We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! My favourite place in Marrakech”
Review of Amal

Amal
Ranked #4 of 894 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$7
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Amal Women's Training Center and Moroccan Restaurant is a non-profit association dedicated to empowering disadvantaged women via training in traditional and modern cuisine. The ultimate goal is personal transformation, skill set re-enforcement, and job placement for economic and social stability.
Reviewed 16 July 2014

2 friends and I participated in the cookery course at the centre, and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. The women were all very friendly and helpful. We cooked a chicken tagine, and a vegetarian tagine, which both tasted amazing, (due to the women not us!!!). The restaurant is easy to find, and when we got there the setting and the gardens were so tasteful. The Moroccan decor was beautiful and also very trendy. We returned to the restaurant the week later, and we received the same excellent service and amazing food. It is by far my favourite restaurant in Marrakech, and its so well priced, and all for a fantastic cause. I would definitely recommend it to anyone in the Marrakech area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank R_H142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, volunteer at Amal, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us! We're grateful for your support and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,321)
There are newer reviews for Amal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

657 - 661 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband and I emailed to book a cookery class before leaving for Morocco.

We had a wonderful time at this inspirational centre. First we were shown to an immaculate little bathroom to wash our hands in preparation for our class, and given aprons to protect our clothing. First of all we were shown how to prepare a traditional lemon chicken tangine. The very charming manager Hassan allowed us to guess at the ingredients presented to us - proud to say we achieved a 10/10 between us! We were then shown how the initial preparation of the chicken was done and instructed on cooking time, method etc.

Once the chicken was simmering we were invited to try our hands at making the tissue-thin filo pastry used in the various Moroccan delicacies. This is done on a very hot wheel using a wet pastry mix. I declined to try this due to a very wimpish attitude towards burns, but my husband had a go and was very surprised at how difficult it was to achieve the incredibly thin layers required.

We were then welcomed into the kitchen to attempt a couple of different wrapping techniques using the aforementioned filo - both managing to wrap passable cigar and triangle shaped pastries with different fillings. The girls showing us the ropes were charming and showed great humour and patience with us, and the manager did a wonderful job of translating comments and advice - even taking charge of my camera and photographing the experience for us.

After this we were shown to a table and brought water and mint tea while waiting for our very own tangine to finish cooking. As we waited a volunteer came out to us to explain the inner workings and aims of the centre, which was extremely interesting and helpful. We also got to play with two of the centre's resident cats!

Our tangine was by far and away the best meal we had while in Morocco - beautifully seasoned and spiced, served with olives and fresh flatbreads. The manager even popped out to advise us on how to eat the tangine "Moroccan Style" without cutlery; using the bread to scoop up the wonderfully tender chicken and delicious sauce.

The entire experience cost 125 dirhams apiece - approx £14 total. An absolute steal for a wonderful meal and fantastic experience - with the added knowledge that the money paid was going to help women in need. A brilliant part of our holiday. We would recommend the centre to anyone and we will definitely be visiting again next trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
8  Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, volunteer at Amal, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for making Amal part of your holiday - we're so grateful for your support. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Oh my.......what a fabulous meal and drinks. This would be my favourite meal in Marrakesh so far. It was not too difficult to find, we walked from the new shopping centre (Carre Eden) & went out the back entrance up the street.

The lemon juice with mint was the perfect drink on a hot day. It was so refreshing and tasty. The entree was chicken and vegetables in pastry.......amazing. I could have stopped there and be satisfied but we had a mains of chicken and vegetables too. Also nice but the entree was the standout for me.

The manager was lovely and checked with us regularly that we were happy with everything. The ladies serving were polite despite being a little shy. The price was great and if we had more days I am sure we would return everyday for lunch.

3  Thank Brissiegirl_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, volunteer at Amal, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you so much for your support and your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Went here for lunch
Food was out of this world very nice a well presented met the man behind it and he was one of the nicest people I have ever met on holiday. He told use what the charity dose and there goal so definitely worth a visit.
Would I recommend this place yes it's about 5km from the Jemma El fna and costs 20-30 drm to get there so not much.its in the new bit not far from Starbucks.
Our bill came to 180drm for 2 starters 2 main dishes 2 orange juices and 2 bottles of water very good value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank kingkall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imane-janati, Public Relations Manager at Amal, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for coming! We're so happy that you enjoyed your meal, and we thank you for supporting our cause. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We greatly enjoyed our visit to the Amal Restaurant and Women's Training Center. The food was very good, and the staff was exceptional. They are really doing excellent work at Amal, and the staff we met were very willing to talk to you about the organization. I highly recommend stopping in for lunch while you're in town.

1  Thank gratanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imane-janati, Public Relations Manager at Amal, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your recommendation. We value your support!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amal also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Amal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing