed to watch a very fuzzy tv, needless to say our little one never left our sight.

The main pool is shut during the winter months, but there is a warm indoor pool, which is ok. You have to shower before swimming, but beware the tapes are poorly marked and we got scolded, it the left hand tape which is the hot water!

Sunbathing is possible, although the gardeners might take a bit longer to weed the garden when they get near your section, so young women might feel very uncomfortable.

This was our second and last time in Marrakesh, the first being in 2006, when we stayed in the more central French Quarter, which I would recommend over Sangho, which is too far from all the action.

It's definitely an experience outside the comfort zone, but keep you eye pealed, I think it's only a matter of time before another terrorist incident occurs.

If you have young blonde haired, blue eyed kids they will draw a lot of attention, so for God's sake keep and eye on them. A couple of times we felt that we might be a target for kidnapping, so left the location (inc McD) and double backed on ourselves to make sure we weren't being followed.

It will be an experience you won't forget in a hurry!

Have a safe trip!

Room Tip: We had the room shown in the brochure, which overlook the pool. Problem it was really noisy next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

We stayed over the week end during low season and chose the hotel for the indoor heated pool. The atmosphère of the hotel is very relaxing and it is set in a very nice area. It also has great activities for the children besides the pool, there is a minigolf which is fun.
The hotel and restaurant area are a little bit on the old side but nothing major. The amenities are certainly very good for the price. The children had fun and we spent some relaxing time. The food is not great though, buffet style, but not very tasty...we were not there to eat anyway so...

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stepchri57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ieper (Ypres), Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

I went to Sangho Club Privilege with my girlfriend and her parents. We stayed 1 week in February 2011. It was a great place to relax. The hotel is an excellent location for visiting Marrakech. It has a great shuttle service to the centre of Marrakech. The hotel was not so crowded. There were only some aged French couples. So that was the reason why the animation were often asking us to join them in the activities. That was because there were of course some older people. So if you go to this hotel in the summer, and you don't want to do the activities, don't bother because there will be a lot of young people. The food is Moroccan of oriental so that's fine. Some personnel love there job and do it with a smile, but other personnel hate their job and are very lazy. The swimming pool looked very clean. The rooms were very clean also. But the minigolf is a bit old. The minizoo is nice for the kids. The oriental show on Tuesday evening was great.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hjdebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Driving up the long entrance to the Sangho one could be forgiven for thinking they've struck gold.
This assumption would be entirely incorrect.
The infrastructure is old and very tired, my guess would be mid-60s. I can't think of one area which didn't show signs of needing repair or renovation. Every floor area has a cracked tile somewhere, a lot of the glass around the place is chipped, any metalwork such as railings around the bar terrace are streaked with rust, the paths around the grounds are uneven, steps are worn.....when it rained, the ground floor and pathways flooded and remained so for several days. Absolutely nothing looks fresh. Most alarming of all are the electrical fittings throughout...light bulbs dangling, wall sockets hanging out, and in a few select places bare wires just waiting for a victim.
Beware the pool area...One of our guys sliced his foot open on the waterslide somehow.
The room itself was adequate but bear in mind all we needed was somewhere to sleep. The main door didn't shut correctly unless forced and the bathroom was all a bit grotty. The shower/taps selector did nothing - water came out of both at once whatever was set, and the shower head could only be raised to chest-height.
Don't expect any peace - the tiled floors and corridors make excellent echo chambers which carry the non-stop noise of doors slamming, service carts being bumped down the stairs, kids yelling or parties in other rooms.
The aircon did not work. At all.
On to the staff.....they're keen I'll give them that.
The domestic staff were very thorough and polite but appeared not to understand a "Do not disturb" tag. They'd knock anyway, and then regardless of any reply they'd just use their pass key and enter the room. The bar staff are odd.....a couple of times when in the bar during the afternoon I witnessed some blazing rows between staff who seemed to care little for the impression this created, nor for my desire for a bit of peace and quiet on an afternoon off. The bar pianist/singer really needs to be told its not 1974 any more and just the one Neil Sedaka song per evening is sufficient.
The concierge/security staff are good value though - book a taxi, wait for it to turn up, and then watch a fully blown fist fight between the driver and hotel staff unfold before your very eyes. No idea why - it just seemed to happen.
Worse than all of this though are the irritatingly amateur "Animators" or in-house entertainment staff. They lay on all manner of naff activities, most of which involve crappy '80s pop music blasting out across the pool area and terrace, whether you want to listen or not.
We only had breakfast included. Luke warm machine dispensed "coffee", bland croissants, or errr.....tomatoes for breakfast anyone? Really weird menu. If you choose an omelette you may have to explain to the chef that transparent egg white oozing out generally means it's not cooked. When it got busy (see below), the only thing missing from the dining room in the mornings was a referee and a ball - otherwise it could be mistaken for a game of Rugby with guests literally elbowing one another to get to the coffee machine and servery.
During our stay there was some sort of student talent contest camp going on. Just dreadful. The place was rammed with teenagers, with the obvious knock-on effect of noise from the bar carrying across the hotel grounds and in to our room until 4am (and we had to leave the windows open as the aircon was busted don't forget)
Once they'd all cleared off the hotel then filled with French tourists, the children of whom were just rude, badly behaved and noisy, making the most of those echoey corridors to disrupt other guests.
There is a free bus in to town, with a 15 minute walk at the end. Why it can't stop where all the other tour busses do - at the central Place Djeema Al Fna - was never entirely clear. The huge crack across the windscreen isn't reassuring.
In summary, the Sangho is way past its best on virtually every level.
I got booked in here by my work, without any form of agreement or recommendation from me.
If it was my own money I would've checked out and hit the Ibis in town after one night.
I've sat here pondering for an hour - and cannot think of one good thing to say about the Sangho.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marble_co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Great location for vacationing and sightseeing. Hotel transportation to Marrakech and back is satisfactory during daytime. To see Marrakech by night, we returned to hotel by taxi (cost 150 Dirh.).
Room was fine (air cond.) and the bedding very comfortable. There is no fridge this was not a problem for us. The bathroom needs a bit of a freshup (work in progress in other rooms) and hopefully the shower curtrains are being replaced by glass panels. Also the WC flushing made a noise like a FA-18 fighter plane.
The park and pool are great and very relaxing (with few guests at the hotel) - the water temperature was "refreshing" for a PM temperature of 35° C.
We booked half-board pension - the breakfast buffet was satisfactory (no more) while dinner was good. In the evaluation form I mentioned that it would be appreciated if they could get rid of the flies!
Don't expect to buy postage stamps or newspapers at the reception or kiosk in front of the hotel! The reception sent me to the kiosk and the kiosk to the reception (buy the stamps with the postcards).
Overall a good stay (value for money). for people that want a quiet vacation mixed with an occasional sightseeing trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charles1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
4.7 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
#439 of 499 in Marrakech
1,058 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#417 of 499 in Marrakech
682 reviews
5.6 mi away
Imperial Holiday Hotel
Imperial Holiday Hotel
#479 of 499 in Marrakech
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#197 of 499 in Marrakech
734 reviews
12.0 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
4.8 mi away
Imperial Plaza Hotel
Imperial Plaza Hotel
#388 of 499 in Marrakech
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sangho Club Privilege Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sangho Club Privilege Marrakech

Property: Sangho Club Privilege Marrakech
Address: PO Box 1567 | Daoudiate, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #465 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 324
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays and Cancelon so you can book your Sangho Club Privilege Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sangho Club Privilege Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Sangho Hotel Privilege Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing