We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Sultana Marrakech

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Sultana Marrakech
Ranked #29 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

When you are in the hotel or having diner on the roof top listening to wonderful local music, you can easily forget the hotel is in the city.

The rooms are very quiet, the decor outstanding and the service exceptional. The outstanding management of this hotel is reflected everywhere you look. It may not have gardens but it has everything else - ambiance, quality, great food, great service, good value, wonderful customer service, outstanding rooms and it's very romantic.
Going back as soon as possible :)
NOT TO BE MISSED.

Room Tip: If you want your king bed to be just one mattress and not two beds pushed together make sure to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTruthAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    971
    74
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
140
689
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Our first time in Morocco... I splashed out a little on the hotel and hoped it would be worth it, I was NOT disappointed.

As soon as we entered the street our bags were whisked away so we didn't have to lug them around, we were escorted into a comfortable lounge to check in that was complete with fresh pastries and mint tea for us. They could not have possibly done more for us, we were
Graded and received a voucher for a spa treatment free. We got a full tour of the five stunning riads that make up the hotel (each has a different style) and were shown everything we could possibly need to know. Soft drinks are complimentary and wifi is on the house too. We were told that during our day this is our home and it actually feels that way.

Service is impeccable, everyone is smartly dressed. Everyday we have fresh rose petals placed on our new sheets and towels and the air con is a life saver in this heat!

The evening meal was beautiful (although expensive) and we didn't mind paying. I had scallops king prawn and ginger curry, while my partner had a fillet steak and it was delicious. We were served tomato and mozzarella prior to this with tomato bread which was equally as yummy.

This hotel urged me to join trip advisor to write this review as it is truly unforgettable. Nowhere I have stayed before could possibly compare and I wish to return again and again. Go - its worth it.

Room Tip: Any room is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We enjoyed our 7 night stay here so much last June that we were determined to return this year (we combined it with 4 nights at the unforgettable La Sultana Oualidia). Normally when you return to a place it never seems to capture the initial experience, however La Sultana Marrakech is quite exceptional in every way and sheer beauty of the place grips you immediately. Saida (the manager) remembered us from last year and she really made us feel at home as did all of the same charming staff.
Once inside the old city walls Marrakech really is a "full on" experience, think Indiana Jones and double it! The porters will be expecting you and they will be waiting to transport your bags up the tiny street to the hotel entrance, once inside all is calming and tranquil, the tinkling of the water fountains adding to the ambience. Delicious traditional Morrocan pastries and mint tea help you unwind.
Since we were splitting our 3 nights in Marrakech either side of the 4 nights in Oualidia we had 2 different rooms and all I can say is that the rooms are simply stunning (we stayed in Jaguar and Elephant) on the Africa floor (Zebra last year), each with a private balcony over the pool courtyard. La Sultana is a photographers paradise with so many details to capture, what you see on the web-site is only scratching the surface of this incredible place.
Saida and her staff are always ready to help with any reservations or advice and they will make your stay an unforgettable experience. A charming taxi driver called Adelmoula (the hotel have his number) who speakes excellent English offered to show us some sights in the old part of Marrakech we hadn't seen before, it was amazing. He took us to many places including The Museum of Islamic Scool of Music, a bakers who bakes bread the way it has been done for thousands of years, and a place where men shovel saw-dust into a furnace to heat hammams. He is very reasonable (cheap!).
Both breakfast and dinner are delicious pleasures at La Sultana and the settings are so romantic you will never want to leave the hotel but staff will make suggestions and bookings and lay on the transport for you. One night I left it to Sadia and she arranged a taxi which took us into the centre (5 minutes) where we transferred to a horse and cart for a short ride through the square to a recomended restuarant. The carriage driver returned after dinner to collect us (he was waiting) and a magical trip back to the hotel under the stars.
We have confirmed so many friendships and been treated so well (spoilt) we can't wait to return for a third visit next year!

Room Tip: Well worth up-grading if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londinium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

This hotel is gorgeous.
It was my first time in Marrakech and wanted to stay somewhere where it felt like Morocco.
La Sultana was perfect. The decoration is proper Moroccan. It's magical. This hotel is a place to see. It's like a museum!

The staff was very nice, the atmosphere was amazing especially at night while having dinner. There is a man playing the "guitar" (Moroccan type of instrument) and singing. It's stunning.
The roof terrace is super nice especially under the stars!

The spa is good, had a proper hammam and felt really clean!

The hotel is situated in the Medina, so be ready to get hit by the "real thing" when you exit the door of hotel. It can be pretty hard to go out, to reality. It was quite a shock for me the first day because I wasn't expecting all of this chaos. So it was always a pleasure/relief when I was back in the hotel.

If I had to go back to Marrakech, I'd stay there again. I'd just take a bigger room because they might feel a bit claustrophobic to some people. The hotel is built around different courtyards, meaning your windows face the courtyards and might not give enough light. I'd definitely go for a room on the 1st floor.

Room Tip: Higher room for more light! Ask for one when you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cristeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

I think the true test of a good hotel is not necessarily in its successes, but how it deals with its mistakes or failures (no hotel is perfect after all). This hotel was truly beautiful and offered really great service, but it truly distinguished itself with how it dealt with one of its mistakes (more on that at the end).

I stayed at La Sultana with my partner for a quick romantic getaway and we were drawn by the reviews on this site. They did not disappoint...we have had an amazing stay.
The roof terrace (where they take you for your check-in - inc. mint tea and lovely Moroccan pastries) was like a small paradise. Palm trees, wicker chairs in the shade, loungers with parasols (needed in June!), a plunge pool and a very helpful and attentive staff. In the heat of the afternoon, there are misters under the gazebo spraying quietly to keep you cool. The pool in the courtyard was absolute tranquillity and lovely in the heat of Moroccan summer. We made excellent use of their Spa (a little expensive, but well worth the top-class treatments), and would HIGHLY recommend a four-handed massage and a traditional hammam!

The Restaurant was lovely (we made a point to eat out on most nights, but for our last dinner, we couldn't resist the La Sultana tasting menu!) and the setting is truly perfect - up on the roof terrace with the musician and the adhan serenading you...it felt a little too good to be true at times! Breakfast was great and can be brought to your room at no extra cost.

As mentioned, the worst part of our stay was the excursion to the Ourika Valley (including visiting a traditional Berber village) which the hotel arranged for us. This trip just went all wrong from the very start. The 'driver' / 'guide' could not speak English or French and he stalled our 4x4 several times (not giving us a great feeling of security as he drove along some VERY precarious roads in the High Atlas). He stopped at several unscheduled places (usually friends of his who tried to sell us things) and he didn't make any effort to speak to us or explain anything. To top it all off, he took us to a restaurant for lunch which was FOUL! We both became ill as a result and could not go out the next day.

So why have I given La Sultana 5 stars despite this? Because I am willing to accept that this was caused by a bad tour agency and that the Hotel will not let this happen again. When we returned to the hotel and told them of our 'adventure', their reaction was admirable. Almost immediately afterwards, the desk manager came to find us and apologised unreservedly. She offered an explanation, made no excuses, refunded the cost and offered another day trip gratis as compensation. We could not, unfortunately, take her up on the kind offer as we only had 1 more day in the country, but even then she offered us a free guide to take us around Marrakech. I am sure if we had been able to stay at La Sultana any longer, they would have more than compensated for this error made by the outside agency they used, but perhaps this will have to wait until next time.

I can't say for sure if we will be returning to Marrakech, but I can definitely say that if I do, I would be staying at La Sultana.

Top Pros:
- Excellent staff who bend over backwards;
- stunning roof-top terrace and swimming pool; and
- great location.

Top Cons:
- Room was a little dark;
- pretty pricey (but they do offer a lot of freebies!); and
- the excursion (maybe source this yourself with a reputable company).

Room Tip: There is only once Riad with lots of light, so if you specify that you would like to have more light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed at La Sultana for 5 nights from 4 June 2012. We were really impressed by the quality of the hotel and the decor in particular is just divine. We visited a number of the other hotels in Marrakech for dinner and La Sultana was by far the best we saw. The location is also perfect for visiting the sites of Marrakech and you feel completely protected from the hustle and bustle of the city going on around you.

Having seen the layout of the hotel, I think in hindsight we would have asked for a room with as much light as possible. Our room was lovely, and there are great little things like dates on the pillow and free soft drinks from the mini-bar that add those little touches to make a stay even better. However it was very very dark - there was one very small dark stained glass window which looked out onto a corridor which meant that in reality there is no natural light at all and I had a lot of trouble waking up in the morning. Having looked at the website again though, it does warn you of this and tells you to mention it at the time of booking if you would like a room with natural light.

The hotel staff were very pleasant and courteous and always wanted to help any way they could. We ate dinner there on two nights and both nights asked for our tea to be brought to the room which they were happy to do. Saaida the general manager in particular deserves a special mention for being lovely and friendly. Everything was easy, taxi's were arranged, dinners booked, and we were even checked in on the terrace with mint tea and a welcome tray of morrocan pastries.

We ate at the hotel three times, twice for dinner (once the a la carte and once the tasting menu) and once for lunch. The tasting menu was absolutely divine, and didn't suffer from the problem a lot of Marrakech seems to have which is to provide you with so much food it's wasteful and you cannot possibly finish. Other than that I think the dishes are a bit hit and miss. The lunch was perfectly nice and very tasty food, and our starter of Morrocan salads from the a la carte was also by far the best we had, with delicate spiced flavours. Unfortunately, what let it down was the lamb couscous dish which I had on the first night. The lamb was by far the worst quality I had anywhere in Marrakech and was on a giant bed of flavourless couscous with a jug of some sort of stock which was supposed to be used as a sauce to provide flavour. The whole dish was a disaster and it was a real shame as everything else we ate at La Sultana was amongst the nicest food we had on the trip, however the lamb dish sticks in my mind as the worst thing I ate. I would still recommend the food though, and would definitely tell people to go for dinner on the beautiful terrace (avoiding the lamb dish!).

Unfortunately we arranged a tour through the hotel which did not go to plan and which we were very disappointed with and when we arrived back from the tour we did complain. Their response could not have been better, they phoned the agency they use to establish what had gone wrong, didn't charge us for the tour and offered us a chance to take another tour. Unfortunately we couldn't take them up on this as we were short on time but their response was really fantastic and I think in the circumstances they did everything they possibly could to compensate for the bad experience (even though it wasn't really their fault but the agency they book the tours through).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjstocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

great location, wonderfull rooms, delicious food, friendly and proffesional staff, unforgettable stay in heart of marrakech.

Room Tip: any room is perfect choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kobriatko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#30 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#25 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
1.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#15 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Property: La Sultana Marrakech
Address: 403 rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads. Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing