We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful hidden palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Sultana Marrakech
Ranked #28 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
atlantic beach, florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“beautiful hidden palace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

This is a lovely place, as with most here the charm is well hidden behind a huge door in the corner of a bustling market. The central courtyard is beautiful, you can breakfast or dine here beneath the palms. The food and service very good. The rooms are dark and cozy, beautifully furnished and comfortable, but definitely an AliBaba cave feel, everything is oriented toward the interiors. I prefer light and openness so I would not plan a long stay. Bathrobes and Sultana toiletries are nice touches in the modern comfortable bathroom, though even here we were told NOT to use the water for tooth-brushing or drinking. Really DONT, it;s just how things are in Morocco, even in the nicest hotel apparently. Nice touches like a book closet where you can help yourself to volumes left behind by others, and leave one behind in return. The rooftop bar is magical and you can dine and watch the world go by in the streets below. A small gift shop with luxurious things too. Staff on the whole helpful but small front desk which can get a little overloaded on checkout - allow plenty of time.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank juleroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    985
    75
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
141
701
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012 via mobile

Experience was fantastic, dinners were great on the roof terrace overlooking the kasbah

Very expensive but worth the money. Location just behind the main square of Marrakech and close to getting in and out of the city...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terrell_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

This hotel is the epitome of great taste. Impeccable service yet friendly, luxury without pretention situated in an ideal location foot steps away from all the main attractions.

Food is great and rooms are gorgeous and the view from the roof terrace is breathtaking.

This hotel is an absolute must!!

L. Levac

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laurent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

This is one of those special places, the service was excellent and the accommodation out of this world. We stayed in the Tiger Room (all the rooms were named after animals), it was truly special with a huge and comfortable bed and elegantly decorated. The various courtyards all had a theme and the facilities were luxurious yet tranquil. I had a massage which was sooo relaxing.

The location was great, on the outskirts of the town and a short (10 minute) walk to the town square.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone considering a visit to Marrakech.

Room Tip: I can't imagine there's a bad one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

We have stayed in a lot of hotels all around the world and this is our favorite by far. The rooms are extremely comfortable, the service impeccable and breakfast delicious! Not only did the staff meet our every request promptly, they actually anticipated our needs several times so we didn't even have to ask!

Room Tip: We imagine all rooms to be equally good due to the nature of the layout of the hotel. Our rooms wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

This was a last minute booking - all 5 star establishments were full. We booked La Sultana as it was a group of converted Riads. It is really in the most amazing spot in the old Kasbah near the city walls and easy distance to "must see" places. The roof terrace is a marvellous bonus and just finding your way around the corridors and stairways is a visual delight. The whole place is tastefully restored and very photogenic!!
The restaurant is excellent and the ambience, due to the setting around a pool, with candles everywhere, is perfect after a day of sightseeing.

Room Tip: Check in advance for space and light as most rooms vary
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepidlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Como, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Really the most luxurious and beautiful place to stay. I couldn't believe the atmosphere, kind and thoughtful staff, and delicious food. This place was the highlight in my long vacation and one of the fondest memories I will ever have. I can't recommend it enough to someone visiting marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaclyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#39 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#27 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
1.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#17 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
0.9 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Property: La Sultana Marrakech
Address: 403 rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads. Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Prestigia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing