We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for a night or two”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
Ranked #461 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed in Hotel Mogador for two nights in Marrakesh since our first choice riad was booked. The good - location is nicely situated between the medina and the new city. The Jardin Majorelle is only a couple blocks away which is worth a visit. The hotel is pretty basic and nothing special. As noted in previous reviews, it's definitely in need of a face lift to say the least. Wifi available in the lobby. For a longer stay, look for something else with more Moroccan character!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

We booked for 10 nights. Unfortunatley we still have 2 left. When we arrived the first room smelt and was dirty. We complained and were given a diferent room (bit cleaner, no smell). Then found the balcony door did not have a catch, complained twice, ignored, until the room flooded when the cistern overflowed. Complained loudly finaly got it fixed. Food, is good food spoilt. Never hot, always the same and served on stone cold plates. The hotel is gruby throughout, though the housekeepers do the best they can. It needs a thorough renovation.
I did read the reviews and as it had an average score thought it should be ok, BELIEVE ME IT IS NOT I would not be surprised if the management put the good reviews on themselves.
You Have Been Warned
D J J

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank boxerlrhht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The hotel is a bit tired and over priced for what you get. The rooms were clean and comfortable but the TV and air conditioning did not work. Overall, it's fine for one night, maybe two, but otherwise avoid.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Grant L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Stayed here as part of trip to the desert and Atlas Mountains. Food was Ok and the service was fine. No alcohol served or allowed but nice coffee in reception made up for that. The rooms are rather basic and the bedding was hardly bigger than the bed! Wifi worked in reception. A get-want-you-pay-for place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R5-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks in december, the hotel is spotless and friendly, location is good except for the noise ( ear plugs €2 from the chemist ) and I think the rooms vary, we were given a tiny one on the 2nd floor which was changed with no problems right away to a great room on the 5th floor. We stayed half board and the breakfast was good, but dinner was rather hit and miss and with a hand ful of diners in the big resturant it was cold and uninviting. Linen and bedding were changed every day and the housekeeping was very good. The salon de tea was a lovely friendly place to use the internet and the coffe and cakes fantastic. Watch out for the tax, for a couple for 2 weeks we paid 462MDH and had to go to the cash machine before we went to our room. If you want to buy alcohol beware, the only place we found, a supermarket a few mins away, had prices to make your head spin, buy at the airport on your way in.

Room Tip: 5th floor are the best rooms and dont hesitate to ask for a change, they will change in a very frie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrenchieFenioux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

THE GOOD
Great location, walking distance to the square. Supermarket 2 doors away.
Reasonable breakfast (continental)

THE BAD
This hotel is seriously in need of a face lift. The bathroom was filthy (excrement on the toilet brush) Room was very basic, bed hard and squeaky and the bed sheets didn't smell very fresh.. If you don't mind "slumming it" you'll probably think it's alright. I won't be returning - ever.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YSM_117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

First this is the location. 31.636352, -8.000448 its100m north and across the road from where the airport shuttle bus stops (30dm), which is the main bus station stop, the long distance bus station is in a gate just north of the hotel across the road. a Google search for the hotel is not reliable!
Good things:
Location, Clean, Price, unlimited breakfast, a fair range of local cold food, salad bread and either sliced characterless meat sausage or boiled eggs. fair room size (504)for a budget hotel.
Helpful staff. Our room had double doors on the balcony so was not noisy if they were shut. the air con worked well without much noise. 2 of us payed £158 with air inc. baggage from Gatwick uk. for 5 days (4 nights). that's amazing value.
Bad.
Water a bit unreliable, not hot after about 8am went of completely one evening.
room fittings a bit flaky, loose this and that TV remote us. you know the sort of thing.

Room Tip: Go high. the back would be less noisy but i liked the view over the old town from the front, lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roderic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#152 of 500 in Marrakech
550 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mogador Express Gueliz
Mogador Express Gueliz
#432 of 500 in Marrakech
362 reviews
1 mi away
Mogador Opera
Mogador Opera
#323 of 500 in Marrakech
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mogador Menzah Appart Hotel
Mogador Menzah Appart Hotel
#346 of 500 in Marrakech
479 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#91 of 500 in Marrakech
5,415 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mogador Palace Agdal
Mogador Palace Agdal
#391 of 500 in Marrakech
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mogador Express Bab Doukkala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mogador Express Bab Doukkala

Address: Angle Blvd 11 Janvier Blvd Prince Moulay Abdellah | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Mogador Express Bab Doukkala)
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #461 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £27 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mogador Express Bab Doukkala 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opposite the city Ramparts and overlooking the Atlas Mountains, the Ryad Mogador Marrakech features an outdoor swimming pool and air-conditioned rooms. It is located in Marrakesh's Medina district. The Mogador Marrakech has a restaurant serving both international and traditional Moroccan cuisine. The pool-side snack bar serves Italian food and local specialities. Guests can also enjoy a mint tea in the Tamuziga tea room. Each guest room at the Ryad Mogador includes satellite TV and a private bathroom, and room service is available. Free Wi-Fi is accessible in the hotel's common areas. With a 24-hour reception, the hotel also provides currency exchange, car hire and a babysitting service upon request. The hotel is located a 5-minute walk from the Majorelle Gardens and a 10-minute walk from Jamaa El Fna Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mogador Express Bab Doukkala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Mogador Marrakech
Riad Mogador
Ryad Mogador Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing