We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and vey hospitable stay”
Review of Dar Charaf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Charaf
Ranked #937 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cozy and vey hospitable stay”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Having unknowingly reserved elsewhere far away from Marrakech action, my taxi driver suggested Dar Cherif being in Gueliz (center of activity in Marrakech) and brought me there. Being unaware of the hotel location or reputation, I adventured with him and to my surprise the staff was extremely hospitable (Marrakechi style), very polite and available 24/7.
The breakfast served in the morning was a cozy Moroccan style breakfast clean and the breakfast location on the rooftop was refreshing, preparing me for a marvelous day at this fantastic city.
I will for sure come back and enjoy another stay at this worthy hotel.

Simohamed and Hania at the Front Desk were superior to the level you would expect. Karima at housekeeping was very polite and did her job with a big smile.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hamza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    6
    0
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
9
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I came in Easter 2014 ( 4 ladies in our group) . The rooms were clean and beds comfortable. It is a friendly and comfortable place to stay . The two young men Azdin and Ahmed truly went out of their way to help us and if we needed anything they were very approachable. I wish I spoke Arabic or French but thanks to iPhones I was able to make myself understood. Layla( boss)and Ajiba speak great English. Ajiba makes a delicious tanjine /fresh couscous( should have got the recipe) , if you fancy dining at the hotel . Breakfast is a delight, it's on the roof top ,great views on a clear day, but keep in mind you have to climb quite Afew stairs every morning . We initially shared a room down stairs on the left of hotel and was disturbed by singing til late hours from next door ( he needs singing lessons) so Ajiba kindly moved our rooms with no problem next to pool and we slept with no problems. (Thankyou ) the hotel people can tell you about excursions / hamaams/massages...... Always remember to ask for discounts. That's how it works ( barter on everything ) . You are able to hire grand taxi and go privately on Exursions too, ask for Saeed , they will know who he is . Hope that helps . Have a great time in Marrakech!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nahees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eljadida
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I dont Know why the people gives à bad comments about à good places as dar chrif i been There a last week and i found it too Nice a good services à good accommodations good moroccan meals
Hajiba was very helpful ans very polit with us
Try it and u Will be satisfied

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Askmymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I am a bit stunned that 4 reviewers like this place. 1 night was more than enough and I had to pay to go and stay somewhere else. No offer of any money back when we left after 1 night by the way (we had pre paid for a week). The room we had was freezing cold. My husband slept in his clothes and I slept in a coat (despite the room heater). The curtain pole was so bent the curtains could not be properly closed. The bathroom was VERY basic. The room a bland featureless box with no character. Nothing more than a bed surrounded by four blank walls. No extra blankets. A serious ant problem. Two cockerall's going from 1am and not stopping so we had absolutely no sleep. We were told that breakfast would be available on the roof terrace in the morning but when we went up there was no one around. No tables laid and there wasn't even anyone in reception to ask about it so we had to go out and find somewhere else. The main road (which is very near by and very very noisy) is incredibly hard to cross. The location of the Riad is only useful for the Jardin Majorelle and nothing else. The only saving grace was the wireless internet was good enough for us to spend an age trying to find somewhere else so we could leave as fast as possible. Only suitable if you are looking for cheap hostel style accommodation and have low expectations, or don't want to spend any time at your accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madassoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My wife and I spent two weeks in Marrakech and were lucky enough to find this hotel. The staff were some of the nicest people I have met anywhere and frequently went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and at home. There are two young men who work in the evenings and were incredibly nice. Anything we needed was available. The hotel has a street-end location in a very safe area. It's about a 10 min walk to a large and high-end shopping area. At the end of the street there is also a snack bar which served excellent food if you were in a hurry, which we often were. We stayed in two different rooms and both were excellent and spacious. Rooms are cleaned everyday and breakfast was hand made every morning (no extra charge). Both the rooms we stayed in picked up the hotel's Wi-fi and the speed was fast enough to have Skype conversations. Overall the hotel was very beautiful, with traditional Moroccan decor. I really can't say enough good things about this place, mostly due to the hospitality of the staff, which is nothing like I have seen in the U.S. If you are looking for a quite place to spend your time in Morocco, I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altamonte Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

this is a very good Riad u feel like u r home Hajiba the front desk is so kind too.
and she can help and will give u best room she has.
small riad has good thing is that they are away from distubance,

Room Tip: Hajiba will give you her best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hani N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#238 of 500 in Marrakech
185 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#81 of 500 in Marrakech
1,938 reviews
12.7 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Club marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#8 of 500 in Marrakech
1,210 reviews
1.8 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#101 of 500 in Marrakech
389 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#46 of 500 in Marrakech
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charaf

Property: Dar Charaf
Address: 8 Rue Khalid bin Al Walid | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #937 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Charaf 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Cheraf is a guest house in the center of Gueliz near the Jardin Majorelle, all our rooms are different and air conditioned, with bathrooms and all the comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dar Charaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing