We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Getaway in the Sun:”
Review of Kenzi Club Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kenzi Club Oasis
Ranked #469 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway in the Sun:”
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We read the reviews for this hotel and freaked, seriously thought what the hell have we done. On arrival it was after dark, the hotel grounds were lit with Moroccan lamps all around in neat rows shining light on each side of the paths and in the centre of the path were water fountains. Despite reviews of this hotel being mainly for French and the staff not being able to speak any English well we found it to be around 50% French and 50% Brits and all the staff spoke some English and we had no problems communicating with the very pleasant helpful staff. The grounds are well kept and there are plenty of places to sit away from the busy bar area. There was plenty to eat and drink, they have hot drinks machines serving coffee, expresso, latte whatever you want and its good, hot water for tea, large selection of food, salads, rice dishes, stunning black olives, pasta, quiche, pizza, fries, vegetarian dishes, fish, cold meats, cheeses and a selection of sweets. Rooms were basic but very clean and comfortable and a good size with wooden shutters on the windows and good air-con, bath, shower, hand basin, toilet and bidet fresh towels twice daily. A free shuttle bus travels to town half past the hour and on the hour on return its around a thirty minute journey and stops at Liberty Place which is around a twenty minute walk to the Jammal main market area or pay a cab £1.70 to take you there, they are waiting when the bus stops. For a three day mini break away from it all ideal for chilling out if you want the busy city centre then stay in the city centre this is a getaway from it all kinda place if your on a budget and don't expect the Ritz but all in all good value for money. There is nothing out here except the hotel go all inclusive and we paid a £24.00 to keep our room until 5pm and for that you get lunch, all your drinks, afternoon tea and the room that was for the room not per person and so much easier than checking out at 11:30am and hanging around. We enjoyed it and would go back for another mini break.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jax20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    107
    74
    51
    68
See reviews for
107
121
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Having read some previous reviews, my friend and I were a bit worried but I have to say that when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised and the hotel exceeded expectations on all levels. We were on a short break for 3 nights to chill out.

Realistically this isnt a 4* as we know it so for people expecting too much I can see that they would be disapointed. and as for the guests, yes things are in French as that is the language they speak but I would say it was about 40% English guests and the staff all made an effort to speak English and include everyone.

Room - the room was quirte small but for 2 people it was absolutely fine, the aircon worked really well (needed as it was 50 degrees outside!). our shower did leak on the floor which was a bit annoying and we seemed to find dark hairs on the floor (I guess form the cleaner) ut all in all we were happy with the room.

Food/drink - there was quite a variety and it did change daily but bear in mind that as a muslim country they don't eat pork it is inevitably going to be a mixture of Chicken, beef or lamb, they also had plenty of veggie dishes. It is true that the food was warm and not hot if you didnt eat early but there are 2 microwaves.
You get plenty of water from the bar and in the restaurant (large bottles), wine at lunch and dinner (of which there were plenty) and the usual spirits and beer at the bar (plus the cocktail of the day).
They have fresh pancakes, bread and pastries outside in the morning and again at about 4pm which were really nice.

Pool/entertainment - the pool was nice and refreshing from the heat and we had no trouble finding sunbeds. The pool area is kept really clean and tidy too. throughout the day there are activities going on (aqua aerobics, water polo, salsa dancing etc) and you are asked if you want to join in but not pressured at all. The kids all loved it!
In the evenings, it is true that there isnt much going on except a 'mini disco' for the kids but they did have a moroccan nigth with acrobats etc.

Location - this is a bit of a downside depending on what you want as it is about 20 mins from Marrakech so you can't really got out for a walk anywhere - its not really a resort type holiday.
We did a tour of Marrakech in the morning and to be honest there isnt that much to see and the heat really makes it tough to trapse around!

All in all we had a good time here and think that for a short break it is perfect but that depending on what you're after it may be a bit boring for much longer than a week.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niknak78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

just got back hotel from hell flys bugs in your food which i must point out you will be shareing with every bird that inhabbits the so called hotel rooms are cheap as poundland over run with the french who i dnt mind but wen your eating and drinking ther basiclly left overs it starts to get you rite pissed off you will be in the middle of nower with nothing to do try it if you dare!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthWalesDemoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

the hotel generally is ok, i was like most people after reading the reviews i was very sceptical about going but. to start with i took a trip to marracesh with the hotel shuttle bus and to be honest the hotels in marracesh itself were very very awfull looking and these were 5 star hotels with beggers and hustlers stood on the door way, so in a way i was so happy where this hotel was located. althought EVERY single english person i spoke to was rather just recovering from food poisening or felt they were coming down with food poisening. after seeing the food 1 dinner then seeing the same food for tea time i could see why, but you feel stuck you rather stay in city centre in very scrubby looking hotels whice are meant to be five star and get husstled for the entire holiday or you stay at this hotel and be very smart with whaty you eat. there are activities you can do and you can sunbath as long as you wish( which other people in other hotels couldnt because of space etc) the pool was lovely aswell. weather was 45+ so gorgeous weather. overall its very clear you can stay at this desent hotel and be smart about what you eat or you stay in a city centre hotel whice makes you so thankfull you never booked it, hotel is french but every person tried to speak to you and made you feel welcome.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEAN010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Recently come back from staying at this hotel in Marrakech. We had a good stay but wanted to let others know of some of the problems/what to expect. All staff spoke very little english, or deciding when to understand you and when not to. Entertainment was that of the CHEESEY kind, and lots of sleezy men trying to get you to do things like salsa. We stayed well away from this, although the french seemed to love it.

Food was lovely though, a good choice for unfussy eaters, but if you have fussy children be prepared for eating pasta with a sauce every evening. I think the amount of food available was good value for money, and bottles of water etc.

The hotel itself was based 1/2 hour away from the centre of Marrakech, they do provide a shuttlebus but you have to book onto a specific time at reception. They just dump you at a random place about a 25minute walk from the main square, where you get hasseled and jumped on by guides (obviously who they are linked with and get comission) who try to give you a guide to get to the main square. Luckily we had a Lonely Planet book and managed to find our way. When you're left at the cross roads, go left and then at the next crossroads go right and the main square is straight down this road, with the CyberParc on your right.

And if you don't have a transfer from the airport to the hotel don't expect to be able to get the shuttlebus, we waited for hours trying to find it and had to resort to getting a taxi.

The so called gym, is only a weights room, no cardio in sight! So dont bother bringing your trainers!!!

Overall though we had a good time in Marrakech, the hotel was clean and surroundings nice, although it does feel a bit like you are locked in the hotel as its so remote from anywhere else. My one bit of advice....bring a Morocco Lonely Planet with you!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loretta11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glos
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

ignor all the bad reviews this hotel was great. staff are lovely, food is lush, entertainment excellent. i would deffently go again. people who moan about them speaking french get over it and learn french if it bothers you that much. one of the best holidays ive been on

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jody-marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

The photographs make the hotel look lovely but those are only the main areas of the hotel. The hotel rooms are basic but are ok and towels and sheets seemed to be clean.
The Reception staff are extremely rude to English guests and will not go out of their way to be helpful. At one point they even refused to let me borrow a pen to write something. At first I thought it was the language barrier but I do understand some French and some of the comments between staff as you were standing in front of them were not very complimentary ( she got a shock when I answered a comment that she had made). All of the entertainment is in French but the staff work very hard to speak to all guests and try to include everyone. There is not a great deal to do in the hotel. we had a try at archery but it was too hot to play tennis and other activities like pool table have balls missing and a broken cue. All of this is manageable you can get by with a run down hotel but it is the food that is most concerning. There were supposed to be themed nights with one night being oriental the next italian etc but it is the same old food. However it is the standards of hygiene that is unbelievable the same food was being brought out over and again for lunch and dinner. I am a bit fussy when eating and was very careful about what I ate but could not believe it when I saw meat that was still practically raw in the middle. I was expecting to try experience delicious morrocan food but was very disappointed! I was ill after 4 days and am still ill after returning and seeing a doctor about suspected food poisoning. I spoke to a few other English guests who were ill as well - sickness and diahorrea. This is not the lasting memory I wanted of my holiday! Please do not go there and spend your money elsewhere!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helen12373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
9.0 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#95 of 500 in Marrakech
4,997 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#236 of 500 in Marrakech
2,383 reviews
12.4 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
16.0 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Marrakech
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Marrakech
#135 of 500 in Marrakech
2,618 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Marrakech Le Sangho Privilege
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenzi Club Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenzi Club Oasis

Property: Kenzi Club Oasis
Address: Commune Rurale Ouahat, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#234 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenzi Club Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kenzi Club Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenzi Club Oasis Hotel Marrakech
Kenzi Hotel Marrakech
Kenzi Hotel Oasis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing