We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel with excellent facilities and staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kenzi Club Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kenzi Club Oasis
Ranked #476 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Brynmawr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel with excellent facilities and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

well i booked this hotel, then read reviews and thought oh no.
we arrived late due to delays going through passport controls, when we got to hotel
they greeted us and showed us straight into restaurant while they looked after our cases
to make sure we had a meal as restaurant was closing. they arranged our meal after
eating we went to our room. rooms small but lovely real pleasure to sleep in.
Hotel lovely to look at lush grounds with day beds scattered here and there so you can
get shade in summer months which you will need as it is really hot in july.
hotel entertainment was in french but they all made an effort to include us we played petang and darts with them during week we stayed. we were joined most days by
staff for dinner or lunch and they enjoyed trying to communicate with us, hard work some
times due to language barriers but that is what we like the difference in languages and
cultures. would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a relaxing
friendly holiday.
We were worried about the reviews on food but these worries were unfounded you could
eat everything it was all first class food and staff working in restaurant were friendly and
helpful. snacks were put out every morning and afternoon. they made fresh dougnuts, pancakes and breads everyday which was lovely.






Hotel

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariawilliams111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    107
    74
    51
    67
See reviews for
107
120
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

I was really worried about this hotel after reading the reviews but it's not bad at all. You basically get what you are paying for.

The whole place was clean with loads of staff cleaning and maintaining the grounds all day long. Our room was cleaned every day and we appeared to get fresh sheets and towels daily. Another couple we met did say that there room was a bit damp and had a lot of ants but ours was perfectly fine.

You can pretty much get food from 6am to 10pm, the food is basic and you get a lot of the same stuff every day but it was all perfectly nice and there's something for everyone. Salads, pasta, meat, vegetables etc. My friend and I tried most of the food and neither of us were ill. There is no shop to buy anything extra like snacks but there is always loads to eat. I was only there for a week and I was starting to get bored of the food as it was very similar each day.

If you're going for a big drinking holiday this is not for you. The bar is open from morning till 11pm. You can only get beer, spirits (taste like soap) and their cocktails. Wine is only served at lunch and dinner time and is not given out freely. There is a 'disco' which is open till 2am in the hotel but it's expensive (not part of the all inclusive) and was pretty much empty most nights.

The entertainment was pretty rubbish in the hotel. If you can't speak french then it's pretty much impossible to understand what is going on. There were very few staff who could speak any english and everything was done in french. They have activities all day long which they try to get you involved in and play the same songs about 10 times a day (that's not even an exageration) which was starting to get annoying the last few days. They did a lot of silly games and dances which some people seemed to enjoy but I didn't take part. There is a tv in the room which has english films. This is the first holiday ever that I've watched tv but we sometimes watched a film at 11pm when the bar shut.

They offer a free bus into the town but you need to be on time as it doesn't wait for long at all even if you've signed up to go on the bus they will leave with out you. It doesn't cost much for a taxi (about £13 it goes up at night time though) but it will be an experience as the driving is a bit mental. Get someone to give you directions before you go as it's a bit of a walk to the the medina and shops and it's not fun if you get lost. Some of the people in the medina can get a bit angry with you if you do not buy stuff. We set a rule of not paying more than a third of their first offer when we were haggling and that seemed to work out okay.

The biggest problem (appart from the entertainment staff) with the hotel is the birds! There are hundreds of birds flying around (and flies) trying to eat your food. One of them did the toilet on my friends shoulder at lunch.

I had a really good holiday but I wouldn't have been able to stay in the hotel for longer than a week. I think it's probably ideal for a long weekend.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angieickle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2010

We both thought it was great value for money.Remember to book all inclusive if you're going to be in the hotel most of the time as otherwise they charge thro' the nose for lunch and drinks (eg £1.50 for a small coke).
There is nowhere else even near to this hotel to get food or drink, unless you travel the 5 miles into centre of town, so going fully inclusive is a no-brainer.
Contrary to other reviews you are NOT forced to take part in games, though they do have music playing quite loud over pool speakers all day long, so if you want a quiet place this isn't for you.
Lovely staff, decent (but not fantastic) food. Very nice gardens with nice atmosphere. Has a decent pitch to play football, tennis courts, ping pong.
Minor criticisms were gym equipment is very old (no-one uses gym much) and no golf club to practise at their golf net (nice idea guys- why they expect patrons to bring their own golf club with is beyond me).
Overall, highly recommended.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank lyonsdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2010

After reading some of the reviews on here, we booked with some trepidation; we had a fixed budget to get away from the miserable winter for a week and decided to take a risk and give it a chance. We're so glad that we did!

It's not a 4* by British standards, but surely if you're going to North Africa, this should be expected?! The place itself was incredibly pretty with gardens of palm trees tended everyday. The food, whilst not Michelin starred, was varied, tasty and plentiful.

There were a few little bits of improvements being carried out around the grounds, but it was still very early in the season and the workers carrying it out were so friendly that it didn't seem to matter. We weren't inconvenienced by it at all, it was literally the odd fence needing a lick of paint. Our room was small but clean and all we needed, and was serviced everyday.


The entertainment was, as described by others, mainly in French, but being a hotel in a French speaking company visited by mainly French guests this was expected. We went for a relaxing break rather than an all action holiday, so this wasn't a problem to us, but as it was, the entertainment staff were very friendly and inviting, always taking the time to come to ask us, lounging by the pool, if we wanted to join in the activities. With our muddled French and their (far better) English, we managed to communicate and shared the occasional drink and chat of an evening. Nobody left us out, whether for being English or for not wanting to join in often. It may not be ideal for those with young children needing entertaining, but a bit of cultural exposure can only do them good surely.

The rest of the staff were amazingly helpful, most of them speaking very good English, for those of you who appreciate this sort of thing, and generally welcoming us to Morocco. Particularly of note was the man who attends the gate to the property who we learned lots about Marrakechi culture from while waiting for the bus into town...which brings me on to another good point, the regular free bus to the Medina and back.

The only negative thing I can think of is that the pool often didn't open until lunchtime, for reasons we were unable to fathom. The place was far enough away from the city centre to be peaceful and relaxing, and close enough to see all the sites. All in all, we had a lovely break, unintrusive but helpful staff, nice enough food, beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angilinaballerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2010

The taxi to the hotel from the airport should cost no more than 200 Dirham, you'll have to barter, it takes around 25 mins but being slightly out of the center means that the hotel is far nicer than the blocks of the hotels in Marrakesh itself.
When you approach the hotel you can't see a great deal, but once you enter through the gates it's quite magical. The gardens are beautiful and full of colour, the tiles are typically Moroccan and there are birds singing. Check in is swift, you are given a wrist band according to your board and a porter brings you to your room. The rooms contain 2 single beds, a couple of wardrobes, a TV and an en-suite bathroom (containing basin, toilet, bath & shower and bidet). The windows have mosquito nets built in and you even get your own outside terrace. I believe that the television has only french channels, but to be honest we were there for 10 days and didn't turn it on once.

Morocco is a French rather than English speaking country, so prepare to battle through with communication, even with some staff, although they all know a basic level and it was not a problem getting understood. They were all helpful and cheerful, the evening entertainment was all in French, but I'm sure you could still join in and be very welcome. Some of it was a bit cheesy but it didn't make the place any less special, if you're enjoying Morocco properly you'll be in bed by 10 anyway! We mostly ventured out of the hotel during the day, but the pool is large and there are plenty of free sunbeds, there are tennis courts, badminton tables and a bowling green. Along with dance classes and aerobics.

The maintenance was exceptional, it was kept extremely clean at all times. Our room was cleaned, linen and towels replaced every day without fail. The food is great, it's mostly Moroccan in style, so expect couscous and tagines, not chips! At lunch time, there is a kiln where they cook bread fresh, so you see it being made and get it when it's piping hot - a highlight for me! There is breakfast, lunch and dinner but they also put pastries out mid morning and afternoon, you'll never go hungry.

The hotel is around 25 mins from the center of Marrakesh, the Medina. There is a free shuttle from the hotel that leaves and picks up between 7.30 AM and 11PM, there are lots of times during the day you can get it, and it is very reliable, they were there without fail. It is nice to be slightly out of the center, which can be stressful at times, although very interesting and beautiful.

The hotel offers excursions, we did one to the waterfalls in the atlas mountains. It was well run and not too expensive so if you like to be guided around I'd suggest you go for some of their excursions. However, if you are like us and like a bit of an adventure I'd suggest doing some yourself. We got a cab to 'la palmarie' and went camel riding there. And instead of paying 600 Dirhams for an arranged trip to a Berber village, we got the free shuttle into the city and a local bus (the L45) for 10 Dirham per person into a beautiful village called Amizmiz, it was more insightful to go individually, and the villagers welcomed us, inviting us for mint tea and to play football with the local children. It was far more intimate than a planned excursion.

I would definitely recommend Kenzi Oasis, it is beautiful and you will have an amazing time if you are looking to experience Morocco. If you are looking for a holiday which is like England but warmer, but with the same food and television I wouldn't suggest here.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LauraJennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

Firstly i must say i am surprised when reading others reviews as we had a very different experience. We felt that the for the price we paid it was excellent value for money (28 per person per night). The food was great and the food manager was very helpful and made sure we had vegetarian food each night. The staff did not speak a lot of English however they tried hard to interact with us and we hard a laugh together. The entertainment was funny and the venue was just beautiful. We used the tennis courts and the gym. There was a bus service 7 times a day into the city we which used and it was very reliable. The acutual city was just brilliant. Would definately recommend Marrakech and this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KD7uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

Arrived at "oasis" during the night which looked pretty on arrival but the days that followed were grim. The sun shone but the "entertainment staff" were rude and dull. We were offered an abumdance of service but obviously declined. The "guess what's in my pocket game" was the real low point but the music that was on an hours loop was pretty bad too. The food was boring and gross and the only blessing was when we discovered that the shop on the capus sold packaged food as the food served was covered in bugs.

All in all, I left the resort with a tan, a bad taste in my mouth in every way and 5lbs lighter but not through choice!!

Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Disappointedtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
9.0 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#105 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,572 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#259 of 508 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
#410 of 508 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
5.3 mi away
Riad Elizabeth
Riad Elizabeth
#142 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
16.0 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Club
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Club
#140 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenzi Club Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenzi Club Oasis

Property: Kenzi Club Oasis
Address: Commune Rurale Ouahat, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#237 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenzi Club Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Also Known As:
Kenzi Club Oasis Hotel Marrakech
Kenzi Hotel Marrakech
Kenzi Hotel Oasis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing