We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Ryad, avoid!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
Ranked #458 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
london
1 review
“Terrible Ryad, avoid!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

Nothing like the local Ryad's in the Medina. Dirty rooms that smelt of smoking from adjoining rooms. Staff were rude and tried to rip us off for Airport transfers (charging MAD120 instead of 50 from the taxis outside).

You can do much much better at a small independent Ryad. Shame of Thompson for backing this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holdendog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    121
    191
    89
    97
See reviews for
74
195
46
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bath
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

Hotel on main road not too noisy but be aware that the morroccans love to use their car horns all night long. Rooms average - no bath or tv channels except bbc world news. Good air conditioning though. Breakfast really good choice. Generally clean and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawz04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2009

Stayed here twice in a week. First room was a bit shabby, second much nicer. At least our aircon worked, unlike some of our fellow travellers. A plague of ants was swiftly dealt with by the hotel staff. The pool is tiny, cold and in shade for most of the day - shame. Altghough close to the Medina it's quite a trek from the main action, with nightmare roads to cross. Beware confusion with other Ryad Mogadors in Marrakech - even TripAdvsor get it wrong - the photos link is definitely the wrong hotel.

Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2009

We had a lovely 4 day stay at the Ryad Mogador Marrakech! It's positioned very, very close to the medina and Jema El Fnaa square - make sure you ask for a room facing the old town for a breathtaking daily view (see my video on this hotel).
Reception spoke good English, although you have to wait usually until you get some attention, since it's always very crowded and very few receptionists.
Except for the bellboy who was trying to 'fix' us up with a cab to the airport at departure for triple its cost, all staff were excellent, spoke good English and always had a smile on their face, making everything seem possible.
There was no Internet in the room, yet a very fast and reliable connection is available in the bar/bistro and reception lobby. Careful though, there's only on public electricity outlet on the ground floor, so make sure you take the couch first!
The hotel itself is huge and unfortunately has only two elevators, which can turn out to be a bit frustrating at times. There's also a supermarket literally nextdoor.
All rooms feature double windows and are rather silent; generous with space, we had a television and a bathtub in the bathroom. Everything was well kept, clean and shiny. The housekeepers on the floor made a constant impression of cleanliness.
Breakfast was the usual buffet as throughout Morocco with butter, bread, jam, a weird salami, toast, tea, coffee and orange juice plus pastry products.
The only downside of this hotel would be the advertised swimming pool, which is actually very, very, very small and although it can be 40 degrees outside the water is impossible to bathe in because they keep pumping ice-cold water in it - it was mind boggling. It's also somewhere in the back of the first floor, allowing for only 3-4 hours of full sun coming in.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Totoeskhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2009

Shabby but clean hotel, excellently located for both the medina and new town and with a very handy supermarket next door and bus station across the road, if you're up for some travelling! Previous reviews had commented on the noise, however our room was fine although it was located towards the back of the hotel and overlooked a petrol station!
Room cleaned everyday with clean towels daily and clean sheets every couple of days.
Breakfast was perfectly adequate (we stayed in 2 more up market hotels during our stay and breakfast there was much the same). One critisism however was the fact breakfast was meant to be served between 6.30-10.30 but when we went down at 10am one day everything was already cleared away!
Agree with previous comments about the unhelpful, bordering on rude, reception staff who could be very patronising.
This is clearly not a 3 star hotel by UK standards but it was 'OK' . Not the hotel for you if your idea of a good holiday is lounging by the pool!
You can eat very cheaply at local restaurants but if you want to splash out the 'Queen Atlanta' (10 mins walk from hotel) was modern, cosmopolitan, served alcohol, had live music and delicious food for £10-15 per head for 2-3 courses.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

Set at the edge of the Old Medina, this Hotel is in a great position opposite the bus station and the Bab Doukkala Gate, a kick and a step from the train station. The rooms were slightly tired, but kept fairly clean. Towels in the bathroom were in need of a good boil wash, as ours were Grey (although they should have been White). Breakfast was simple but substantial, toast, eggs, salads, bread, cake, jam orange juice and coffee. We had a Half Board booking, the evening meals, although slightly small in portion size, were very good quality.
The staff were friendly enough and attentive when required.
The Pool however was very small, the water ice cold, although each morning, the pool attendant cleaned this thoroughly and checked the chlorine levels. Around the pool was a total of 12 sun loungers, although the sun never actually hits this area until 12 noon, it can be a hassle to get a sun lounger if the hotel is busy.
We had great fun watching the disappointment on peoples faces when they came to view the pool area. Thanks to Will and Ruth from Yorkshire, this made our stay very entertaining, giggling at the new arrivals at the poolside.
Because of its location, it can be very noisy at night, if you are not a deep sleeper, avoid this hotel.
For a couple of days sightseeing or a stop off point before trekking to the Atlas Mountains, this is a great Budget Hotel, otherwise book into a better class hotel toward the New Town and Mohammed V. The Hotel would often get busy with tours stopping off for one night prior to travelling else where, or before departure from Morocco. If we return, we will stay in a better quality of the same chain, possibly the Mogador Opera, although they have a few others around Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BRYNSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

When we arrived at Mogador the receptionist wasnt very welcoming or helpful. We got checked into a room and for a double room it was quite small...however we moved out of this room because the air conditioning wasnt working. We got moved to a bigger room (one of their suites) however this was a twin room but we couldnt be bothered to complain. At one point we found a cockroach in the bathroom! The rooms are basic, decoration isnt very exciting but its value for money so if on a budget or just looking for somewhere to put down your head its a good place to stay. The rooms are tidied every day and towels are changed daily too.

The swimming pool at the hotel is very very small...you can literally only fit about 8 sunloungers around it!

Breakfast was limited but since going to 3 other hotels in Morocco I have realised this is the norm.

At the hotel you have to pay for a safe, which really should come free with the room...I think its 40Dh a night.

The hotel isnt in the medina so you are not in close proximity to the souq and jemaa el fna however its just outside the walls of the medina, opposite the bus station. From the hotel its about 20Dh to jemaa el fna.

If you are looking for local supplies there is a supermarket just underneath the hotel.

The hotel is on a busy road however I dont know if it gets loud as my room was at the back of the hotel, rooms at the front of the hotel however have amazing views of Marrakech and you can see the mountains too.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.5 mi away
Ryad Mogador Gueliz
Ryad Mogador Gueliz
#343 of 494 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ryad Mogador Agdal
Ryad Mogador Agdal
#359 of 494 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ryad Mogador Menzah
Ryad Mogador Menzah
#455 of 494 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mogador Opera
Mogador Opera
#327 of 494 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
#246 of 494 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.8 mi away
Imperial Holiday Hotel
Imperial Holiday Hotel
#472 of 494 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mogador Express Bab Doukkala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mogador Express Bab Doukkala

Property: Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
Address: Angle Blvd 11 Janvier Blvd Prince Moulay Abdellah | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Mogador Express Bab Doukkala)
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #458 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mogador Express Bab Doukkala 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opposite the city Ramparts and overlooking the Atlas Mountains, the Ryad Mogador Marrakech features an outdoor swimming pool and air-conditioned rooms. It is located in Marrakesh's Medina district. The Mogador Marrakech has a restaurant serving both international and traditional Moroccan cuisine. The pool-side snack bar serves Italian food and local specialities. Guests can also enjoy a mint tea in the Tamuziga tea room. Each guest room at the Ryad Mogador includes satellite TV and a private bathroom, and room service is available. Free Wi-Fi is accessible in the hotel's common areas. With a 24-hour reception, the hotel also provides currency exchange, car hire and a babysitting service upon request. The hotel is located a 5-minute walk from the Majorelle Gardens and a 10-minute walk from Jamaa El Fna Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mogador Express Bab Doukkala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Mogador Marrakech
Riad Mogador
Ryad Mogador Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing