We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little oasis in the crazy Medina”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Sultana Marrakech
Ranked #27 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Little oasis in the crazy Medina”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

After two nights in the Palmeraie region of the city, my husband and I headed to the medina for one night. La Sultana is in the Kasbah region of the medina and a 10 minute walk to the jemaa el fna (main square). We were greeted when we arrived by the luggage porter and welcomed into the main Riad (La Sultana is 5 small riads joined together) and offered traditional Moroccan Tea and pastries. We were shown all around the hotel and then to our room - the Lion apartment. Beautifully authentic old Marrakech. We had drinks on the roof, listening to the magical call to prayer and were only sorry that we had dinner reservations elsewhere that night. Khalid on the Front Desk was an angel - always smiling and nothing was too much trouble for him. A lovely property and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,005
    76
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
146
712
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This hotel is great in every way. The local is fantastic,10 minutes from the medina centre. The style is very traditional and authentic, loads of lovely artifacts and magical little corners of peace, but also very luxurious. Nice ppol, alhtough a bit crowded during the afternoon. Our room was the apartment, a great option for a family of 4. Breakfast was really good on the terrace, but the dinner on the roof was truly outstanding - the tasting meal at around £60 per head without wine was a high cost but the food and location and service made is very special - highly recommended. Nothing to fault on this hotel; five star all the way!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkCooper_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUH
Level Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

After staying at the Sofitel in Casablanca and Palais Royal in Fez we hadn't found the Moroccan experience we were looking for yet; that blend of traditional Moroccan elegance and hospitality delivered in a contemporary style. This place was just perfect. The four differently styled Riad courtyards, the historic entranceway, the beautiful pool, delightful rooftop restaurant. Everything worked so well. The service was fabulous and attentive. Will be recommending this to all our friends. The evening musician was fabulous and captivated our 2 year old who now owns an Oud.

Room Tip: The rooms have different styles, talk to the hotel about this as part of selecting where you will st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpe156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Myself and three friends recently stayed at the Sultana, we had rather a fraught journey over but on arrival at the Riad, all was quickly forgotten. The reception staff ushered us through and served us tea and pastries whilst they performed all the check in formalities for us. We were then shown to our beautiful rooms, these really were quite something. We ate in the restaurant upstairs, beautiful setting, the food was good but it probably didn't live upto the places we ate on the other nights. The pool in the courtyard is a haven from the heat and hustle and bustle of Marrakech, we always had a choice of sun loungers, this may have been due to the fact we were there in "low" season though. The treatments offered aren't cheap but certainly enable you to relax properly. The location of the Riad is excellent, only a 10 minute walk from the main square with all the Souks etc etc. In short, a great place to stay and I'd happily come back for another break.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tom_uk1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The reviews on this hotel are 100% true. The hotel is beautiful, the staff are attentive and the service was amazing. My husband and I had a mini weekend break and stayed 2 nights in the Pelican room. We also had our evening meal in the restaurant and were not disappointed. I particularly appreciated the musician who played throughout the evening and really put the ambience into the evening.
I'd like to give special thanks to the staff member ( Clark Kent lookalike with the glasses ) who ran after us when we were leaving to hand me my Iphone which I had mistakenly forgotten in the IPOD docking station - thank you.
Overall if u are looking for ultimate luxury, impeccable service and first class food, this is the hotel you should book. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jinUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel is absolutely beautiful, it's set amongst a series of courtyards, each with a unique feel and style. The roof terrace is simply perfect to enjoy the last of the afternoon sun and escape the noise and bustle of Marrakech. Our room was lovely, other reviews have commented on the rooms being dark, I found this kept the room cool, private and also provided the perfect conditions for a great nights sleep.

The restaurant food was wonderful, and service on the whole very good, reception staff in particular were fantastic, providing some good advice and booking cabs etc. Service at breakfast was sometimes a little slow, but the staff were always polite.

Would love to return to the Sultana and would recommend to anyone looking to experience a bit of luxury in Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jac P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This gem of a hotel rests in the heart of the Medina close to all of the sights and sounds of the Kasbah. We arrived late but were met with a smile and some welcome refreshments and pastries.

You must try the restaurant - it isn't cheap (£90 for a three course meal for two with no alcohol) but the ambience of the roof-top together with the excellent menu choice makes it worth a go. Breakfast is buffet style with a good choice of fresh fruit, cereals, eggs, breads and meat etc.

Rooms are lovely - we had a junior suite and the fridges are stocked daily with free soft drinks.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 500 in Marrakech
1,213 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#32 of 500 in Marrakech
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#15 of 500 in Marrakech
1,985 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#43 of 500 in Marrakech
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 500 in Marrakech
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Property: La Sultana Marrakech
Address: 403 rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads. Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing