We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, awesome rates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
Ranked #460 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Bucharest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, awesome rates”
Reviewed 29 October 2009

We had a lovely 4 day stay at the Ryad Mogador Marrakech! It's positioned very, very close to the medina and Jema El Fnaa square - make sure you ask for a room facing the old town for a breathtaking daily view (see my video on this hotel).
Reception spoke good English, although you have to wait usually until you get some attention, since it's always very crowded and very few receptionists.
Except for the bellboy who was trying to 'fix' us up with a cab to the airport at departure for triple its cost, all staff were excellent, spoke good English and always had a smile on their face, making everything seem possible.
There was no Internet in the room, yet a very fast and reliable connection is available in the bar/bistro and reception lobby. Careful though, there's only on public electricity outlet on the ground floor, so make sure you take the couch first!
The hotel itself is huge and unfortunately has only two elevators, which can turn out to be a bit frustrating at times. There's also a supermarket literally nextdoor.
All rooms feature double windows and are rather silent; generous with space, we had a television and a bathtub in the bathroom. Everything was well kept, clean and shiny. The housekeepers on the floor made a constant impression of cleanliness.
Breakfast was the usual buffet as throughout Morocco with butter, bread, jam, a weird salami, toast, tea, coffee and orange juice plus pastry products.
The only downside of this hotel would be the advertised swimming pool, which is actually very, very, very small and although it can be 40 degrees outside the water is impossible to bathe in because they keep pumping ice-cold water in it - it was mind boggling. It's also somewhere in the back of the first floor, allowing for only 3-4 hours of full sun coming in.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Totoeskhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    122
    191
    89
    97
See reviews for
74
195
46
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2009

Shabby but clean hotel, excellently located for both the medina and new town and with a very handy supermarket next door and bus station across the road, if you're up for some travelling! Previous reviews had commented on the noise, however our room was fine although it was located towards the back of the hotel and overlooked a petrol station!
Room cleaned everyday with clean towels daily and clean sheets every couple of days.
Breakfast was perfectly adequate (we stayed in 2 more up market hotels during our stay and breakfast there was much the same). One critisism however was the fact breakfast was meant to be served between 6.30-10.30 but when we went down at 10am one day everything was already cleared away!
Agree with previous comments about the unhelpful, bordering on rude, reception staff who could be very patronising.
This is clearly not a 3 star hotel by UK standards but it was 'OK' . Not the hotel for you if your idea of a good holiday is lounging by the pool!
You can eat very cheaply at local restaurants but if you want to splash out the 'Queen Atlanta' (10 mins walk from hotel) was modern, cosmopolitan, served alcohol, had live music and delicious food for £10-15 per head for 2-3 courses.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Set at the edge of the Old Medina, this Hotel is in a great position opposite the bus station and the Bab Doukkala Gate, a kick and a step from the train station. The rooms were slightly tired, but kept fairly clean. Towels in the bathroom were in need of a good boil wash, as ours were Grey (although they should have been White). Breakfast was simple but substantial, toast, eggs, salads, bread, cake, jam orange juice and coffee. We had a Half Board booking, the evening meals, although slightly small in portion size, were very good quality.
The staff were friendly enough and attentive when required.
The Pool however was very small, the water ice cold, although each morning, the pool attendant cleaned this thoroughly and checked the chlorine levels. Around the pool was a total of 12 sun loungers, although the sun never actually hits this area until 12 noon, it can be a hassle to get a sun lounger if the hotel is busy.
We had great fun watching the disappointment on peoples faces when they came to view the pool area. Thanks to Will and Ruth from Yorkshire, this made our stay very entertaining, giggling at the new arrivals at the poolside.
Because of its location, it can be very noisy at night, if you are not a deep sleeper, avoid this hotel.
For a couple of days sightseeing or a stop off point before trekking to the Atlas Mountains, this is a great Budget Hotel, otherwise book into a better class hotel toward the New Town and Mohammed V. The Hotel would often get busy with tours stopping off for one night prior to travelling else where, or before departure from Morocco. If we return, we will stay in a better quality of the same chain, possibly the Mogador Opera, although they have a few others around Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BRYNSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

When we arrived at Mogador the receptionist wasnt very welcoming or helpful. We got checked into a room and for a double room it was quite small...however we moved out of this room because the air conditioning wasnt working. We got moved to a bigger room (one of their suites) however this was a twin room but we couldnt be bothered to complain. At one point we found a cockroach in the bathroom! The rooms are basic, decoration isnt very exciting but its value for money so if on a budget or just looking for somewhere to put down your head its a good place to stay. The rooms are tidied every day and towels are changed daily too.

The swimming pool at the hotel is very very small...you can literally only fit about 8 sunloungers around it!

Breakfast was limited but since going to 3 other hotels in Morocco I have realised this is the norm.

At the hotel you have to pay for a safe, which really should come free with the room...I think its 40Dh a night.

The hotel isnt in the medina so you are not in close proximity to the souq and jemaa el fna however its just outside the walls of the medina, opposite the bus station. From the hotel its about 20Dh to jemaa el fna.

If you are looking for local supplies there is a supermarket just underneath the hotel.

The hotel is on a busy road however I dont know if it gets loud as my room was at the back of the hotel, rooms at the front of the hotel however have amazing views of Marrakech and you can see the mountains too.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We stayed at Ryad Mogador in Marrakesh in 2007. If going to any Ryad Mogadors, beware that there is around five of them in Marrakesh so you need to know which one you are going to if you are getting a taxi from the airport. Room was quite basic, double bed, bathroom, tv and afew bits of furniture. There is no sink plugs in any of the bathrooms so we got given one by some travel friends we met there. Restraurant was lovely. If you have a nut allergy then the breakfast can be a nightmare as it is mainly consists of pastries. Underneath the hotel is a fantastic supermarket so if your on a buget then buy what food and drink you need in there as the hotel does not mind you taking food to your room. Staff were very friendly, the only thing i was disappointed with was the swimming pool it was so small that if you had four people in there it was crowded and in a corner so it was constantly cold , there was no balconies, but this did not stop me from having a good time.
Marrakesh it self is lovely and worth seeing ,the adults and older generation are very curtious and happy to see you but unfortunately the youngsters are very aggressive toward the western traveller and are vocal towards you, give the impression they do not want you there. There is alot to do there and the food is out of this world as well as the sights and smells!!! There is a tourist bus that takes you from A to B for about £15 pounds for 24 hrs and if you get the lonely planet guide or another guide book then you can do all the local sights yourself and only pay for entry.
If going with royal air morroc then if you have any allergies make sure and double check that they know as they didnot know i had a nut allery, but did rectify this by giving me lots of 1st class fruit!!! Also when we booked and at the uk airport it was not made aware to any passengers that we would be disembarking at casablanca for a couple of hours to then reboard our plane to carry on to marrakesh.
Also beware that if there is not enought passengers for the internal flight from marrakesh to casablanca then they do tend to cancel the flight and send you on a 2 hour bus journey to casablanca. Unfortunately we got caught out as our bus was late and we got stranded by air morroc at the airport!!!!! but they were very good and paid for full board in a hotel until the next flight the next day.
A very adventurous holiday which has not put us off as we are going again this year. hopefully the youngsters are alittle bit more friendly this time!!

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luxor1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Stayed with two other friends here for 2 nights, and then we went off on a desert tour and came back for 1 more night. They allowed us to keep our bags in the hotel, but when we came back they took such a long time to send the bags up and we had to go and get it ourselves.
the front desk guy was quite rude and didnt answer our questions properly. when we enquired about a tour into the desert, he gave us a package that was 1800 dirhams for 1 night. we ended up going to a tour agency near the djaa al fnaa (the square) which provided the same tour for 650 dirhams.
hotel right next to a huge supermarket, which was quite convenient. also right in front of the bus terminal.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasminroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

stayed here for one night as a respite from our other hotel

the staff werent very friendly, i found them to be somewhat obnoxious.
the location in the evning seemed grimy, not sure if it was safe! the entrance area and restaurant allowed us to take some good pictures. the "pool" was tiny and gross, didnt use it in October. the breakfast was fine.

we stayed at another hotel opposite the koutoubia the remainder nights and that was much better. if your looking for a personalised service this isnt it. very commercial, but okay for one night and for its price.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaytata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Darsor
Darsor
#351 of 500 in Marrakech
2 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Barroko
Riad Barroko
#340 of 500 in Marrakech
100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Moucharabieh
Riad Moucharabieh
#284 of 500 in Marrakech
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Pavillon Du Golf
Le Pavillon Du Golf
#325 of 500 in Marrakech
55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Racine
Hotel Racine
#244 of 500 in Marrakech
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Tuscia
Dar Tuscia
#295 of 500 in Marrakech
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mogador Express Bab Doukkala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mogador Express Bab Doukkala

Property: Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
Address: Angle Blvd 11 Janvier Blvd Prince Moulay Abdellah | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Mogador Express Bab Doukkala)
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #460 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mogador Express Bab Doukkala 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opposite the city Ramparts and overlooking the Atlas Mountains, the Ryad Mogador Marrakech features an outdoor swimming pool and air-conditioned rooms. It is located in Marrakesh's Medina district. The Mogador Marrakech has a restaurant serving both international and traditional Moroccan cuisine. The pool-side snack bar serves Italian food and local specialities. Guests can also enjoy a mint tea in the Tamuziga tea room. Each guest room at the Ryad Mogador includes satellite TV and a private bathroom, and room service is available. Free Wi-Fi is accessible in the hotel's common areas. With a 24-hour reception, the hotel also provides currency exchange, car hire and a babysitting service upon request. The hotel is located a 5-minute walk from the Majorelle Gardens and a 10-minute walk from Jamaa El Fna Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mogador Express Bab Doukkala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Mogador Marrakech
Riad Mogador
Ryad Mogador Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing