We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arabian nights experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Sultana Marrakech
Ranked #24 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed at La Sultana mid October and had a wonderful room - Giraffe - overlooking the pool with a balcony which we made use of for morning coffee and in the evening for a digestif, listening to the musician. The hotel is magical in design and the staff so warm and friendly. I made friends with Lynne Hey and family so it is good to see her review too. Reception was excellent in recommending places to visit or sorting out any minor issues immediately. The breakfast and dinner was excellent especially the tasting menu - and the chef took the time to visit us and seek feedback. I went out and about on my own with confidence in Marrakesh, which not many women did, but I found the city exciting and vibrant with life. Despite the intgroduction of the fixed price green taxis we were overcharged and the hotel spend nearly a day getting the overcharge back for us - how is that for service? Jasmine and her husband could not have done more for us in the restaurant and we wish them well for the future. Mohammed is an asset to front of house. Our antique rug arrived from Morroco yesterday. Price started at £10,000 and we settled at £3,000 delivered and taxed UK. My husband was described as a Berber in terms of negotiation!! So lovely memories to reflect on and a stunning rug to view each day. We intend to visit La Sultana again and combine with a visit to their sister hotel on the coast and a trip to the desert.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2012

Stayed here for the last 2 weeks of October, the weather was mostly good but a few rainy days.
All of the rooms are completely different, I have never stayed anywhere quite like this, there are actually 5 Riads at this property. The location is in the Kasbah, a very busy area, taxis are unable to park directly outside of the property, they park on the street and it is a short walk to La Sultana which is like a tardis! Upon entering the area just beyond the small reception the smell of incense envelops you, Moroccan lanterns adorn the passage offering a romantic glow initiating a feeling of complete tranquillity, away from the chaos outside. The staff are excellent nothing is too much trouble, Saida is superb she organised many different activities for us, restaurants, guides, a trip to the Atlas Mountains. The Spa here is very good, I can recommend Jasmine, she is very, very strong so if you like a hard massage you will not be disappointed! If you need a cab use Abdulmoula he won't rip you off (they know him at the hotel if you ask), he even offered to pay our hotel bill when the hotel chip and pin machine didn't work! If you need a guide it costs around £15 for half a day, Havid(Hafeed) is a real gentleman and extremely knowledgeable. If you drink alcohol I would suggest you buy some duty free on the plane as all of the alcohol here appears to be quite expensive. The food at La Sultana is good as much as you like at breakfast, with a large and varied selection of produce.
This is a very busy area with a great deal going on, I was there for the first week with my 16 year old daughter and although we initially felt a little conspicuous after a couple of days we were absolutely fine. To watch belly dancing I can recommend La Comptoir but go late it starts around 10.30pm and at the weekend, ensure you have seats upstairs (although the tables are a little low). We dined at the Royal Mansour, it cost just short of £400 for 2 including drinks, mega expensive but WOW! We also visited the Kasbah Tamadot (Richard Bransons place) the property is amazing but appeared quite isolated compared to La Sultana, the food was mediocre not what we expected, to be fair it was just the one meal but we were disappointed. There are over 2600 shops in the Souks so every day is different. For me it was a holiday like no other. I hope that my comments help anyone considering a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lynne_hey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

we had a wonderful stay last week in La Sultana; extreme relaxing atmosphere amid hectic Marrakech. The staff is extremely helpful, meals are perfect and rooms heavenly...
We spend hours just relaxing with a glass of wine and a book on the roof top terras.
Highly recommended for special occasions; expensive venue, but worth the price...

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frederic m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

A fantastic stay in a stunning Riad. A quiet oasis away from the bustle of the City. Wonderful food served in amazing surroundings. The staff could not have been more helpful. Would recommend this Riad to anyone visiting Marrakech and if you are not staying here, make sure you have dinner!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahA503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We just spent 4 days in this hotel and couldn't have asked for more. The service was exceptional, the food delicious and varied, and the architecture stunning. A wonderful oasis amidst the hustle and bustle of the streets.
And, for those of us who need to stay in touch, free wifi!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lml13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

The sister hotel of La Sultana Oualidia (a must to try), La Sultana Marrakech is divine with breathtaking architecture. The design of this hotel means everywhere you turn is like an adventure. Rooms lead onto glorious Riads. The detail in the hotel is a feast for the eyes. It is simply a beautiful treasure hidden behind two glorious golden doors.
The location of La Sultana is in the Medina (the old walled city). This area is full of character and activity verging on chaos. La Sultana provides a glorious haven from the buzz of the Medina with wonderful roof top restaurant where you can enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner. Or dinner within the Riad which features a pool.
The food is excellent. The staff are friendly and professional with warm smiles. All went out of their way to make sure our stay was so memorable.
The rooms are large and the bathrooms big with a gorgeous bath tub and dual sinks. Housekeeping was excellent.
Tip : we found our room a little too hot for a comfortable nights sleep so ask to have the temperature changed if needed as there is no control in the room.
Get a guide if it is your first time in Marrakech or if you don't want the hassle of the Souks. We had a fantastic guide (Hafid) - the hotel organised this for us. We ventured out on our own on the second day and had fun bartering in the Souks.
Just a note, if you turn hard left from the hotel on the opposite side (about 20m up) there is a large shop full of virtually everything you will find in the Souks but with set prices. So if haggling isn't your thing or if you want to benchmark pricing go here.
The biggest thing we learnt : when you start to cross the road KEEP WALKING.
Can't wait to get back to Marrakech and La Sultana. We will be recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room led off a bright cheery Riad in white and turquoise with a jacuzzi in the middle. As this r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SheenaCNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

A beautiful restoration of 5 riads, tucked away from the bustle/noise/smells of the Kasbah Quarter. The central courtyard is a lovely setting for excellent food. Dinner here is a 'must', with very reasonably-priced food and wines. Lots of individual sitting areas, with a pleasant rooftop terrace. The staff provided first class service, and English was widely spoken. Do not be put off by the lack of the 'Grand Entrance'; this is a riad-style hotel, and once inside the door it is total peace. We were delighted with our suite - individual, stylish, and huge! Thank you, La Sultana, and thank you for the nice treats in our room before check-out. Much appreciated.

Room Tip: Courtyard-facing rooms with balcony are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eyefordetail2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#13 of 499 in Marrakech
1,309 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#12 of 499 in Marrakech
970 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#27 of 499 in Marrakech
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Palais Namaskar
Palais Namaskar
#94 of 499 in Marrakech
550 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
0.4 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#19 of 499 in Marrakech
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Address: 403 rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £269 - £650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads. Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing