We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place in excellent location”
Review of Ryad Les Cigognes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ryad Les Cigognes
Ranked #612 of 1,133 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place in excellent location”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed here with 4 friends during July. Picked up from airport and taken to riad. We stayed in the junior suite which was very good value. Breakfast was plentiful every morning. Staff very friendly and the 'maid' was around during the day if needed and was very helpful and flexible with breakfast timings. Only 5-10 mins walk from the square which was far enough to make it very peaceful. Good location for the palace and souks and easy to find way back. Air con was very much appreciated as it was 40 plus degrees. Nothing to complain about! Excellent holiday.

Room Tip: The suite was excellent. Two separate bedrooms and a lovely living area. Good for larger groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    25
    6
    9
    3
See reviews for
12
27
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This a budget riad, but it is truly peaceful, with a great terrace from which storks can be heard and seen. Our room on the upper level was large but a bit dark. Location is great, but it is hard to find! Don't confuse this with the Dar les Cigognes! I would return, but this is definitely a budget riad. But very peaceful!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alamito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

If I ever go back to Marrakech, I will definitely choose Les Cigognes again. I will try to highlight what I liked so much about it:
- the room was very large and beautifully decorated;
- the breakfast was very generous and fresh (tea, coffee, milk, bread, fresh orange juice, pancakes, grapes etc.);
- the price was very good considering the fact the room was en-suite and with AC;
- located in a very quiet area of the town, but very close to Djema el Fna (10-15 minute walk);
- beautiful terrace;
- nice pool, decorated with candles at night (it looks very romantic);
- the room was cleaned every day by one of the women working over there (bin taken out, beds made);
- the manager (Mohammed - I hope I spelled his name correctly) was very nice and helpful. He gave us suggestions about where to go and what to see. I would also like to share one incident. On one of our days out, we ended up buying from a place some argan oil, tea, spices etc. We spent quite a lot of money. When I got back to the riad I showed Mohammed what I had bought. When I told him how much I had paid, he was astonished. He said I had been overcharged with about 50% and that I should call the Tourist Police. He said he had a friend who worked for them and that he would call him if I wanted to. We called his friend, the police officer, and he arrived in less than half an hour together with another colleague of his. I took them to the place where I had bought all the stuff from and immediately I was offered two options:
1. to return all the products and get all my money back;
2. to get back that 50% I had been overcharged with.
The police officers told me the place that sold me the products had a very good reputation in terms of the quality of the products they sold. Because of that, I decided to choose option number 2. I got back the extra money I had paid and I went back to the riad happy. I invited the 2 officers to a restaurant to have a drink as my way of thanking them but they refused me :) Apparently there were more people in my situation and they had to deal with their complaints as well.

Overall, I had a great time in this place! I am sure I will go back one day!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smarthutza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marrakech
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

a lot to say about it , surrounded by monuments, saadian tombs, badii palace, bahia palace, jamai elfena square, quite ryad, very sympathic owners Bruno and Rachida.

Room Tip: get a nice room at the first floor, close to the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taguleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at this riad at the beginning of our week in Marrakech. The riad is situated in a much quieter part of the Medina which is great and generally has a very relaxed atmosphere. The central garden to the riad was the best we have seen throughout our trip and the staff were very helpful. Nothing is a problem.

Only negative would be that we found the room very hot at night, even with a fan.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisajohn2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perugia, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

The location was great - an easy walk to the Jemaa el Fna and close to the royal palaces. I was amazed how quiet the place was (apart from the storks!!) despite being so close to the centre of the action.

The riad didn't quite live up to the photos - it was a little more rough around the edges than anticipated ( cracks in the walls, shower holder missing, wobbly taps, electrical socket hanging out of the wall...that type of thing ) but was nonetheless charming and comfortable.

We enjoyed breakfast on the terrace - especially after some other guests advised us to leave the orange jam on a separate table to keep the numerous bees occupied! The breakfasts were substantial and delicious - freshly squeezed juice, tea or coffee, fresh fruit or yoghurt, breads, jams, pancakes...and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

The roof terrace area was very pleasant with attractive plants, outside furniture and very close proximity to the storks' nests - plus the shade of the spacious tented area. Unfortunately it wasn't warm enough to make use of the pool, but the surrounding area was also well laid out with plenty of sun loungers.

We ate at a nearby restaurant - Le Tanjia (by Place des Ferblantiers). It was beautifully lit and very atmospheric and, whilst not cheap (about £55 for two for two courses each, plus one dessert and half a bottle of wine), the food and service were both excellent.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank widelytravelled736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittard
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

The ryad was an oasis of calm in the middle of the noisy, dirtylike city. It was beautiful! We arranged for a taxi to pick us up at the airport when we booked the trip. We wouldn't be able to find this ryad otherwise! The city is a big maze and the final 300 meters from the taxi to the ryad you have to walk because of the alleys being too small for a car. The taxidriver walked us to the ryad and even carried my suitcase! :) When we arrived it was early in the evening and there were candles all over the place. It looked like a fairytale :)
We asked about things to do and such and they were very helpful.
Breakfast was excellent. You could eat breakfast on the roof in the fairytale tent with big cushions or downstairs with view on the pool.
The hot water was gone fast. So we had to take very quick showers.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poekiewoekie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Dar Les Cigognes
Dar Les Cigognes
#92 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Badi
Riad Badi
#7 of 1,133 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#231 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#79 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,908 reviews
10.9 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Club marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Les Cigognes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Les Cigognes

Property: Ryad Les Cigognes
Address: 26 Rue Touareg | Ksibt N'has Kasbah, Marrakech 40008 , Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #612 of 1,133 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ryad Les Cigognes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Les Cigognes Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing