We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Sultana Marrakech
Ranked #29 of 495 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“beautiful and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

The hotel is in the casbah section of the Medina. You would never guess what luxury is hidden behind the plain exterior. The staff are warm and courteous and friendly. The food was superb. The rooms are luxurious. Off season, the price is about 350 euros a day, but off-season gets really hot.Lovely dining around an inside pool and rooftop breakfasts with views of stork nests, TV antennas and mosques wherever you look. Our first trip to a muslim country. Hectic., growing city, exotic and a pleasure.

Room Tip: They are all good. Best value is on the edge of off-season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ercham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    985
    75
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
141
701
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

One of the best hotels we have stayed in.
Truly beautiful surroundings in the middle of the Medina.
From the moment we have arrived every little detail of our trip was taken care of and nothing was too much trouble. Every staff member made us feel they do their best to make our stay as pleasurable and comfortable as possible, but the real star in there is Saida.
Rooms are fantastic, roof top terrace with a restaurant with good food, views over the Medina and live music, spa with relaxing treatments.
It was so peaceful, we felt like we were the only guests in there.
Not one thing to dislike, place definitely worth staying or in our case going back to.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in this lovely oasis of calm in the middle of chaotic Marrakech. From the moment we checked in which was made to feel very pleasant in itself. We felt like we were the only guests in the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for the wonderful staff here. Our room was a basic twin which my friend and I found to be perfectly adequate. Bathroom very well equipped. No complaints at all there. Nice touch to have daily complementary water and soft drinks in the room. Swimming pool which I believe is quite rare for a riad to have was small but perfectly formed. The spa and treatments we had were lovely, could have gone every day had funds permitted! Breakfast was simple but just enough and the food a lunchtime delicious. The riad is perfectly situated in the Kasbah and a short walk from the lively main square and souks. Superb staff who really made us feel special and they were there to make us happy. Would highly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tina a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

I travel abroad maybe half a dozen times a year and have only ever been compelled to do one review because the hotel I stayed in, in Cannes, was so bad. But , I felt only for the second time in a few years to write another but this time for the opposite reason. This hotel is wonderful ! It was a calm and beautiful hideaway and was so peaceful it could have been in the middle of a desert but in fact if you walk out on to the street you were in the bustling Medina. We had a perfect room called ' Puma ', a strange name for a room but it was lovely. From the moment we walked in to the room and closed the door we felt we were in our own little world, peaceful, quiet and very very relaxing.

Every single member of staff from the reception, to the bell boy, to the restaurant staff and the spa , could not have been any better. Always with genuine smiles and so friendly and helpful.

Only 28 rooms, you feel like you have the whole place to yourself, very romantic and a very special place.

Just inside the Medina walls and only a ten minute walk from the main square.

A special mention must be made for our guide who was recommended by the hotel, Moulat. A very friendly , decent and unimposing man who showed us things we would not have seen had we just walked around on our own. He made Marrakesh a much more memorable holiday for us and we would totally recommend that you use him if you stay at the hotel.

In the last couple of years I have stayed at some great hotels like the Carlton in Cannes, the Victoria Grand in Switzerland and Villa D'este in lake Como, and the Sultana Marrakesh is every bit as good but with a special ambience and very personal service that larger hotels could only aspire to be like.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstone
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed for 5 nights - I arrived with a broken foot ( accident 7 days prior to arrival ) - on day 3 foot would take no weight - so Saida (front desk manager) took us to hospital - cutting thro all red tape !! Beyond call of duty - the whole experience was like that - they couldn't do enough for us - very charming , friendly , great food , delightful surroundings , and on a par with La Residencia in Majorca ! Will go again for w/end break .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Hard to fault - impeccable service in beautiful surroundings, in the heart of Marrakech. Only downside is that the pool is separate from the rooftop 'sun bathing area'. This might be better in the middle of summer as the pool is in a tranquil, shaded area, but when we were there, at the end of May, it was a little cool.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 998Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a gorgeous, well apportioned room which was tastefully decorated but benefited from all mod cons. La Sultana is a boutique, authentic property which is beautifully designed and superbly located in the Kasbah area of the Medina. Our welcome consisted of fresh mint tea and delightful pastries followed by a tour of the hotel which is formed from the amalgamation of a number of raids. Breakfast was served by the pool or on the roof terrace. Food was wonderful and fresh. All the staff we encountered could not do enough for us and this hotel can not come more highly reccommeded.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamuelJames21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#40 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#28 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
1.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#17 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
0.9 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Property: La Sultana Marrakech
Address: 403 rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads. Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing