We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot recommend highly enough!!”
Review of Riad Selouane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Selouane
Ranked #505 of 1,167 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We would definitely recommend this Riad if your staying in Marrakech!!!! We booked a transfer through the Riad from the Airport to the Medina and would definitely recommend doing so. We stayed 4 nights and 5 days, February 2014.

After being collected from the airport we were dropped off at the top of the road close to the Riad, from there you have to walk about 200 meters to the Riad as cars are not allowed down the road. We had a friendly porter who helped us with our luggage from the car to the Riad.

After a turn down a small alley we were brought to a non conspicuous wooden door but once through, you arrive in what i can only describe as a beautiful, sumptuous oasis of calm! A beautifully decorated courtyard welcomes you on arrival along with the Riad Manager (sorry i cant remember his name) who greeted us very warmly and brought us some refreshing moroccan tea. The courtyard was filled with palm trees and plants and had a beautiful pool in one of the arches. The ground floor rooms consist of a large sitting room with plenty of sofas and chairs, a dining room, kitchen and two sets of stairs which lead you to the rooms on the first floor.

The room we stayed in overlooked the courtyard and was beautiful and quite large. The bed was comfortable for us, although i can see that some may find the mattress alittle hard but we slept very comfortably. The bathroom was of a large size and had a step in shower with no doors and a french style set up (i.e hand held shower head).

One of our favourite parts of the Riad was the roof terrace, we spent many an hour soaking up the warm sunshine amongst the palm trees and plants gently blowing in the breeze and relaxing on many of the sofas and sunlougers located there.

The breakfast was delicious, an array of traditional moroccan breads, pancakes, cake, yogurt, fresh fruit and coffee. Definitely a great start to the day!

The Riad Manager was amazing, he was so lovely and was very helpful in providing suggestions of places to eat and visit. Although we had booked excursions separately before we arrived (Ourika Valley and Quad biking, both highly recommended) he was happy to arrange day trips and spas. Nothing was too much. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

In terms of Marrakech itself, do go and wander the souks, they are an amazing labyrinth of colours, sights and smells. The people are very friendly and sometimes do try and get you to go into there shop but aslong as your firm and say no then they dont bother you. I was expecting it to be worst but it was fine and i didnt feel threatened at all, quite the opposite actually! It was amazing to browse the stores and see the wonderful array of trinkets, metal lamps, silk scarves, babouches that were on display.

The main square (Jemaa El Fna) is about a 10 min walk through the souks, but once you know your way its very easy. There are maps at the Riad, which show the route in blue so you cant really get too lost.

If your expecting a beer or a glass of wine with your meal, then we suggest exploring the New Town. Alcohol is not widely served in the Medina although there are a couple of restaurants that are tucked away that do serve alcohol but most dont. We had a lovely valentines meal at Cafe Arabe (which is just around the corner from the Riad) and tried some moroccan wine which was surprisingly very nice.

All in all we had an amazing trip and would definitely recommend Riad Selouane to stay in.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Seremie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

Definitely recommend this place if you are staying in Marrakesh. Great room & location. The only thing that was quite difficult was finding it when we arrived as it was night time & there are not any street signs. But after we found it it was very easy getting around. The breakfast was great & super service, everyone was very friendly.

Room Tip: Think they are all fairly quiet rooms, great interior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ElinB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

After going through a little maze in the Medina, we found our riad. We found that, as most Moroccan architecture, the exterior of a building is a whole different story from what you can find inside. Location is great, we were inside the Medina within easy reach of the taxis and close&far enough from the market shops. A small cozy hotel, with some minor details (water heater kept going off, AC unit wasn't working the first night) that all of them were taken care of by the hotel staff very quickly. Breakfast was basic but delicious and prepared whenever we needed depending on our tour schedulles. I definitelly reccomend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiviMX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed at the Riad for 4 nights and absolutely loved it.The service was great and staff were welcoming and helpful.We were in a group therefore had the whole Riad to ourselves! We were provided with early breakfast almost everyday as we needed to leave early for our day trips and the staff were fine with that.The breakfast is great and the homemade yoghurt is to die for !The last day we also asked them to arrange a dinner for all of us and it was so well organised and food was excellent.They also provided us with tea and coffee whenever we needed (At an extra cost) .Absolutely gorgeous deco throughout and the bedrooms were very tastefully decorated-The lighting especially is beautiful! The location is safe and surprisingly quite and not very far from the souks and Djemma el-fna (About 10 minutes).The riad arranged for pick up from the airport when we arrived.There are some lovely restaurants nearby-Cafe souk is a great one and is round the corner.Good signal for wi-fi . One of our friends wanted to buy the traditional tea pot and the staff promptly accompanied them to a good shop in the souk.They were ver willing to help with giving directions.Totally recommend this riad and would definitely come back.

Room Tip: One of the rooms are slightly smaller however it is specifically mentioned in the website.We were in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We checked into the Riad on a late friday night. From the reviews that my husband and I had read, we knew that its location was good, but not the best, considering that it is a solid ten minute walk to the big square.
We were welcomed with green tea, as is the moroccan custom. The staff of the riad was excellent, they went the extra mile to please our requests, including serving an early breakfast for us the day we left (6am). We were glad to stayed in a clean and beautiful place. The room was nicely decorated, but they could imprved the bed, which was very hard.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMarLag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in winter. The service was excellent, constantly attentive and very friendly and the rooms were excellent.. There was heating in the room, the bed very comfortable, the bathroom and shower excellent, good wifi signal and the lights were very cool and gave the room a very relaxing feel. The breakfast was above average and tasty and overall the value and price was exceptional (booked through airbnb). I would definetely recommend this place!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vally87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Fred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#9 of 501 in Marrakech
1,011 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#8 of 501 in Marrakech
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Jardins de Mouassine
Les Jardins de Mouassine
#371 of 1,167 in Marrakech
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 501 in Marrakech
1,279 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
2.5 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#204 of 501 in Marrakech
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Selouane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Selouane

Address: 6 Derb Tizougarine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #505 of 1,167 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £54 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Selouane 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Selouane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing