We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The world's darkest hotel room?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pearl Marrakech
Ranked #161 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“The world's darkest hotel room?”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

There is nothing intrinsically wrong with this hotel (it changed from the Delano to the Pearl half way through my stay) at all, but, as a matter of taste it just wasn't my style.

The main thing was just how incredibly dark the bedroom was - even with all the lights on, the bathroom door open to let light in from there, and the main window's curtains fully open, it was still as if it was 11pm at night during the day. So much so that I had trouble packing on my last night and could only really answer emails sitting in the bathroom.

I was part of a large group at a conference and it became a standing joke just how dark the rooms were.

Breakfast was perfectly adequate but not stand out.

Everyone said the roof top terrace was amazing but I didn't have time to go up there

On the plus side the staff were really, really lovely.

Position-wise it was 5/10 minutes in a cab to the medina (50 Dirhams - yes probably tourist price but at £3.50 I wasn't going to complain)

Would I stay here again? Very probably no.
Would I recommend it to others? It would really depend on their taste in decor and if they like (very very) dark hotel rooms.

Room Tip: Take a torch / flashlight!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    130
    36
    35
    27
See reviews for
51
198
22
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We did not stay at The Pearl but used the swimming pool facilities. The Hotel is lovely, staff were friendly which is why returned after our first visit a few days earlier, to use the swimming pool. There was a miss understanding and we were not aware of the fee associated with using the pool, unfortunately the Manager was not very helpful in clearing up the issue, raising it in front of all the restaurant guests and over all, making my friend and I out as to be petty thieves. Besides the unpleasant altercation everything else was lovely. Please take the time to confirm prices to use pools at Hotels, even if you are told there is none. Would still recommend the facilities here, just lovely.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terceira, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The Delano is hype, and it's fun to stay here if you want to be close to the city center.
Beautiful, stylish lobby. Efficient front desk staff. Helpful bell boys. Very nice and friendly waitresses and femmes de chambre. We felt at ease here when we are talking about services and food. Breakfast is exceptional and superb - until 11 in the morning, bravo!
The negative points are:
VERY thin walls. You can hear every word if your room neighbour is talking or watching television. That is very unpleasant for people who like to have privacy and peace, and therefore I would not go back to stay at this hotel. If you want or need to get a good sleep, you can forget about that here as there are 10 doors smashing in the late evenings as well as early mornings. No chance to get a decent sleep...
The second detail which I did not like at all was the illumination of the rooms. There are THREE lamps only, that is absolutely ridiculous. It is IMPOSSIBLE to read a book in your room, or to see what is on your room service tray. In those room it is just DARK. If you need to pack your suitcase in the evening, you can not even see how and what you pack. We asked for 2 extra lamps, but they did not change much. The walls are dark. Carpets are dark. Curtains are dark. If the sun is not shining into your room, you just feel uncomfortable because it is dark. What did this interior decorator think when he created the Delano rooms?
Except those 2 details (which are important to me) we liked the Delano. It is a good hotel, and you get a lot for what you pay. If the rooms were not so dark, and if the walls were thicker, I would come back here with great pleasure. It is a hotel which is different to the normal thing...
Bathrooms, by the way, are excellent, and the rooftop pool is great fun!

Room Tip: Opt for a room that faces Royal Mansour or La Mamounia, on a floor high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelmaniaccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Writing about this restaurant as no listing on its own
food took 1 hour to come but a stunning roof venue
what can i say but the staff wre lazy and it has just changed management
but i went to see the new GM and he promised me better for when i return in November but qualkity was great for food service will get better this new guy know what it needs so pls try it after 1 month whilst he sorts it out

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The Delano is a lovely hotel. Good location. Nice staff. I would say service was mixed. Like the service was very slow, You ordered a drink and it would take 30 mins to come but we kind of expected it from reading earlier reviews. Other things like the pool boy did not really help you at the pool area with towels and moving umbrellas. The Italian restaurant was meant to be from a Michelin chef but it was only average. Still a very nice hotel which I would recommend if you want something luxurious but cannot afford la mamouna.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shariflabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I had a very similar experience to the review from another guest. The service at the Delano was terrible. For every request we made, the staff would say yes, but then nothing would be delivered. We had a similar experience with the check out process where they charged the full rate, even though I paid a deposit.
This hotel is not at all up to the Delano standard, that I have experienced in Miami.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalTravelerTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I fully agree with the reviews that describe this beautiful hotel however having stayed at a local Riyad in the Medina i was very disappointed with the service at this fine hotel.
We attended a wedding at the Selman Hotel most of the guests stayed at the Delano. They were not prepared to handle a large group. Every other guest requested an iron with an ironing board we had to wait for 4 hours as soon as we arrived still no luck... we were so frustrated we spoke to the front desk manager Sarah who finally got our clothes pressed for us. The next three days was a battle every day to get the iron. The service was very slow the concierge was extremely rude and every time they arranged a taxi it included a commission for the door man.
The day we checked out it took us 3 hours to settle the bill because they did not understand that there was a deposit made prior to our arrival.Ten other guests went through the same ordeal. It was horrible:(( One of our good friends took 3 hours in the morning just like we did to finalize his bill, we left our suitcases with them until flight time at night. As we approached the front desk to pick up our bags they would not release my friend's bags stating he had not paid his bill!! The poor guy had to hunt for his receipts to prove otherwise not to mention the insult! The fact that we had to go through everything all over again made us late to the airport where we almost did not get on the flight! NEVER AGAIN!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
#209 of 499 in Marrakech
526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marrakech Carre Eden
0.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mansour Eddahbi & Palais des Congres Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Marrakech

Property: The Pearl Marrakech
Address: Angle Avenue Echouhada Et Rue des Temples | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Delano Marrakech)
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pearl Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of a vibrant and magical city, The Pearl Marrakech exudes the mystery and exoticism of another world. This is the ultimate escape, a cool haven of discovery and pleasure. Whether seeking an engaging nightlife scene, renowned fine dining or a day of spa relaxation, The Pearl Marrakech is a luxurious experience, evoking a sophisticated, chic ambiance with discreet and effortless service. Designed by the acclaimed Jacques Garcia, its opulent interior blends precious marbles with sumptuous velvet and other rare textiles, creating an intimate atmosphere with a modern edge. Ceilings in the lobby are hand-carved wood, and a central rotunda is surrounded by an intricately patterned Moroccan design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Prestigia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Pearl Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing