We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic splurge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Sultana Marrakech
Ranked #27 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A fantastic splurge”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband decided to treat me to this fabulous Riad just a few blocks from the Medina. The location is deceiving as you enter a narrow alley with people selling spices on the street and at the end you find a front door were you are invited to check in while enjoying local sweets and mint tea in a beautiful private garden. Our room was excellently appointed and the service was superb. Although if I ever go back I would love to stay at one of the suites. We tried the restaurants and everything was good and beautifully presented. The spa is the best in Marrakech, so be sure to try it. We enjoyed the Hamman together and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VBcincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,020
    77
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
150
717
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Slinfold, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Lovely place to escape from our busy lives. Renovated to a high standard with beautiful furnishings. If peace, privacy and relaxation is what you're after then this hotel ticks all the boxes. Extremely comfortable rooms, good showers, utterly charming staff who all bothered to know your name and make you feel welcome. Great roof terrace perfect for sunbathers with a stocked bar and cool restaurant for breakfast and lunch. Food is simple and easy in true Moroccan style - recommend the Pigeon Pastilla. The spa was excellent especially the massage - best I've had by far for a very long time - the masseuse knew what she was doing which is quite rare nowadays. The street is on your doorstep with the souk a stones throw away but have to say I couldn't wait to cross the threshold back in to the calm of this delightful Moroccan getaway.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vickyw870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

From a chaotic street with no hotel in site, up an alleyway and into tranquility and peace. Service perfect, surroundings perfect. Difficult to believe that just outside is busy city life and all that goes with it. With only 26 rooms it was never going to feel busy but it really did feel empty. The roof terrace was cleverly used for sun loungers during the day and dinner tables at night. Expensive but not over the top for such a luxurious hotel. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hue, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Each room is uniquely decorated and designed, with riads in the middle. The staff is really helpful and make your stay amazing! The food, no matter in the restaurant or on the terrace, is excellent and solely Maroccan. Worth the price!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene1112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at La Sultana in Marrakech. I must admit that the staff ensure the stay is amazing every time. The rooms are unique and beautiful. The service is exceptional. Since the hotel is smaller and more intimate, the service is very personalized. The front desk and concierge provide excellent tips on where to go and how to go around the city. The staff at the restaurant are friendly and helpful. Saida and the entire team at La Sultana always ensure the stay is enjoyable and memorable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SD1andonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L'Etang-la-Ville, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Excellent welcome in the Sultana, restaurant is delicious, food at the top, and quiet and fantastic area. We spend 4 wonderful days. Riads are really very nice and the personal is discret and always "smily". To summ, Sultana is a real top Riad.

Room Tip: Wonderful and quiet, service at the top. Rooms are
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

If your looking for a riad style smaller hotel but with facilities within the walls/scruffiness of the old city as opposed to the large modern hotels in the newer well laid out part of town then La Sultana meets this requirement though it is expensive. It is has a number of different riad style covered courtyards plus an indoor pool/inside dining area as well as rooftop terrace dining/drinks and soak pool. It also has a spa and a pc lounge. We dined out at other top restaurants in town so cant comment about the food but Saida especially and the front desk staff were excellent and extremely helpful. Housekeeping Staff and kids outside hotel entrance could be a bit noisy in the morning when we were trying to sleep late.
Marrakesh itself
The old city is very busy-we stayed 3 days but felt it could be done in a full single day to get the experience ie souks which are endless sheds of various objects mainly tat and old palaces/religious school all of similar design without any furnishings ie walls/floor/ceilings only but cheap to enter. Remember that the call to prayer occurs at 530am. We had a hot air balloon flight with Marrakesh by air to see sunrise over the atlas mountains and that was excellent though doesn't actually travel much distance.

Room Tip: we were on the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulinDorridge87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
1,229 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#29 of 499 in Marrakech
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#44 of 499 in Marrakech
374 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#80 of 499 in Marrakech
1,965 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#38 of 499 in Marrakech
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Property: La Sultana Marrakech
Address: 403 rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads. Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Prestigia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing