We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful little boutique hotel right out of a dream”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Sultana Marrakech
Ranked #27 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Hue, Vietnam
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful little boutique hotel right out of a dream”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Each room is uniquely decorated and designed, with riads in the middle. The staff is really helpful and make your stay amazing! The food, no matter in the restaurant or on the terrace, is excellent and solely Maroccan. Worth the price!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene1112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,006
    76
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
146
712
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at La Sultana in Marrakech. I must admit that the staff ensure the stay is amazing every time. The rooms are unique and beautiful. The service is exceptional. Since the hotel is smaller and more intimate, the service is very personalized. The front desk and concierge provide excellent tips on where to go and how to go around the city. The staff at the restaurant are friendly and helpful. Saida and the entire team at La Sultana always ensure the stay is enjoyable and memorable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SD1andonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L'Etang-la-Ville, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Excellent welcome in the Sultana, restaurant is delicious, food at the top, and quiet and fantastic area. We spend 4 wonderful days. Riads are really very nice and the personal is discret and always "smily". To summ, Sultana is a real top Riad.

Room Tip: Wonderful and quiet, service at the top. Rooms are
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

If your looking for a riad style smaller hotel but with facilities within the walls/scruffiness of the old city as opposed to the large modern hotels in the newer well laid out part of town then La Sultana meets this requirement though it is expensive. It is has a number of different riad style covered courtyards plus an indoor pool/inside dining area as well as rooftop terrace dining/drinks and soak pool. It also has a spa and a pc lounge. We dined out at other top restaurants in town so cant comment about the food but Saida especially and the front desk staff were excellent and extremely helpful. Housekeeping Staff and kids outside hotel entrance could be a bit noisy in the morning when we were trying to sleep late.
Marrakesh itself
The old city is very busy-we stayed 3 days but felt it could be done in a full single day to get the experience ie souks which are endless sheds of various objects mainly tat and old palaces/religious school all of similar design without any furnishings ie walls/floor/ceilings only but cheap to enter. Remember that the call to prayer occurs at 530am. We had a hot air balloon flight with Marrakesh by air to see sunrise over the atlas mountains and that was excellent though doesn't actually travel much distance.

Room Tip: we were on the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulinDorridge87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

LaSultana Marrakech is comprised of a cluster of four beautiful large riads. Its French owners - or someone - looks like they had fun decorating the place with brocade curtains, heavy carved wood doors, marble floors, over-sized silver and pottery tea pots, lovely blue and white tiled courtyards. The decor is whimsical; a blend of Morocco meets rococo meets Victorian mansion meets African safari.
But riads seem too small to over-decorate with heavy furniture. I don't get why hotels in Marrakech want to infuse the African theme. For one there are no lion, buffalo or giraffe left in Morocco. The African art doesn't seem to work with a decor that seems to strive for sumptuous elegance and so comes off as gimmicky.
The Hammam was incredible (ask for Helen) but the massage so-so.
Food generally good if inconsistent. I thought the European dishes were better than the Moroccan.
LaSultana is meant to be a five-star hotel, but the service is two star at best. I paid 500 dirham ($60) for a room service dinner with no wine - the risotto was delicious - but it was delivered on a tray with no drinking glasses. The plastic water bottle with a torn label was lying on its side.
Butter is served in cheap little plastic tubs.
There's a lovely dining area on the roof but in case it's cold and windy there are no other dining areas.
The rooms - three categories. The least expensive is way too small and the most expensive ridiculously large with two rooms, a living area you never use. The Queen size room is the best value but they seem booked up early.
My last day I asked reception to arrange a car to take me to Tangiers. The manager beamed and gave me a quote that was $200 over an amount for a similar car I wound up arranging for myself.
The hotel is clean, well-tended and tranquility pervades.
The staff was friendly and accommodating. But, for me, a five star hotel is not just about decor and a smiling staff.

Room Tip: Queen size facing inner court yard to avoid screaming neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AliceinMaasailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is our 2nd time in Marrakech, weve stayed at the 4 seasons which is amazing but we decided to extend our stay and the 4 seasons was full so we found this little gem!
On arrival, i was a wee bit thrown by the entrance and a bit apprehensive as its on a random market street with an abundance of mopeds and stalls but..... wow! First impressions are most deceiving...
This lovely wee boutique hotel is so quirky, but un a very Moroccan chic way.
The staff are so attentive and lovely, our room is very Moroccan, a wee bit aladdin esque but very stylish with it.
The food is fabulous but our 1 down fall is the breakfast... if you love croissants, bread, cheese and eggs, lovely but itd be nice to have more options, small smudge on the perfect score id give this place.
My high point was when i asked the lovely lady from the spa (who came round as we were sunbathing)
She was an absolute legend and managed to arrange the manicurist to come and do my hands and toes in the sun... amazing service.
Another small detail is that there is a slight lack of pools, we've spent most of our time on the lovely flowery, tree lined roof but there is only a tiny 4x16(ish) plunge pool.
There is a slightly larger pool downstairs but i cant comment as i never got there.
All in all... a fantastic few days, definitely worth checking out if youd like a wee taste of marrakech x

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

WOW, its just amazing! I travelled with 12 girls in october 2013 and we had a wonderful long lunch at the amazing rooftop restaurant looking at the beautiful sunset while drinking champagne. A nice memory! I would LOVE to stay here forever....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
1,215 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#32 of 499 in Marrakech
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#15 of 499 in Marrakech
1,987 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#47 of 499 in Marrakech
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 499 in Marrakech
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Property: La Sultana Marrakech
Address: 403 rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads. Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing