We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Potenial but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pearl Marrakech
Ranked #169 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Potenial but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel as a great potential but...in general the service in the bars, in the reception etc.. is "nonexistent". Big exception is the Moroccan restaurant which is top in service- 10 points-great food marvelous service. We did book 3 suites and on arrival at 16h00 only one suites ready and we did have to wait for more than 2.5 hours so as to finally move in (after lots of stories and uncontrolled move in out attempts). Rooms and suites are great in design and well equipped and clean. Spa area a "Must see" -very design cosy and relax. The roof top Swimming pool and sun relax area is cool and top -if...you do accept the very amateur Service.
General Managment did not react on our problems and even did not react on a direct mail... beside the fact that we did spend more then 4000 Euro in 3 days in the hotel...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Okavangopierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    127
    35
    35
    25
See reviews for
49
188
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

I would say the rooms are nice, spacious and clean. The staff is nice and friendly. On the negative side the price we paid for our stay is a little bit exagerted. Also, they had figured nothing for couples who have kids..

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Othmane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Sat by the pool with my friend it was amazing and the service was excellent, so went back in the evening but the service was terrible the Manager did not seem to know what he was doing there attitude was atrocious but the food was good when we finally got it!!!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
406 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Very nice to come there, either as a traveller or just as a day visitor.

It has one of the best roof top pools in the country and is lovely to visit and chill there while seeing the snow mountains. The food and drinks are a bit pricy but worth the service and the ambience. The rooms are classy and standard and the service is very perceptive. If you love design hotels, this is a must see!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Just returned from a long weekend staying at the Pearl and had a fantastic time with my husband.The rooftop terrace was superb to soak up atmosphere and view the city and Atlas mountains. The staff were incredibly helpful with good recommendations of places to visit and eat. Only a 15 minute walk to the main square by nice gardens. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 600Travellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I stayed at The Pearl in Marrakech for 5 nights returning to the UK on 20th March 14. This was our first time in Marrakech and one of the main reasons we picked this hotel was the rooftop terrace and pool. Hotel is in the upmarket area of Hivernage and is a 10 minute easy walk to the main market square of Place Djemaa de Fnaa which is a must see for tourists and the souks are located off this main square.

Hotel is clean, bellboys are very welcoming and will help you with anything and make great recommendations for eating outside the hotel and will book this for you. Rooms are spacious, and decorated in a traditional Moroccan theme which can be quite dark but you soon get used to it. Rooms can be quite noisy though due to thin bedroom walls. Breakfast is buffet style and has lots of choice but lunch options in the hotel are quite limited either having sushi round the pool (which is delicious but quite expensive for lunch) or in the cafe downstairs on the outside of the hotel which serves pizza and sandwiches. The Japanese restaurant for dinner though is excellent.

Pool on the rooftop is lovely and has a great view over the old city of Marrakech, there are mainly beds for sunbathing and only a small number of traditional sun beds but there are lots of umbrellas. Spa is excellent, very modern feel with a relaxing calm vibe to it. We did have a few communication issues in the hotel with most of the staff only speaking French and understanding very minimal English but they are all welcoming.

I would recommend La Fassia for a traditional Moroccan dinner, 10 minutes away in a taxi, and Cafe Arabe which is near the main market square. There is a restaurant next door to the hotel called Palais Jad Mahal, food is below average and pricey but there is a traditional belly dancing show which is very entertaining and they have a live band aswell which are good.

Overall I would recommend the Pearl for a relaxing holiday which is in a great location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I will try to unbiased with this review, and show my real experience in detail and let you decide if you want to try staying here or not.

I booked with my wife 14 nights in this hotel. She is Moroccan, from Marrakech, and we were visiting her family. Having a long stay, with lots of baggage, I booked an executive suite.
Upon reaching our suite, the door separating the bedroom from the living room was jammed. It took us an hour to have the maintenance personnel fix it. We asked for an iron and an iron board. The iron was broken, the iron board did not have a cover, it was all metal with big holes. We had to ask for a replacement.

The bathroom towels had stains, visible stains, so did the bed sheets. Some of the side lamps did not work. Signs of poor maintenance.

Throughout our stay, we ordered breakfast several times in the room. Being early birds, we like to have breakfast very early in the morning. The order usually comes wrong, cappuccino is replaced with hot chocolates, omelets with fruit, etc. The guy who takes the order doesn’t understand French, nor English, and hardly any Arabic.

Hanging the breakfast card on the door doesn’t work. We hanged one at 10 PM, only to find it on the door knob at 8 AM not picked up. Breakfast downstairs will not be ready before 7:30. Selection is repetitive, poor and tasteless.

The bedroom is tiny, open area with the bathroom. Using it was embarrassing, as I had to go to the living room and close the door if my wife needed to use it, and she did the same when I used it. The living room has weird proportions. The balcony overlooks the roof of some nightclub, expect some noise at night. Do not open the balcony in the evening. They burn some kind of wood and the smoke will fill in the room with stinky smell.

Concierge, got the dinner reservation wrong for the only time we asked for assistance. I don’t blame him as he was the only concierge working.

Housekeeping forgets the cleaning cloth on the bed. Expect to see a lot on that front.
In the spa, my wife was having a pedicure, the staff told my wife that she is in a relation with a guy, and she went and kissed him in a hotel, and was wondering if she should do more. Very unprofessional.

Bellboy helped with opening the car door once, gave him 10 dirham, he made fun of it and didn’t like it.

The worst experience is this: the hotels laws in Marrakech doesn’t allow Moroccan woman to accompany men without a marriage certificate. One morning, at 5:30 AM, we heard loud music coming from the suite next to us. Upon complaining, the reception guy with the name of Bader told my wife it’s not your job to tell me what to do, and they are pain guests so they can do what they want. He even told her come down and see their paperwork, and who are you to complain and had a huge fight with her. Client service at its worst.

I went down to resolve the problem, only to see a number of drunk women and men entering the suite for an after party, and a trolley full of food and drinks being delivered to them. I asked for my bill, and wanted to leave the hotel to my usual Sofitel next door. At that time, the reception guy ended his shift and replaced with someone else. Bader told the new guy, Sufian, that this guest wants to leave, and looked at me and said go have your breakfast and calm down. Again terrible customer service. Sufian however was gentle and attentive and told me to calm down, he will talk to them and resolve the problem and will send the manager to my room at 10 AM. I told him everything we experienced.

In the evening, we found a basket of fruit, sweets, and bottles of water with an apology card from the manager. He also gave me a call to apologize. For us, we really didn’t care anymore. We hated the place anyways, and will never come back again.
The hotel décor and style is amazing, very comfortable, could be a real hit, but it misses the flare and personal touch. The inattentive staff, slow service, cleanliness issues, terrible and bad customer service, and broken rules made it one of the worst stays in a hotel for us.

Maybe 14 nights made us see a lot, maybe its our bad luck. We really thought it would be a great hotel but they didn’t give us the chance to love it. If you want to stay there then it’s up to you.

Take my advice and stay next door in the more professional and best service available, Sofitel.

Room Tip: Our suite was 205.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Aldarmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
#211 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
0.2 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.2 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dar Rhizlane
Dar Rhizlane
#109 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Marrakech

Property: The Pearl Marrakech
Address: Angle Avenue Echouhada Et Rue des Temples | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Delano Marrakech)
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pearl Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of a vibrant and magical city, The Pearl Marrakech exudes the mystery and exoticism of another world. This is the ultimate escape, a cool haven of discovery and pleasure. Whether seeking an engaging nightlife scene, renowned fine dining or a day of spa relaxation, The Pearl Marrakech is a luxurious experience, evoking a sophisticated, chic ambiance with discreet and effortless service. Designed by the acclaimed Jacques Garcia, its opulent interior blends precious marbles with sumptuous velvet and other rare textiles, creating an intimate atmosphere with a modern edge. Ceilings in the lobby are hand-carved wood, and a central rotunda is surrounded by an intricately patterned Moroccan design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pearl Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing