We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sahara Palace Marrakech
Ranked #268 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“absolutely amazing”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I've just come back from 8 days Trips to Marrakech (first time). Every thing went verry well. We picked from the airport & were really impressed with entry to the hotel. Were welcomed by iced tea in the hotel's magnificent beautiful lounge. I usually don't drink tea but this one I acceppted it away. Escorted to our room and WOW........beautifully decorated large room, walkin dressing room with big bathroom one side & seperate shower room the other side. All praise for the room. Coffee machine & a kettle for tea,
black coffee but my husband had to drink black tea. Iwe did'nt bother with milk for our rest of the stay. Indian restaurant at the hotel, food wz really tastey but not much choice. Swimming pool wz large but not open as cleaning in process. Managed to get time to pay a visit to the spa & it wz lovely. All in all ENJOYED THE STAY AT THE TAJ PALACE MARRAKECH. only down side wz, away from the city. finnally all was great and lovely. thank you very much Trek in Atlas .co.uk for your help and great service bokking you gaved us.we really want to com back and sty for longer time up oin the atlas mountains as we had spand enaugh time this holiday in Marrakech and we well never forget about it

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TajPalaceMarrakech, Guest Relations Manager at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Ms. Catherine,

Warm greetings from Taj Palace Marrakech, and thank you for sharing your lovely comments about your stay with us.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the room and your visit to Morocco, and do hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Angela Mcguire
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    43
    19
    10
    12
See reviews for
51
116
7
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful time here during the new year holidays. The hotel is beautifully designed by Stuart Church and all aspects of it are in elegant proportion to each other. It is opulent and grand without being vulgar. I hope it is well maintained to have the desired impact.

We had some room and service issues but management was determined to ensure we did not remain dissatisfied. The management effort was genuine and sincere which was refreshing.

I have to mention a couple of people that were very helpful over and above what was expected. I hope their attitude serves as an example to rest. These were Adil at concierge, and Mezan at the restaurants.
I would also definitely recommend the Hammam experience here. The staff were skilful and helpful.

One thing, which I hope something can be done about it, was that the kitchen and food smell floods the main corridors during the day which is not pleasant or classy.

Overall a great relaxing place that I would come back to, as management seems determined to make it better.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Faran69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TajPalaceMarrakech, Public Relations Manager at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Mr. Farhan,

Thank you for sharing your review about your recent stay at Taj Palace Marrakech.

We are delighted that your family enjoyed your New Year's break, and I will pass along your words of appreciation to Adil, Mezan and the Spa team. Thank you for your honest and constructive feedback; we will certainly endeavour to improve upon the points you mentioned.

Wishing you a happy New Year, and hopefully we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Angela McGuire
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairn
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This was a superb hotel but as other comments state , dinner expensive,no coffee shop,and the hotel was empty apart from 2/3 other parties. We were also upgraded to a suite in the main building I think due to the numerous other rooms being shut down and the room was lovely, and the staff could not be faulted.

Room Tip: Try for the suite upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave1945Nairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TajPalaceMarrakech, Guest Relations Manager at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Mr. Dave,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Taj Palace Marrakech, and for sharing your review on Trip Advisor.

We are so happy to hear that you appreciated our lovely staff and the upgrade to the suite. The fireplaces in the suites are simply devine in these cool winter months! I am sorry that we somehow did not show you our Bombay Club, from where we serve lunch, drinks, tea and coffee, etc. through out the day.

On behalf of the entire team, we wish you a Happy New Year, and look forward tko welcoming you back to Taj Palace Marrakech.

Kind regards,

Angela McGuire
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairn, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed for a 5 night stay here. We were upgraded to a suite which was beautiful. Breakfast was very good..just ask for what you want. The dinners available in November when we stayed were limited and expensive, but very good. No coffee shop open or even a light bite menu at lunch that we could find.. The staff were very attentive, but didn't have too much to do, which was a shame..It was a 25-30 mins ride into town by shuttle 4 times per day which was great. Good luck to the Taj and many thanks for the upgrade...you have fabulous rooms and pool and surrounds

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank st59scs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TajPalaceMarrakech, Guest Relations Manager at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Taj Palace Marrakech!

We are glad that you enjoyed the suite upgrade and found our staff to be helpful and attentive. Our Bombay Club is open throughout the day serving drinks, lunch, tea and coffee, etc. in the veranda and gardens. Perhaps we did not advise you of this location, for which I truly apologize.

We wish you a happy and prosperous New Year 2014, and hope that we may welcome you back to Taj Palace Marrakech again.

Kind regards,

Angela McGuire
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located outside Marrakech, approximately 20 minutes from the city center.

We arrived at night, and the entrance lighted was impressive.

After a smooth and friendly check in, we were escorted to a beautiful suite in one of the outdoor pavillon.
The room was well decorated, however the bathroom lacks of privacy.

The Indian restaurant was very good, the food tasty and not too spicy, the service perfect !

Overall a good experience.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank G974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TajPalaceMarrakech, Guest Relations Manager at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us, and I would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to note your impressions of Taj Palace Marrakech.

I am pleased that you appreciated the arrival experience, your suite and the food and service in our Mantra restaurant. Thank you for your feedback about privacy in the bathroom: due to your remarks, we are currently working to improve this point.

We hope to welcome you back to Taj Palace Marrakech again soon.

Kind regards,

Angela McGuire
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed here in August. The hotel was barely occupied. Whilst most staff are friendly, they could not get the basics right. Room cleanliness was not great, breakfast was always an issue being vegetarian and service could be slow. The concierge Adil was fantastic. We would go again but hopefully when they are a little more 'together' with their services.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kam010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TajPalaceMarrakech, Guest Relations Manager at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Ms. Kam,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay with us at Taj Palace Marrakech in August.

I will share your praise about Adil, our Concierge with him, and I am sure he will most appreciative that you enjoyed and recognized his efforts. Thank you also for your comments about our rooms, service and breakfast. You will be pleased to know that we are working to improve and extend our vegetarian options, and hope that you might return in the future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at angela.mcguire@tajhotels.com if you would like to discuss your feedback in further detail.

Kind regards,

Angela McGuire
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We have been very fortunate this year to have stayed in some of the most beautiful Taj Hotels and Palaces in India. The most excellent in every way was the Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur, the Taj Lake Palace, Udaipur, the Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai and Rambagh Palace, Jaipur to name but a few! Now the Taj Palace in Marrakech would to most people be absolutely perfect and probably the best they have ever stayed in. However as we have stayed in the sister hotels in India we found it was just slightly not quite as perfect! We cannot fault the food or service in the Mantra Asian restaurant - we ate there twice and it was superb! The staff are also very helpful and friendly. The Concierge too was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. We booked a private day trip to the Atlas Mountains with lunch at Richard Branson's Kasbah Tamadot (see separate review) and the trip was very reasonable! A slight gripe is that the rooms are a little tired and worn in places and the cleaners don't do the best cleaning!! Otherwise we had a lovely stay and would recommend this hotel to friends and family!

Room Tip: We first had a Riad room and then we moved to Room 501 in the main Palace - we preferred it to the R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimT755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TajPalaceMarrakech, Guest Relations Manager at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Ms. Kim,

Thank you for staying with us at Taj Palace Marrakech, and for sharing your experiences via Trip Advisor. As a loyal Taj guest, we are delighted you decided to visit our property, the first Palace in the chain outside of India.

We are glad that you enjoyed the food and service in the Mantra restaurant, and that our Concierge was able to make your stay a memorable one. Thank you also for your remarks about our rooms. Your comments are invaluable, as they help us to achieve our objectives of meeting and exceeding your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back to Taj Palace Marrakech in the near future.

Kind regards,

Angela McGuire
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Palais Namaskar
Palais Namaskar
#73 of 499 in Marrakech
516 reviews
10.3 mi away
Selman Marrakech
Selman Marrakech
#44 of 499 in Marrakech
394 reviews
8.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ksar Char-Bagh
Ksar Char-Bagh
#99 of 499 in Marrakech
204 reviews
4.8 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#13 of 499 in Marrakech
939 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Marrakech
Mandarin Oriental, Marrakech
#63 of 499 in Marrakech
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahara Palace Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahara Palace Marrakech

Property: Sahara Palace Marrakech
Address: P.O Box 12440 | Annakhil, Palmeraie, Marrakech 40016, Morocco (Formerly Blue Diamond Sahara Palace Marrakech)
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Hotel Class:5 star — Sahara Palace Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled between the soothing Palmeraie landscape of palm and olive trees and the awe-inspiring Atlas Mountains, Sahara Palace Marrakech has been meticulously crafted with a vivid blend of Moroccan, Indian and Moorish themes that unfold from a magnificent Palace block to the four exclusive and expansive Riads. With its five glorious alabaster-white domes resting atop the luxuriant main building, the Sahara Palace Marrakech is regal and resplendent in this breathtaking Moroccan landscape. The hotel unfolds like a beautiful painting from galleries of hand painted frescoed wood ceilings and ornaments, restaurants of rich colours and texture, to the serenity and calmness of the Marie Iod Spa. The high vaulted lobby, highlighted by a sparkling 22 meter chandelier centerpiece and three kilometers of gold leaf adorning various ceilings, cornices, furniture and ornaments, makes this a truly royal experience. This palatial desert oasis features 161 well-appointed, spacious guest rooms, including 25 luxurious suites, spread between the magnificent main Palace and four exclusive Riads. All rooms and suites enjoy stunning views over the Atlas Mountains, the Palmeraie desert landscape or the calming pool and gardens. Our celebrated chefs have gathered the finest ingredients that span the Moroccan, Mediterranean and Indian in one unique destination. Our guests can wine and dine in some of the most stylish and charismatic restaurants and bars in Marrakech, whilst the warm and welcoming service makes every moment memorable. The hotel houses the renowned Marie Iod Spa spread across 3,800 square meters with 14 treatment rooms & two extensive hammams in line with the Moroccan tradition. The spa experience includes dedicated massage therapies, signature Moroccan experiences, personalized coaching services and a full range of esthetic treatments. The Yoga Temple further enhances the overall experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sahara Palace Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing