We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Peaceful Oasis”
Review of Riyad El Cadi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riyad El Cadi
Ranked #223 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Peaceful Oasis”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We have always wanted to go to Morocco, and decided to visit this summer. When planning the trip we saw that the Riyadh EL Cadi was very highly reviewed. We were worried when booking that we might not be able to make a reservation because it was a last minute trip, this ended up not being an issue. The staff was very responsive to our emails and they helped us book our room without too much difficulty. We stayed in the Chaouen suite, which was spacious and tastefully decorated.

As a first time visitor to Marrakesh, it would be difficult to find the hotel and the staff suggested that we have someone meet us at the airport and bring us to the hotel.  That was a great suggestion! Once we landed we were met at the gate by our driver and after a short drive we were within the walls of the old city.  When we got out of the car, the sights and sounds of the Jemaa-el Fnaa market were unlike anything we had ever experienced before.  Due to the narrow streets, the cab can only go so far. The El Cadi had a porter meet us in the square and brought us and our bags to the hotel - about a 10 minute walk.

Once we arrived, the check in process was quick and easy and we were struck by how quiet and peaceful it was.  We were brought to our room through a maze of stairs and corridors - we were worried we would never find our way back!  After settling in, we took a self-guided tour of the hotel and were amazed at how beautiful everything was.

The Staff had asked us if we would like to have dinner at the hotel, which we thought would be a great idea.  The food was delicious and the wait Staff was so friendly and attentive, well worth the price.

The hotel offered, an authentic Moroccan cooking class and we decided to take it. The class started with a trip to the market to pick up the spices and other ingredients for dinner.  Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and gave us some background and history of both Marrakesh and the market.  We then made our way back to the hotel and began to cook.  The class was given by the hotel chef and translated into English for us by the hotel manager. We made two salads,a tajine, and a tangia. While cooking we were offered pastries, olives, orange juice and of course moroccan-tea.  All the food was delicious, and we were provided with the recipes so we could make it ourselves at home.

Overall, we can't say enough about the hotel and especially the staff. Everyone was so friendly, courteous and accommodating. We have travelled quite extensively and we can honestly say that we have never been treated better at any hotel, anywhere in the world.  We would, without any hesitation recommend the Riyadh El Cadi to anyone visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank twinkie_and_egg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    37
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
49
114
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

Spent the Christmas break at this Riyad and can't sing their praises enough. Everyone from the porter (Said) to the manager (Yusef) that checked us in, to the other members of staff (Khadija, Samir, etc) were very courteous and helpful. The Riyad is very peaceful though it is close to the main square, and is within walking distance of the main attractions. Highly recommend!!!

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Koko E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayreuth, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We booked the Riyad El Cadi for a wedding celebration. We couldn't make a better decision. Great location, extremely friendly and helpful staff, delicious food, professional organisation, lovely rooms and suites!
Thanks again for an unforgettable wedding celebration!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Riyad El Cadi is a wonderful riyad in the heart of the Medina. Excellent service, food. Room was beautiful and spacious. My family had a marvelous time there and hope to return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We arrived at the Riyad very exhausted from the train trip from Casablanca and from the moment we walked down the alley way 3 minutes from the square we knew this was a great find.

The staff are friendly and informative. The breakfast is fresh and plentiful. The beds are comfortable and spacious. The bathrooms are inviting, maintained and serviced.

It is a fantastic way to get the most out of the city. You are so close to the chaos and ambiance that is the medina while being able to chill in a warm and relaxing environment.

Thank you to the whole El Cadi Team.

Room Tip: Everyroom is well decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Upon a recommendation from friends we stayed a couple of nights at the Riyad. Loved every minute. Everything is done with grace. We seldom experienced such a fine balance between an attentive service but also tranquility. The artwork is superb. The cooking class is also highly recommended. I wish we could go back right now. AK

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AWK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Riyad El Cadi absolutely made our holiday in Marrakech . Our suite - Berber, was comfortable, clean, superbly decorated , all amenities available. The Riyad itself was sumptuous. We really appreciated the plunge pool in such hot weather and the fresh orange juice and cakes bought to us? Such decadence!!! Most of all, the staff were excellent, nothing was too much bother for them and we were treated so well with so much respect, help and politeness. They were so friendly and happy but always discreet. The food was excellent- Tariq is an excellent chef , one of the best we have ever encountered. So in all thank you so much for making our stay great. Mark and I will remember you all with warmth and respect. Anne and Mark Savage.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annesavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Farnatchi
Riad Farnatchi
#87 of 499 in Marrakech
405 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ryad Dyor
Ryad Dyor
#55 of 499 in Marrakech
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Assiya
Dar Assiya
#151 of 499 in Marrakech
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dar Les Cigognes
Dar Les Cigognes
#92 of 499 in Marrakech
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#99 of 499 in Marrakech
283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Riad Monceau
Le Riad Monceau
#234 of 499 in Marrakech
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riyad El Cadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riyad El Cadi

Property: Riyad El Cadi
Address: 86, 87 Derb Moulay Abdul Kader | Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#85 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#91 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#119 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Riyad El Cadi 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riyad El Cadi - an oasis of calm welcomes the sophisticated traveller. Riyad El Cadi is a like a private art museum, but without a trace of stuffiness. Spread over 6 houses, the riad is an elegant 'home from home' - a glorious mix of chic, comfort, hospitality and art. Wander around courtyards, corridors and alcoves and you'll discover magnificent Berber and Islamic art treasures - a true feast for culture-vultures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riyad El Cadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riyad El Cadi Marrakech
Riyad El Cadi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing