We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Escape!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Sultana Marrakech

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Sultana Marrakech
Ranked #29 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Escape!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

My partner and I recently spent 4 days at La Sultana during a week long trip to Morocco. The hotel is an oasis in the middle of the absolutely crazy Medina in Marrakesh. This is one of the nicest hotels we've stayed in anywhere. We stayed in a Deluxe suite which was very large and decorated beautifully and the pool area and roof deck are gorgeous places to hang out during your stay. All of the staff were extremely attentive and handled our every need from arranging a tour guide to a day excursion to sending out my sandals which had broken and having them back repaired in less than 24 hours. The spa is also very beautiful but it's overpriced for what you get. I enjoyed the traditional hammam bath but could have skipped the massages for that price , which is very high. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are interested in having a luxury hotel experience while also having an authentic Moroccan one.

Room Tip: Book the deluxe suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    970
    74
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
140
688
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at La Sultana for our honeymoon in August 2012. The hotel was simply breath taking. We stayed in a junior suite that we did not want to leave... were it not for the beauty of the rest of the hotel (especially the pool!).

Compared to the hustle and heat outside the walls the hotel felt like a cool palace a million miles away. The décor is stunning, the staff are great, and the entire experience is overwhelming in the best possible way. A hotel like no other that you will remember for all the right reasons.

Room Tip: ...I suspect they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S0llier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Our frist trip to Morocco and we stayed in the beautiful La Sultana. It is in real even more gorgeous than on the pictures. Entering THE hotel was really entering another world. It is THE most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed and I would definately recommend it to everybody. It is not cheap but worth every penny. Some periods they have nice offers so you will be upgraded. We stayed in THE junior suite giraffe with a nice balcony. It was quality time with excellent service. Breakfast and diner on THE roof top was perfect. THE view amazing and THE location great. I love to go back Some time. Please keep THE elephant suite for me reserved ;-)

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_C_Den_Bosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We have just returned from the most amazing holiday. Truly one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, attention to detail was faultless and all the staff made our stay very memorable, especially Saida. The roof top terrace with its views over the Medina was a beautiful setting and the food exceptional. The hotel is in a great location for the local town and is on tourist bus route, which is a must. We cant wait to go back to the Oasis and planning a return trip already.

Room Tip: All rooms are very unique in style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

This place was an oasis of generosity and calm for me after a complicated start to my morocco trip where my accommodation fell through at the airport. After hours at the airport in extreme heat, Nadia was very empathic and sweet, and patient with me in my flustered and disorganised state. She helped me book a room, and generously took time to give me clear and useful directions to get to the hotel. A big fat thankyou to our dear and genteel afternoon front desk person Khalid who followed through with our requests and bent over backwards to assist us with our every whim over our 2 day stay. He even preempted my wishes before I even made a request. Mohammed at the front desk was also jusy lovely and generous with his time assisting in arranging our forwarding itinerary.
Yes, there are some hotel flaws - the rooms are dark but each riad we have seen since, have often been dark - i think this is mostly an architectural aspect of the riad. And yes, the food at dinner was pretty plain but who cares when the service is SO GOOD, andq there are plenty of restaurants nearby if you are more particular about the quality of your food.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turkiyem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

We went to the restaurant for dinner. The hotel is beautiful, the service was very good and the restaurant is ser on the rooftop terrace so you get awesome views of the medina . Top that with some live morrocan music and you have a very ronabtic setting to share with your significant other. The price is a bit high for the quality of the food, but the place is very well worth the visit.

Helpful?
Thank AMorodo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We visited with my husband for our anniversary. Truly one of the best hotels I have ever seen. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, no detail was overlooked, no request was denied. Amazing in every sense of the word. It is located in the old town which is very convenient for site seeing, but it is a bit of a paradox as well...the hotel is luxury and peaceful and two steps from its entrance is the 'real' marrakesh. So be warned that the hotel s not a true depicition of morrocian realty... Nevertheless it is wonderful. Definitely try the restaurant and the lamb.,, one year later and we still dream of it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vickats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#30 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#25 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
1.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Property: La Sultana Marrakech
Address: 403 rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads. Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and LoveHolidays so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing