We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Gem!”
Review of Riad Abaca Badra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Abaca Badra
Ranked #5 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The riad is situated conveniently and within walking distance of the famous souks, all of the old town (Madina) and attractions in the new town.

Our host, Gilles, welcomed us and made us feel right at home. The riad is lovely and our room felt homely and comfortable. Gilles was very helpful and friendly and advised us and organised taxis when we asked. He even booked our spa visit for us. On the first night we were invited to eat with the rest of the guests and the meal was absolutely delicious, so much so that we ate there on two further evenings. All in all an ideal setting for a wonderful holiday.

Gilles sorted out a taxi for the day and we visited the foothills of the Atlas mountains. This is well worth doing. The driver was very knowledgeable on all things Moroccan. Gilles also sorted out a city guide for our first morning which was invaluable in getting our bearings and experiencing in safety the street scene. Once we were orientated we felt safe and confident in walking around any place day and night.

The food! Well, simply gorgeous and plentiful. Evening meals at the Riad were home cooked and was by far the best food we had while in Marrakech.

Just prior to our visit I had read a poor review on here and was very dubious despite the mass of excellent reviews saying otherwise. If you read this review simply ignore it. The person writing it either has an agenda or is not cut out for non international hotel standard type accommodation.

The beds were very comfortable, the Riad was easy to find, down a well lit road (ally) which was not a dead end! In fact at what looked like the end was a small Mosque. There is no need for a front door key as Gilles will open it up any time of the day or night in just a few moments.

We had a brilliant 5 days in Marrakech. Gilles and the Riad made a home from home for our stay.

I can only echo all the good things that other reviewers have said.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bigglesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
There are newer reviews for Riad Abaca Badra
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

We received such a warm welcome, were told everything we needed to know - great advice from Gilles and Dominique who are so friendly and helpful. The Riad is comfortable and cosy and our first floor rooms were spacious, it has a real family feel to it. I do not think you could ask for more as nothing is too much trouble. The rooftop terrace is amazing as is the food, both the evening meal and the breakfasts, with everything cooked to order. We were so well looked after from the moment our taxi driver greeted us at the airport until the time we returned. Would definitely recommend this Riad although I would suggest you look carefully at the map and keep your wits about you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison_rigby4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed for four nights in Marrakech in February and Dominique organised a private taxi to pick us up from the airport which was very hassle free in itself...(in fact the driver was so nice and informative we arranged for him to take us to the Atlas Mountains the next day!). We had dinner in the Riad on our first night (so that we could settle in and get our bearings) which was absolutely delicious...in fact probably one of the better cous cous dishes we had!. Dominique and Gilles were perfect hosts, polite and very helpful whenever we needed direction. Breakfast each day was amazing (especially Dominiques homemade strawberry jam) and the room we stayed in was very spacious and extremely comfortable. Couldn't have asked for a better location - only a 15 minute walk to the main square and less than 5 mins to the start of the Souks... Have already recommended this Riad to everyone I know.... and I know I will be back again!!

Room Tip: Stayed in the Fez room and it was perfect :)
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Wow! An oasis of calm away from the hubbub of the souks and busy Marrakech streets. Gilles and Dominique are the perfect hosts, providing tea and nibbles like magic, offering advice yet are discrete when you want peace and quiet. Our room was comfortable and such good value for money. The riad itself is in a brilliant spot for exploring, after a day we had roughly got our bearings....we did find that the maps we had did not give the same information, so we had to rely a fair bit on our own bearings... breadcrumbs or a very long piece of thread would be helpful on your first foray from the riad! Always cover up ladies, and walk purposefully if you want to avoid persistent sellers, and a tip from a local hotel owner is to say "la saffy" which Dominique informs us means 'that's the end'....I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank ktcottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just returned from a wonderful four days in Marrakech staying with Gilles and Dominique. I have travelled to many glossy parts of the world and was a bit worried about the reviews of Marrakech, the beggars, the hawkers, etc. well let me put your mind at rest. Yes you get bothered about every 10 minutes whilst walking around, but a firm no and a flat hand sign sends them away. This is a small price to pay for the colour, excitement, adventure and hospitality offered by this beautiful place. The traffic is hilarious, knowing the green cross code is essential. We knew exactly where to visit, how to do it, what to take and how to get the best from our day....why? Not because we are travel experts, in fact I'm a bit of a nervous tourist. It was because we stayed at this beautiful Riad. Dominique was so helpful and if ever we wanted to do something, she offered to help, anytime of the day. The souks are a maze, she took us through some souks to the cashpoint, then explained the easy way back. She helped us make reservations at a very good restaurant nearby, she helped me bargain at a local leather stall and saved me quite a bit of money, she booked our taxis, she cooked us breakfast, sorted out a welcome dinner, advised on currency, maps, tourist places, what to see etc. in four days we did soooooo much. I don't think we would have got that sort of attention from some all singing, all dancing expensive hotel that doesn't give you the real Marrakech. All for about £35 a night for two with breakfast. At no time did I feel threatened or pressured. The Riad is so peaceful that you could quite easily spend your entire holiday sat on the roof terrace listening to prayers being chanted from the local mosques. Thank you Dominique and Gilles for a lovely break. We will be back....

Room Tip: Take a room on the first floor.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The Bad: We're extremely disappointed by the scores of positive reviews; we had a very bad experience. The Riad is down a dead end alley, very scary to walk down the small dark alley looking lost, it attracts many guys wanting to help with directions in return for payment. We explicitly asked Gilles in advance for one large bed, but got two small very uncomfortable beds pushed together. It was more like two hammocks than beds, all hollow in the middle. The fluorescent light in the room malfunctioned and was flashing like lightning every few seconds the whole night, we couldn't make it stop. The room has no glass in the windows, the big square openings face the courtyard and common area, there is absolutely no privacy, we could hear everything from the other guests and they could hear inside our room. The room was very cold, and the air conditioning couldn't warm it even at max heat. I could not get any sleep the whole night. The room price is very expensive, and their €2.50 tourist tax is the most in the city. Guests don't get a key for the front door, you always have to knock and wait for someone to let you in. The shower is very small and has no curtain or door, so the water sprays on the bathroom floor. We paid more than double the price of other places, because we wanted a good experience for our last night in Morocco, but it was a disaster. They don't even accept credit cards. I recommend staying at Dar Aby for less than half the price.

The Good: The rooftop is nice with sunbeds. The hosts Dominique and Gilles were very kind and funny, we enjoyed their company. The breakfast was good. Dominique helped us bargaining for good prices for souvenirs in the market.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelinPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles P, Propriétaire at Riad Abaca Badra, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to post your comment. We're sorry you had a bad experience with us, very short stay , indee you stayed only for one night and I think the tireness of the journey is for many. In your comment you find that our riad is not well located and many children have bothered you on the way between the car park and the riad. Further to your request we sent you a plan where we advised you a parking within 3 minutes walk and you chose to park in the new city located to more than 20 minutes walk, so you had to find your way, consequently the children's solicitation. If you had parked in the car park we had advised you , you would have been brought to us without any problem , we are known by the guards.
On the other hand, the alley where we are is not at the end of a dead end , we are located less than 50 meters from the Bab Doukkala , whose you can see travellers' pictures.
Contrary to what you say , it is not dark , it is lit all night and the 2 shops at the corner of this street are open very late ( 1am ) and very early in the morning ( 5:30 ) !
Regarding the bedding, we have many requests for twin beds and this is the first time th at we got a blame as we put them together. As you did not complain about that during your stay, we could not guess that you were unhappy with the layout. Further to your comment, we asked to the next customers if they slept well and they informed us that they had slept well.
In many riad which wanted to preserve the traditional side , there is no glass in the windows, but there are shutters as in our riad. We wanted to preserve the architecture and facilities of traditional riads to enable our customers to be in tune with the country and its traditions , knowing that they choose our accomodation rather than the large hotels in the palm grove.
You reproach of having been cold but all our rooms are equipped with reversible air conditioning and when a customer finds it 's cold, it is often due to improper use of the remote control and when we are informed that you have trouble using the system, we come directly to help you out. Furthermore, you complained that you did not sleep at all because of the cold but you had at your disposal an electric heater and an extra blanket in the closet .
As in many riad , the key of the front door is not provided for regulatory and safety reasons , there is always someone in the riad and we open the door very quickly.
Regarding the shower, the shower tray is 70x70 , which is rather large and indeed there is no curtain , but you 're in a bathroom that is more than 10 m² and fully made ​​tadelakt, a curtain would be ridiculous !
Indeed, we do not accept credit cards because here the commission rate is very important , we inform our customers either on the reservation site that you used or in the confirmation email we send systematically .
We find cavalier that you promote another riad in your comment, riad which has, by the way rather few comments.

You were disappointed, we are sorry, but this does not reflect at all the feeling of our other clients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We have just returned from 3 nights at Abaca Badra, and already want to go back! Everything about the Riad is fantastic! Gilles and Dominique are wonderful hosts, very welcoming and hospitable. The food is excellent, and the bed comfy! I would highly recommend this riad!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9LCD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 502 in Marrakech
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#10 of 502 in Marrakech
1,004 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#3 of 1,160 in Marrakech
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#16 of 1,160 in Marrakech
560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Mo'da
Dar Mo'da
#2 of 1,160 in Marrakech
439 reviews
0.8 mi away
Andalla Riad & Spa
Andalla Riad & Spa
#7 of 1,160 in Marrakech
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Abaca Badra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Abaca Badra

Address: 203 Arset Azoual | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £47 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Abaca Badra 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad has 5 rooms for 2 to 4 people, they are air conditioned. They all feature a sitting area, a private bathroom, storage cabinets, a safe. Towels, hair dryer, shower gel, shampoo and body lotion are available to you. The wi-fi is available throughout the riad and a computer station is available. The riad owners resident on site, they can help you in the choice of sightseeing or activities: excursions, sport and physical activities, exploring Marrakech ... All these activities have been tested and validated by your hosts. We strive for here, you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Abaca Badra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing