We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite simply sublime”

The Capaldi Restaurant
Ranked #229 of 860 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: European, French, Moroccan, International, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quite simply sublime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We loved our lunch so much at The Capaldi that there was nothing for it but to stay and have dinner there. We arrived on a roasting hot day to refreshing breezes, sun kissed shadows, a sense of instant relaxation and a chilled bottle of wine, which somehow, quite unintentionally - led on to another 'couple'. The setting was wonderfully stylish, crisp, classic and yet infused throughout with the essence of Morocco - a light subtlety of touch that settled us gently into a soft rhythm. The starter was exquisite - the main course melted in the mouth and the desert - well - let's just say it slipped down so delightfully that another was instantly ordered.

At this point, in another restaurant - one might start reluctantly requesting the bill and getting on with the day. That was certainly our plan - but it was a plan that signally failed to survive contact with the swimming pool and shady sofas. Casually elegant and hypnotically relaxing, we found ourselves tucking deeper into the very reasonably priced French winelist. Before we knew what was going on - the sun had begun to set, the dusk rippled with warm lighting and we were ordering dinner - which was once again an absolute triumph.

Superb food, superb setting, superb value and superb hosts . Oh and did I mention - it was superb

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyrus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    7
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Satisfaction guaranteed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Having visited several times and never having been disappointed I wanted to share my experiences with others. This restaurant is in a wonderful tranquil setting for visitors to Marrakech and I would strongly recommend to all travellers. However, for those of us who live in Morocco the Capaldi is an ideal "local" offering good service, excellent food and wine combined with a warm welcome no matter how many times you visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JarjeerMules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

I was lucky enough to have lunch here as well as an evening meal with friends. Both were delightful experiences with great food and service. Tara and Ed are the perfect hosts. Lunchtime was extremely busy and had a great atmosphere. Things were quieter in the evening and was lovely to follow up with drinks inside. Hats off to the French chef......the food was delicious!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 128rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First Class Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Lovely setting within easy reach of Marrakech for a day trip for lunch. Fantastic food which is incredibly good value - I would go again and again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelEnthusiast061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantes, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Room for improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We heard about this place last year and finally made it. Nice setting, service was so so, needs training and language skills an issue. Food was ok, nothing special, a bit on the expensive side for what it is meant to be in the country. The menu although limited(and full of spellos) looks promising but what it delivers in the plate is somewhat disappointing: complicated, tortured is the the word, rich sauces, and lack of seasoning. Set up is nice, cosy but you really have to want to come here since it's off the beaten tracks. Give them more time and another try...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IfuWeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Capaldi Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to The Capaldi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing