We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A stunning oasis in the Medina” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Sultana Marrakech

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Sultana Marrakech
Ranked #28 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A stunning oasis in the Medina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

A fantastic stay in a stunning Riad. A quiet oasis away from the bustle of the City. Wonderful food served in amazing surroundings. The staff could not have been more helpful. Would recommend this Riad to anyone visiting Marrakech and if you are not staying here, make sure you have dinner!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    952
    73
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
136
676
28
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

We just spent 4 days in this hotel and couldn't have asked for more. The service was exceptional, the food delicious and varied, and the architecture stunning. A wonderful oasis amidst the hustle and bustle of the streets.
And, for those of us who need to stay in touch, free wifi!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lml13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

The sister hotel of La Sultana Oualidia (a must to try), La Sultana Marrakech is divine with breathtaking architecture. The design of this hotel means everywhere you turn is like an adventure. Rooms lead onto glorious Riads. The detail in the hotel is a feast for the eyes. It is simply a beautiful treasure hidden behind two glorious golden doors.
The location of La Sultana is in the Medina (the old walled city). This area is full of character and activity verging on chaos. La Sultana provides a glorious haven from the buzz of the Medina with wonderful roof top restaurant where you can enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner. Or dinner within the Riad which features a pool.
The food is excellent. The staff are friendly and professional with warm smiles. All went out of their way to make sure our stay was so memorable.
The rooms are large and the bathrooms big with a gorgeous bath tub and dual sinks. Housekeeping was excellent.
Tip : we found our room a little too hot for a comfortable nights sleep so ask to have the temperature changed if needed as there is no control in the room.
Get a guide if it is your first time in Marrakech or if you don't want the hassle of the Souks. We had a fantastic guide (Hafid) - the hotel organised this for us. We ventured out on our own on the second day and had fun bartering in the Souks.
Just a note, if you turn hard left from the hotel on the opposite side (about 20m up) there is a large shop full of virtually everything you will find in the Souks but with set prices. So if haggling isn't your thing or if you want to benchmark pricing go here.
The biggest thing we learnt : when you start to cross the road KEEP WALKING.
Can't wait to get back to Marrakech and La Sultana. We will be recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room led off a bright cheery Riad in white and turquoise with a jacuzzi in the middle. As this r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheenaCNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

A beautiful restoration of 5 riads, tucked away from the bustle/noise/smells of the Kasbah Quarter. The central courtyard is a lovely setting for excellent food. Dinner here is a 'must', with very reasonably-priced food and wines. Lots of individual sitting areas, with a pleasant rooftop terrace. The staff provided first class service, and English was widely spoken. Do not be put off by the lack of the 'Grand Entrance'; this is a riad-style hotel, and once inside the door it is total peace. We were delighted with our suite - individual, stylish, and huge! Thank you, La Sultana, and thank you for the nice treats in our room before check-out. Much appreciated.

Room Tip: Courtyard-facing rooms with balcony are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eyefordetail2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

This is far and away the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed in. The place is magical, the rooftop terrace to die for, wonderful dining and the nicest,warmest,most professional staff. Amit's if in Marrakech

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a lovely stay at La Sultana in September. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Five riads combined, each has a different classical style and the pool area is a joy after a busy day in the soukhs. There is a large roof terrace where breakfast and dinner are served and my wife decribed her spa treatment as the best she's ever had. A short walk from the main square, the hotel is well placed in the Medina. Our room was a bit dark but overall La Sultana was all we hoped for our 30th wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: As all rooms look inward, avoid the ground floor for a bit more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen2012_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We loved everything abt this beautiful hotel. Must try is the shoulder of lamb at their restaurant! The rooms are beautifully appointed and pool and spa pools are great especially in the heat. The staff were fantastic in organizing transportation from airport & taking us on tours & driving us to Essouria.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimoneNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#30 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#23 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
1.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#14 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Property: La Sultana Marrakech
Address: 403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads.Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline and Prestigia so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing