We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the middle of the busy Kasbah”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Sultana Marrakech
Ranked #27 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Oasis in the middle of the busy Kasbah”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Excellent location, tastefully decorated riads and very friendly staff make this luxury hotel a definite recommendation! They were very flexible with breakfast times, and we really enjoyed the hamam treatments. The rooftop terrace is a great place to hang out and observe busy Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schwiizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,005
    75
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
145
712
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FRANCE
Level Contributor
226 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We spend 10 days in Marrakech and 6 in La Sultana. We had a wonderful time. The staff is lovely and very helpful. La Sultana is probably the best boutique hotel in town and the Kasbah or Median is the best place to be off season, as most of the hotel in the Palmeraie are empty. Also you can walk to the Medina from it.
We visit most of the top hotels and really the Sultana is the most beautiful one. The renovation is spectacular and the furniture are gorgeous.
One little point I will prefer that the all breakfast will be serve than on a buffet...I don't like buffet

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PIXSQUARED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

The hotel is ok located if you want to stay in the Medina, but frankly it's nicer outside. The rooms, service, staff, spa, etc. is simply not good. This should be not more than a 2-3 star hotel. Disappointing and not worth the price at all.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lasultana, Directeur général at La Sultana Marrakech, responded to this review, 27 October 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.

Our property may not have been the regular hotel experience you were looking for as effectively La Sultana Marrakech is "off the beaten track" and offers real authenticity amongst historical monuments.

La Sultana Marrakech is about enjoying relaxing holidays and being able to make the most of the UNESCO listed Medina and the souks at the same time. Indeed, the neighborhood is very authentic with ancient houses and little shops shaped by time. This is actually one of the reasons the Medina has been listed as World Heritage as it is “an ancient habitat and represents an outstanding example of a living historic town with its tangle of lanes, its houses, souks (…)”. Another reason is the decisive role the Medina of Marrakech has played in medieval urban development, as an urban model for other Moroccan cities like Fès. The Medina is really what makes the red city worth visiting for few days and our guests enjoy a lot being able to visit the Medina and being able to walk back for any reasons to relax at the swimming pool, at the spa or having a lunch on the rooftop.

The quality of service is our priority as 5-star Luxury property to be attentive and kind as we deeply care about our guests. We work hard to make everything perfect in the rooms, at the Spa, at the Restaurant and as we all are human beings we encourage our guests to come to us in the minute they have a little something bothering them.

We well remember your stay with us and we emailed you but we haven't received any response. We stay available to review what went wrong exactly so that we understand your rating and improve our service for other travelers.

All the staff of “La Sultana Marrakech”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

This place is spectacular. It's in the medina of Marrakech in the kasbah area and from the outside doesn't look like much. In fact from the street you wouldn't even know that this very large hotel is even there. Inside it's a beautiful restoration of several traditional riads, each one more eye-popping than the last for their elegant traditional interiors. There is a large swimming pool in the final courtyard. Meals are served around the pool. The restaurant is superb. Everything we ate was good but we particularly recommend the sampler menu to get an idea of fine Moroccan cuisine and the skills of the chef. Our suite was lovely, a two-story affair with all sorts of nooks and and fine Moroccan furniture. I suppose every room is different in layout and/or furnishings so you might want to take a look at yours before you accept it. The staff are highly professional. There is a very pleasant planted roof terrace where you can also eat and drink and look out over the daily life of the medina. The medina itself is fascinating, although the speeding mopeds that go swerving and honking up and down the narrow alleys are really dangerous and detract from the experience. The whole atmosphere of the medina must have been so different before the masses of mopeds arrived on the scene.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eric g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Our family (3 children) spend a lovely full week at la Sultana this fall. The staff was great with the kids and the service was perfect, making our holiday a very peaceful and pleasant one. We were initially planning to spend 3 days then try another hotel in the Palmeraie but after 3 days there we decided to finish the week in this riad.
Rooms were great, and we would highly recommend the appartment, which is gorgeous. Very important for us, the place is quiet and extremely clean. In a word, it was a real treat.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eric p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

great luxurious rooms, amazing surroundings. Only tiny complaint that the pool was on the small side and in the ground floor which is too shaded but we made up for it by sunbathing on the roof terrace! will be coming back!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elgreko69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed at La Sultana mid October and had a wonderful room - Giraffe - overlooking the pool with a balcony which we made use of for morning coffee and in the evening for a digestif, listening to the musician. The hotel is magical in design and the staff so warm and friendly. I made friends with Lynne Hey and family so it is good to see her review too. Reception was excellent in recommending places to visit or sorting out any minor issues immediately. The breakfast and dinner was excellent especially the tasting menu - and the chef took the time to visit us and seek feedback. I went out and about on my own with confidence in Marrakesh, which not many women did, but I found the city exciting and vibrant with life. Despite the intgroduction of the fixed price green taxis we were overcharged and the hotel spend nearly a day getting the overcharge back for us - how is that for service? Jasmine and her husband could not have done more for us in the restaurant and we wish them well for the future. Mohammed is an asset to front of house. Our antique rug arrived from Morroco yesterday. Price started at £10,000 and we settled at £3,000 delivered and taxed UK. My husband was described as a Berber in terms of negotiation!! So lovely memories to reflect on and a stunning rug to view each day. We intend to visit La Sultana again and combine with a visit to their sister hotel on the coast and a trip to the desert.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 500 in Marrakech
1,212 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#32 of 500 in Marrakech
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 500 in Marrakech
1,985 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#42 of 500 in Marrakech
370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 500 in Marrakech
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Property: La Sultana Marrakech
Address: 403 rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads. Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing