We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel that exceeded our expectations”
Review of The Capaldi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Capaldi
Ranked #119 of 1,146 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Beautiful hotel that exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

On arrival we were offered a very welcome drink prior to being escorted through the most spectacular grounds to our Farmhouse room with Terrace.
After a quick unpack & shower, we headed straight to the beautifully decorated restaurant for our first evening meal - fine dining beautifully executed - a perfect way to start our 5 day break at the Capaldi.
Ed greeted us warmly in the bar, which set the tone for the next few days - along with Tara they made us feel very welcome & were perfect hosts throughout our stay.
They gave us lots of information including instructions for 2/3 good walks.
Being adventurous, we headed out with the Atlas Mountains on the horizon; we felt like we were going back in time as we passed through various remote villages on the way to a spectacular lake.
The standard of everything at the Capaldi is truly outstanding - a very special hotel.
We finished off our stay with 24 hours in the Riad Capaldi set in the middle of the Medina - a most wonderful way to finish a perfect 5 day break.
Thank You Ed & Tara ( & Aiden) for making our stay so enjoyable & memorable - we will be back for sure.
OV & HB

Room Tip: We had the corner Farmhouse room with Terrace - the room was lovely, but the terrace wasn't qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    9
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
114
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

When my wife and I first heard of The Capaldi hotel in Marrakech and saw the pictures we just knew we had to stay there. Last October we made it to Marrakech to find that it is actually about 30 minutes drive outside the city. However, the hotel had sent a car to pick us up and bring us to the luxurious resort. It is a painstakingly but lovingly built creation of a husband and wife team from London. There are 23 rooms and suits built in the olive groves at the foot of the Atlas Mountains. A perfect retreat for that romantic getaway or a leisure trip with friends. With two pools, one heated during the winter, a cinema, a spa and a fine dining restaurant it catered for all we could wish for. The room was extremely comfortable and the food and service was second to none. We would recommend that if you are visiting Marrakech make it to The Capaldi for a wonderful experience.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mattmehra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Capaldi for four days on our honeymoon. We simply can't speak highly enough of the place. The moment you enter is the moment you realise it's a little slice of Moroccan paradise, perfectly complimenting the incredible views of the High Atlas Mountains behind it. It's less a hotel, more a garden of tranquility with beautifully designed rooms around the outside. The attention to detail at every level is so impressive. And the food! Every night a different menu (which is an amazing achievement in itself considering its relatively remote location) full of originality and delivered to perfection.

The wonderful owners Ed and Tara were so accommodating and welcoming to us from the outset, and it's clear they put their hearts and souls into making each guest's experience the best it can possibly be. In fact all of the staff really were top class. We also took the hotel's recommended guided tour of the Berber villages up in the mountains, which was a great experience and one I'd thoroughly recommend.

The Capaldi is simply brilliant, and has to be experienced to be believed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Returned last week after 4 days at Hotel Capaldi. The break exceeded all expectation, we wanted a relaxing short break to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary and make the most of the opportunity to go away alone as our youngest son was on a school trip. It seemed very quiet at first, but we soon got used to the sounds of silence and the pure oasis of calm and relaxation. In fact it was lovely to check out from the"cyber drive" and not wear a watch.
The hotel and grounds are just beautiful, fantastic view of the snow capped Atlas Mountains and the grounds were so well maintained, with the smell of the jasmine and roses in the air. The room was very comfortable, clean, crisp cotton sheets and no tv or electronics which was refreshing. The hotel is just a friendly, comfortable, quiet, and peaceful haven in tranquil surroundings. The food is simple, extremely tasty, with 3 choices for each course for dinner which we enjoyed and made for easy decisions.
There are lots of hideaways in the grounds in and out of the sun and large big double sun beds with comfy towelling covers. 2 pools, one heated and like a warm bath.
Ed and Tara and all the staff are extremely welcoming in a natural and friendly way and genuinely want to ensure you have a lovely stay. Allow a day or two to change your gears down, it will seem strange to begin with but we both felt so rejuvenated afterwards and we would love to come back again for longer.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, our Garden Room had a terrace to lay out on which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bongo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I am not normally inclined to write reviews on Tripadvisor but as I sit by the pool in the sun at the Hotel Capaldi with a beer in hand, getting ready to depart, I feel it necessary to reinforce the dominant point of view – with supporting photos.

The previous review is so disproportionate I feel there must be an ulterior motive – or maybe the rain over the weekend made it so disappointing for them. It transpires that we are staying in the same room as this guest and we either disagree with his comments or regard as trivial – everyone is entitled of course.

Let’s be clear – this doesn’t pretend to be 5 star; it isn’t the Marriott in an urban jungle – go to Dubai if you want that – this is a place that is very high on style, slightly rustic in character and luxurious where it counts.

Addressing the points made:

The bathroom area has a shower separate from the main area with view straight at snow capped mountains; there is kidney shaped bath, two sinks and the toilet. It is fully tiled throughout and very clean - I couldn’t detect any stains – the tiles are in keeping and rustic so may be if you are expecting Marriott styled marbled, perfect and smooth you will be disappointed.

The single chair in the room is maybe a fair point and a small sofa might have been better as the room is huge; there is however a library and lounge immediately below the room also facing the mountains if that is what your after. Would agree with the coffee making facilities and it would have been nice to have been able to sit on the balcony but it is very narrow. Lack of hairdryer was resolved in 5 minutes. We rang reception for it. I have enclosed a photo of the 1 chair by the entrance – it is more for show really. There is no TV (not what this hotel is about) but there is an amazing cinema with satellite tv and a library of about 100 dvds.
Stuff about the pool area – all rubbish in my opinion.

For the things that really count, spacious rooms, (very) nice food with attentive staff, many lit fireplaces, large territory (with beautifully laid out gardens), views over mountains all true. The owners do personally come and speak to guests and try to be helpful!!! They are also very good company around the bar.

Also worth noting the hiking in the Atlas mountains was amazing with our guide taking us through Berber villages with lunch in one of their homes.

Would definitely return – we did have a couple of rainy days and maybe that can give you a different perspective – even the Atlas mountains then disappear.

Room Tip: Atlas room is amazing - wake up to the snow capped mountains (see picture)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have chosen Capaldi hotel because of great reviews and photos on Tripadvisor. Unfortunately, after our stay there, we are forced to disagree with previous guest's great reviews about hotel's luxurious 5 star status. We believe that 5 star hotel would mean an exceptional service, cleanliness, design and attention to detail. However, none of this was found at Capaldi Hotel.

When we have arrived to this hotel, no one has offered us a glass of water or tea ( which is a common practice in Morocco). We had to wait in the lobby for a while whilst receptionist was filling in forms, copy of passports etc ( not sure why we couldn't go to our Room in a meantime). When we have finally arrived to our room, we found that toilet was dirty and we have asked staff to clean it properly. The staff seemed very surpised by our request and assumed they was no need for this. Apart from that, bathroom walls and floor were in stains ( please see photo attached). The state of our toilet after a second washing you can see below. The only furniture in the room - were bed, table and 1 (!) chair. So if one person is sitting on that chair then the other person has to sit on the bed! On the balcony there is no furniture at all. So you have to just stand there. Balcony has obviously not been cleaned for ages. ( please see photo). Near the entrance to the room there is also just 1 chair to sit on. ( see photo). The room had no TV, no musis, no kettle, no coffee facilities.Bathroom had nothing that would point out at the luxury of hotel - no toiletries provided ( no cotton wool, no hairdryer nothing!). By the pool's sun loungers there was just 1 umbrella. By heated pools there were 2 terraces( see photo). By the pool there is no service, so if you wish to order a drink you would need to go and order it from the restaurant.

Of course there were some positive sides as well - spacious rooms, nice food with attentive staff, many lit fireplaces, large territory, views over mountains. Owners personally come and speak to guests and try to be helpful.

However, taking into account the above points we do not believe that Capaldi hotel is a luxurious 5 star hotel and we will never come back there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Spent a week with my husband at this gem of a hotel for some Winter sunshine. We had a farmhouse room which was nicely situated close to the restaurant/ bar & heated pool. The bed was huge and truly the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in. Our hosts Ed & Tara could not have been more welcoming and ensured that every aspect of our stay was catered for. Ed even went so far as to take my husband to a chiropractor when he unfortunately suffered a back spasm towards the end of our stay. Well beyond the call of duty!

The French chef certainly does his best with rather poor ingredients and the food was generally pretty good although breakfast gets a little repetitious after a week.

The view of the Atlas Mountains from the pool & roof terrace is truly spectacular but the area outside the hotel grounds is a bit grim.

I would suggest a week here may be a bit too long and it's probably better to combine a few days in the family's Riyadh in Marrakech with a few days at the Capaldi - best of both worlds.

We loved our stay and would thoroughly recommend this oasis of calm. Thank you Ed & Tara, we will be back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
24.2 mi away
Kasbah Bab Ourika
Kasbah Bab Ourika
#1 of 3 in Ourika
579 reviews
13.0 mi away
Domaine Malika
Domaine Malika
#1 of 2 in Ouirgane
503 reviews
13.7 mi away
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Maroc Lodge
Maroc Lodge
#1 of 1 in Amizmiz
114 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Flouka Auberge et Restaurant du Lac
Le Flouka Auberge et Restaurant ...
#1 of 3 in Lalla Takerkoust
167 reviews
22.1 mi away
Riad Capaldi
Riad Capaldi
#379 of 1,146 in Marrakech
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capaldi

Property: The Capaldi
Address: Route d'Amizmiz km39 | Lalla Takerkouste, Marrakech 42202, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 1,146 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Capaldi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Capaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing