We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”
Review of Riad Matham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Matham
Ranked #30 of 1,146 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I really can not add anything more to reviews already written other to reiterate how wonderful everything about this Riad is. We were a family of 5 with 3 young adults we all had a great experience.The rooms are so tastefully furnished and the old character shines through. Everywhere was spotlessly clean ( one of the things we were worried about!). The personal service really sets this apart from others - Thierry is so helpful and pleasant, nothing is too much trouble. He arranged a guide on the morning when the one we had booked (from trip advisor) did n't turn up and arranged cooked lunch to have at the Riad on the day of our departure, when we only asked if this was possible after breakfast that day. The food, as others have said is not to be missed - we had dinner on our first evening and it was cooked just for us, like having a personal chef. 4 of us had the Hamman with Fatima which was great. We ended most days with a beer and drinks on the roof top which they were very happy to serve.

I would not hesitate to recommend Riad Matham to others, we hope to return sometime.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACParker50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    42
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
156
288
23
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Loved this Riad! Our room, Mérinide, was really super with its impeccable minimalist/ethnic decor (brightly coloured skeins of wool providing a focal point above the bed, huge old wooden doors, stained glass windows etc). The bathroom had an Olympic sized tadelakt bath/shower. Photos just do not do the rooms justice! The public areas of the Riad were equally lovely and tasteful and include a small plunge pool and 2 roaming turtles. Breakfast and sunset views from the terrace and viewing tower are just beautiful. Thierry, the owner of the Riad, finds just the right balance between friendly and allowing guests privacy. He arranged our transfers to the Riad and the airport and both were somewhat problematic (the arrangements need to be clearer) but this is not a fault with the Riad. The staff: Fati, Fatima and Hadija were charming. Hadija is an excellent cook and prepared a delicious, candle-lit dinner for us in the courtyard. Thank you Riad Matham!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rimpsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was the perfect place to stay on my first visit to Marrakech. The Riad has a cool courtyard with a plunge pool and Palm trees, and each room is beautifully decorated with its own character.

Thierry, the owner, and his team were great. We were a party of 8 and Thierry was always on hand to offer help, advice and maps to help us navigate our way to the souks and back. He organised taxis transfers to and from the airport and the Jardin Marjorelle. As well as arranging for 8 of us to have a spa hammam at Bain Bleu which I would thoroughly recommend.

Breakfast was always plentiful and after a long day of bartering at the souk it was great to come back to the tranquility of the Riad and enjoy and glass or 2 of wine on the roof terrace.

Marrakech and the riad was the perfect location for our girls weekend away but I would definitely return for a family holiday here with my boys.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper then chose a room on the first floor and don't forget that there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HemM01968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I booked this riad for me and my girlfriend after a camping trip to the desert as I wanted something a bit special for us to come back to and we were not disappointed, it was just what we needed! We were made to feel very welcome by Thierry and his son who were both lovely, kind people. They really have done an amazing job refurbishing the place and as mentioned in other reviews, it's all been done in such a beautifully tasteful way, it just feels so nice to be there.
Loved our room too, we stayed in the Mérinide suite which was light and very spacious with a sofa with a lovely bathroom finished off with rose petals. Also we had the sun streaming into the room in the morning which is a rare thing for a riad.
The roof top terrace was another thing that drew me to this riad, you can take a small staircase up to a tower in one corner which gives you an amazing panoramic view over the entire Medina with a backdrop of the Atlas mountains, pretty cool.
Totally recommend staying here, can't fault it, it's even in a great position, about 10 mins walk to the square which is good fun in itself, enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Me and 7 women stayed here for four nights. Desperate for a bit of rest and relaxation from our busy lives. Riad matham is really authentically beautiful. It has been sensitively restored back to its former beauty, with beautiful art work and lovely Morrocon wood panelling. Its in the perfect spot for feeling like you are right in the heart of Marrakesh. There is a beautiful roof top terrace where you can listen to the call to prayer, a truly magnificent experience and relax in total comfort and luxury. We had many a lovely bottle of wine up there whilst laughing about the funny little events that had happened to us in the day.
Thierrey is your perfect host, he organised our transfers, met us from the taxi, whipped up a delicious meal on our first night and was always in hand to attend to our needs. He even showed us the way to the souks as we failed our first initiative test by going right right instead of left left. He has lovely staff as well and straight away we felt relaxed and truly at home here. What would I change? Nothing it was lovely and we want to GI back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TopTipTimetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We had an absolutely fantastic stay at Riad Matham. We were met from our taxi by Thierry who showed us to the Riad where our beautiful rooms and dinner was waiting. In the morning we woke to a lovely breakfast served downstairs on the first day and then on the roof terrace on other days. Theirry was incredibly helpful and patient with us - being eight ladies who are all quite noisy!! He provided maps, ideas, booked taxis, sorted a hamman and was just generally lovely. His staff were also very helpful and friendly. The Riad itself is tranquil and beautiful and all the rooms are equally special. The roof terrace has spectacular views and is ideal for a cool drink after a hard days bargaining on the souk.
Just wonderful - thanks to Thierry and team.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oily27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This Riad is a wonderful place in the (north of the) medina.
It has very nice and tasteful furniture and is not overloaded with things.
The roof terrace has an excellent view because the house is higher then the surrounding buildings.

Just keep in mind: If you choose a Riad don't expect a hotel.
Rooms are dark without opening the windows to the atrium (Which means everybody can see you) and there is no corridor to the rooms. Open the door and you are already in the inner courtyard

Room Tip: We had a room on the floor which gives you a nice view at the inner courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Dar Akal
Dar Akal
#21 of 1,146 in Marrakech
427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar-K
Riad Dar-K
#25 of 1,146 in Marrakech
395 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#13 of 1,146 in Marrakech
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Helen
Riad Helen
#41 of 1,146 in Marrakech
286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#3 of 1,146 in Marrakech
673 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#11 of 1,146 in Marrakech
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Matham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Matham

Property: Riad Matham
Address: 2 Derb Sidi Ahmed Ben Naceur | quartier Kaat ben Nahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 1,146 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matham Riad is an old mansion of the sixteenth century located in the historic district of the medina of Marrakech, close to the souks and the main museums of the city and 8 minutes walk from Jemaa El Fna.Discover terrace and climb the tower you can admire certainly the most beautiful view of the medina and the calls of the muezzin at duskYou will also enjoy our Moroccan cuisine.Riad Matham offers body treatments and relaxation with its traditional hammam and swimming pool where you can relax on the way to walk in the souks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad Matham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing