We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tired,would not recommend it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
Ranked #458 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
london
1 review
“tired,would not recommend it”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

the staff was ok,the room tired and not very clean.the bathroom very very old,not cleaned properly with old dirty stains,rust and mold.The whole building was a bit smelly and dim.The breakfast very very basic..poor coffee.only the croissants and patisserie was lovely.i am not a moanny person but the 3 stars is not even 2. the location is very good though but as its on the other side of the main bus station ,the traffic never stops and was very noisy.would not stay there again.would recommend the Medina as better option.Marrakesh is magical

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miamia5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    121
    191
    89
    97
See reviews for
74
195
46
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

To put this review into context, I booked 12 hours before we arrived, paid just over £12 pp pn for bed and breakfast and knew about the noisy bus station being over the road as I read the reviews prior to booking. I was expecting much worse that I got! To us the room is a base to sleep in, that's all we need, anything else is a plus.

The airport bus dropped us off across the road from the hotel outside the main bus pick up/drop off point. We pulled our cases across the VERY busy junction and just walked hoping the traffic would stop for us. Pedestrian crossings mean nothing, more so if you are a woman! despite many horns and screeching brakes cross we did.

The hotel entrance is very small, with a door man stood outside along a busy street. It seemed very dark inside, but the sunlight outside was very bright. Despite my attempts at French, we were spoken to in perfect English by the friendly and helpful staff members. Directed to our room on the 2 nd floor ( yes we had read to request a top floor room, as the couple who arrived after us did but were not to worried about the noise)

We had room 204 facing the road. A very small but adequate double room. Decor is dated and in desperate need of repair/ update. The Heavy curtains ( which were hanging off the rail at the end for our whole duration) were welcome at night . The nets were grey, but the room was clean, and was cleaned every day with fresh supplies of toilet roll left for us each day. The air con was welcome when we arrived to 24 degrees after the bitter cold of London Gatwick. It was noisy but that was the only time we used it. the bathroom was very small, but clean and the shower was very powerful. The bed was comfortable and warm, with a blanket and and a thin quilt cover. Only 2 pillows and despite requesting another, it never arrived. The wardrobe and shelves have UPC doors? They smell of mothballs and we left them open for the whole stay so our clothes did not smell too bad! The balcony was tiny, space for both of us to stand, but only 1 chair in the room which barely fitted on to the small balcony space. We spent lots of time watching the pantomime of activity below, the traffic is comical and the passing buses collecting passengers is hilarious. On of my lasting memories is watching men dressed in their ' star wars' style cloaks with hoods on trying to cross the roads!

The reception staff were always helpful, on our first day they gave us a map and showed us the safest way to walk to the square for dinner. We thought this was very helpful and it gave us a great way of seeing some of the sights in downtown Marrakech. Once we got ourselves familiar we took other routes in, very entertaining! As for the noise, well you do hear traffic, but it didn't really disturb us too much, there is double glazing at the window and the heavy curtains, it depends what you are expecting and if it's total peace and quiet .. This is not the hotel for you, if it's a real piece of Moroccan life it's brill, life never stops at this busy station it's on 24 hours a day. it hilarious at times! You have to see it to believe it!

We sat in the reception area and in the tea bar to get our free wifi and keep in touch with our children back at home, it is slow but it works and the hot chocolate from the tea bar is lovely. We exchanged cash here too and the hotel made a booking for my hamman for me which cost me 10dh for them to make the phone call.

Breakfast was good, always the same except for the weekend and enough to fill you up for the day. there is a buffet selection which inlcudes a selection of juices ( not fresh more like squash) tea and coffee, fresh pastries and baguettes, jams and honey, boiled eggs, olives and tomato and sometimes pancakes with honey too. A the weekend there was soft cheese and cold meats too. We never ate lunch the whole time we were there and empty plates were quickly replenished. Staff are not overly friendly more there to clear tables and to replenish.

There is a supermarket next door which sells soft drinks cheaply. We bought drinks for the day from here. They have a selection of goods which you can find in the souks and which will give you a rough price guide of what to pay. No alcohol for sale here, there is another supermarket a 5 min walk behind the hotel is where you can find it , we didn't bother and decided mint tea would suffice our need for 5 days.

The hotel had a small pool, it looked freezing and is probably fab in the summer. We were amazed to find the supermarket was in the basement, clearly heard in the way to the restaurant which is in a strange corner of the hotel.

We visited the majorelle gardens behind the hotel 10 min walk and this was beautiful, nice to escape the noise of Marrakech for a little while. We also took a day trip to Oulrika falls with a local company. Day trip cost 200 dh each, collect from the hotel, driven to a Berber village where we were shown round and invited to have tea and bread and then on to the herb gardens and herbalist talk where they wanted you to buy their expensive products!

Beautiful scenery and we had a great guide who spoke several languages. The trek up to the falls is scary, climbing rocks and uphill, sensible footwear required.! View is nice and the trip was fun. lunch is not included, you are taken to a restaurant and charged 120 dh each for a three course meal. Much more expensive than it was worth, except that you sat by the edge of the river with a lovely view. Met some great people on the trip and had a good day, met the camels and had a chance to ride them if we wanted, But there was no pressure.

The square was a real experience and the sights sounds and colours were worth every penny. Some tacky snake charmers and monkey handlers, and many nuisance henna women, but the the stall area is a myriad of colours, sounds and of course of diverse goods. I loved it, but then I love shopping. Be firm about your prices, but be fair, keep a smile and talk with the stallholders, many of them were shocked to find out that the same goods they were selling were available in the UK at much cheaper prices!

We only used taxis twice, once to get into the square on the busy sat night ( film festival was in) and one to take us back to the airport. We bartered the price on the sat night and on the Sunday to the airport he offered it to us for 80, a little over the cos of the bus but no waiting and a straight trip there.

I'm happy with what goods I bought, really enjoyed the food at the stalls on the square and never felt unwell. The banter and atmosphere is fantastic and was worth the visit, at least once sit in the roof terraces for an arial view of the square. Try the fresh juice from the barrows too, it's fabulous. Pay attention when taking photos, there is always someone ready to ask you for cash for taking it! Lol

Would I return? Probably not, I loved it but ive now ticked that box on my bucket list! but if I did, I'd stay in this hotel again and would definitely recommend it as cheap and cheerful!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheHardings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poitiers, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

this hotel is not posh or modern but has a brilliant location. it is such a shame that the bus station is across the road, that's why you need ear plugs. i can't work out where people go at 4o'clock in the morning. staff are generally friendly and helpful, always gave good advice that proved to be right. beware of the lady with glasses, she is the exception to the rule and can be aggressive and unhelpful but all in all staff are very good. the rooms are as most other reviews say, need a huge refurbish and a paint but lets be fair all you do is sleep in it and it's cheap.
if you see the doorman he will organize a trip to the mountains for a day for the princely sum of 400 diarams, about £35 for two people and this is well worth it. my review is based on 5 days in december and in my opinion that is long enough in marrakesh and i am sure you could stand a cheap hotel for that long to be able to see all the sights by foot.
have a great trip to marrakesh it is brilliant and cheap to visit, unless you but a carpet.

Room Tip: if you need sleep have room at back. if you want to be involved in atmosphere go to front (don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

You get what you pay for but this was a pleasant surprise. Room on third floor at front was clean, didn't smell, air-con quiet and efficient. When I saw the shower my heart sank a little but it was a mega power shower in disguise, obviously great water pressure. The decor needed a refurb but housekeeping was good and room/bedlinen clean. Admitted there was a whiff of damp in the corridors but not over bad. Lounge area excellent and a pleasant place to relax. Staff good - ask to see the Trips/excursions they organise from the hotel, they are cheaper than the list given out by the Easyjet rep who I never saw again nor did he pick up his phone. Exchange rate good at hotel. Location excellent 10 mins Medina, Souks, Jardin Marjorelle is not to be missed and the supermarket nextdoor is a bonus. Beware of so called 'guides' they pounce as soon as you leave hotel, do not give eye contact do not speak they are hard to shake off - brush up on school French "allez-vous en" at least, if not stronger. Sad to say you really have to be tough. But enjoy the bartering If they say 300 pay no more than 100 or if you're better than me even less - have fun!

Room Tip: an end of corridor room so you only have one neighbour - walls a bit thin. front is entertaining bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mihols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire,UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

A cheap hotel and good value, with lovely helpful staff and cheap at twice the price. It is on a main street and opposite the bus station which has pros and cons - it's hilarious and greatly entertaining watching the goings on across the street, but unfortunately noisy despite two layers of double glazing and earplugs! We moved to the back of the hotel the next day without a problem.

Room Tip: Back of hotel, as high as possible is quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LFHbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Augustus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We were pleasently surprised with this hotel. We had a room on the top floor with a balcony overlooking the pool and petrol statio (more entertainment in the latter than any soap!) The air conditioning worked fine. The man with glasses at reception (see previous review) was very hospitable - the lady not quite so. We used it as a base and it was ideal next to a Grand Taxi depot and bus station. Easy 10 min walk to the medina and 5 minute walk to the new town. We quite enjoyed the pool as it was somewhere to relax and cool down a bit after visiting the medina - not somewhere you would probably hang out all day though. Room service was pretty good and reasonably priced. Breakfast was pretty good too with pastries, fruit juices, bread, olives, melon, eggs and pancakes as well as tea and coffee. There is a supermarket right next door for water and other supplies. Go to Acima (3 minute walk past said petrol station) for anything stronger!!

Room Tip: Ask for a 5th floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

this hotel was in the best location possible everything was within walking distance, and the supermarket next door was ideal for late night snacks and cold drinks. Air con was good and always worked as did the hot water and shower. staff were excellent big thanks to guy with glasses on reception very helpfull as was the guy in the bar. They were all really nice to us and nothing was ever too much trouble I would definately go again. Swimming pool a liitle small but not a big issue. This really was a great hotel I cant believe it was only 3 star.

Room Tip: For the best view on sunset and sunrise you need to be on top floor (5th floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anjum i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.5 mi away
Ryad Mogador Gueliz
Ryad Mogador Gueliz
#368 of 496 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ryad Mogador Agdal
Ryad Mogador Agdal
#399 of 496 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ryad Mogador Menzah
Ryad Mogador Menzah
#439 of 496 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mogador Opera
Mogador Opera
#324 of 496 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
#247 of 496 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.8 mi away
Imperial Holiday Hotel
Imperial Holiday Hotel
#472 of 496 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mogador Express Bab Doukkala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mogador Express Bab Doukkala

Property: Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
Address: Angle Blvd 11 Janvier Blvd Prince Moulay Abdellah | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Mogador Express Bab Doukkala)
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #458 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mogador Express Bab Doukkala 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opposite the city Ramparts and overlooking the Atlas Mountains, the Ryad Mogador Marrakech features an outdoor swimming pool and air-conditioned rooms. It is located in Marrakesh's Medina district. The Mogador Marrakech has a restaurant serving both international and traditional Moroccan cuisine. The pool-side snack bar serves Italian food and local specialities. Guests can also enjoy a mint tea in the Tamuziga tea room. Each guest room at the Ryad Mogador includes satellite TV and a private bathroom, and room service is available. Free Wi-Fi is accessible in the hotel's common areas. With a 24-hour reception, the hotel also provides currency exchange, car hire and a babysitting service upon request. The hotel is located a 5-minute walk from the Majorelle Gardens and a 10-minute walk from Jamaa El Fna Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mogador Express Bab Doukkala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Mogador Marrakech
Riad Mogador
Ryad Mogador Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing