We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tripadvisor gets it right.... again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Matham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Matham
Ranked #28 of 1,130 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tripadvisor gets it right.... again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

My faith in tripadvisor is always reaffirmed when I stay somewhere like Riad Matham. Myself and my partner satyed for 3 nights towards the end of January and found the Riad to be a haven of tranquility away from the busy streets and alleys of the city. First impressions were excellent and every day made us realise how lucky we were to have such a relaxing place to come back to after hours spent exploring the Souks and local gardens.
We took the owner up on his offer to arrange a taxi from the airport on arrival and were glad we did. Thierry met us off the taxi and walked us the short distance to the Riad. It took us a day or two to learn our way around the central Medina and we wouldn't have stood a chance finding Matham otherwise. The meal which we had booked on the first evening was also some of the best food we ate during our entire 8 day visit to Morocco. Breakfasts were excellent and plentiful, meaning that a coffee/tea and pastries would keep us going until an evening meal.
I won't talk too much about the rooms, suffice to say I don't think that even the beautiful photo's here do it justice.
The Riad is a 10 minute walk almost due north of the main food/market square in the city, however I would urge any visitors to explore the streets to the south and east of the square, towards the Mellah district, as they also contain great opportunities for shopping. The Riad is also in an excellent location to explore some of the museums and the tanneries.

Merci beaucoup Thierry and all your staff for making us feel so welcome and at ease.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    42
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
151
273
22
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Just got back from a four day stay in the beautiful Riad Matham got picked up at the airport which i would highly recommend . Thierry met the taxi and escorted us through the maze of alleyways to his fantastic Riad . As soon as you walk through the front door you know your in for something special everything is so tastefully finished and our room was just beautiful . We arrived about eight oclock in the evening and had pre ordered a meal cooked by the charming Fattima .The roof terrace gives fantastic views across the madness that is Marrakech .Thierry is very helpful with recommending restaurants and places of interest to visit and nothing is to much trouble for him and his team cant fault a single thing about this Riad its simply beautiful.

Room Tip: All rooms are great .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOSE58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed for 4 days at Riad Matham. We had a pick up service at the airport (totally recommend it since it is hard to find the riad because of the small streets in Marrakech). Therry helped us in every request we had (map and explanations, tours, hamman, massage, bargaining at the market, etc.). The food is really great at the Riad ,totally recommend it.. we had breakfast everyday and the dinner is totally worth it at the hotel. The room is really clean, spacious and nice. We had a hamman and massage at the riad, and was the best I´ve ever had. The hotel is totally refurbished (new installations) and very cozy. Totally would recommend to stay at the riad, have dinner at least one day there and a hamman / massage. It is 5 min walk to the market and like 15 /20 min walk to Plaza Jemaa El Fna.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Riad Matham was the perfect place to relax after a day haggling in the souks. Thierry and the staff at the riad were great.

From the breakfast in the morning in picturesque surroundings to the open fire and fantastic food served at dinner. It was so good in fact we didn't eat in any other restaurants!

The view from the terrace is a panoramic beauty, the weather wasn't great when we were there but I can picture many a morning spent watching the world from up there!

Our room and the entire riad was tastefully decorated, with a romantic feel and you can tell lots of love and effort has gone into the design of the place.

I can also recommend the hammam and massage in the clocktower, Jamelia was a fantastic masseuse and there is nothing better than taking a short stroll and having a snooze right after!

All in all Riad Matham was fantastic and we would return in a heartbeat!

Daniella & Ryan

Room Tip: Don't bother with La Foundouk! Eat at the Riad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Thierry and the team made us feel very welcome. We accepted the offer for the taxi from the airport and he came to meet us from the drop off point, which was good as it was our first time in Marrakech. The riad is very stylish and relaxing to be in after walking through the souks. The food is fantastic too, better than some of the food available in surrounding restaurants plus you can enjoy wine by the fire in the evening. Also we used the hammam and had a massage too. All in all a lovely place to stay, highly recommended. Thank you for looking after us.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank beccy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Thierry and his team were simply fantastic ! Very helpfull and friendly. We had once dinner close to the fireplace. Very good food and very romatic (we enjoyed it more than our dinner in the famous restaurant "Le Foundouk" which is close to the Riad).The sunroof is awesome. We loved the continental breakfast with fresh orange juice, fruits, marrocean pancakes, crispy toasts and a lot of different jams. Of course be aware that this Riad is in the middle of Medina. The first time you certainly will not find it without help. So ask Thierry to send a taxi to the airport, otherwise you will have quite a adventure to get eventually there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Magnificent riad, very relaxing atmosphere, great location, great staff and excellent food of Fatima. The terrace is one of the highest in Marrakech and offers a spectacular view.
A true oasis in the city. A place to return.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MG_ita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar-K
Riad Dar-K
#10 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#12 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Anabel
Riad Anabel
#18 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Tizwa
Riad Tizwa
#164 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Samsara
Riad Samsara
#25 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#4 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Matham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Matham

Property: Riad Matham
Address: 2 Derb Sidi Ahmed Ben Naceur | quartier Kaat ben Nahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 1,130 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matham Riad is an old mansion of the sixteenth century located in the historic district of the medina of Marrakech, close to the souks and the main museums of the city and 8 minutes walk from Jemaa El Fna.Discover terrace and climb the tower you can admire certainly the most beautiful view of the medina and the calls of the muezzin at duskYou will also enjoy our Moroccan cuisine.Riad Matham offers body treatments and relaxation with its traditional hammam and swimming pool where you can relax on the way to walk in the souks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Matham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing