We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Sultana Marrakech
Ranked #27 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 27 January 2010

Great hotel - expensive but a true once in lifetime place and city . Staff were great from start to checkout - Spa was relaxing if expensive . Rooms bold and bright . If you not looking for value but an experience do it !

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADTMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,032
    78
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
155
721
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2010

We were recommended to stay at La Sultana over the New Years period by a travel agency. Although it was the most expensive of the options, we opted for it because we felt with its five-star rating, we could trust that we would have a good experience considering the premium we were paying. How wrong could we have been?!

La Sultana might be one of the most expensive hotel options in Marakech but it is also probably the most over the top in terms of gaudiness.

All of the inner courtyards of the hotel were covered with a clear plastic sheetwhich made the riad courtyards feel very stuffy, which is the opposite of why the Riads had these courtyards to begin with. There was no ventilation so when dinner was cooking in the courtyard below, all the cooking exhaust filtered into the bedrooms leaving oily lamb fumes to stagnate where we slept.

The hotel rooms were fitted out in a style that was way too over the top and not at all comfortable. We stayed in three of their deluxe suites so these should have been some of their best rooms but they were appaulling. The rooms were too dark and the usability of the rooms was terrible with large empty spaces in some areas and cramped uncomfortable furniture in others.

Outside of these subjective taste issues we also had a plethora of cleanliness and maintenance issues which isn't acceptable for a 5 star establishment.

The toilet flush in one of our hotel rooms didn't work when we first arrived and a main part had to be replaced. Also the light switch in the toilet didn't work. This makes me wonder when the last time was that anyone used this room. A dark non functioning toilet isn't something that wouldn't go unnoticed for very long.

The light switch for the "study" in my room also wasn't working, which again brings into question when the last time was this room actually rented out.

There was no thermostat control for the air-conditioning unit in one of our rooms, which meant that we either slept in a stuffy room or an absolutely freezing one.

Several television channels worked only intermittently with the sound cutting in and out randomly.

There was no wifi access in the hotel rooms. Some rooms had very limited access that cut off frequently making it totally unusable.

Several stray hairs in the bathtub and the sink areas were discovered upon entering one of the rooms. I am refering to the short-curly variety. Yuck.

A half drunk bottle of water was found in the mini-bar when we first arrived in one of the rooms.

The beds were very uncomfortable and the blankets were just sheets and a thin blanket. Not a duvet and soft feather down pillows, like what most good hotels have moved to.

The safes in the all the bedrooms weren't screwed into the shelf they were sitting on, so anyone could just walk out with the entire thing under their arms.

Half used shampoo and shower gel bottles, sticky from previous use and multiple refillings were found in the bathrooms.

At breakfast, we took a butter packet from the buffet and opened it to discover the butter had turned and congealed. Half of the jam jars at the buffet were also sticky and had obviously been refilled after guests had failed to use the entire contents. Not hygienic and definitely not my idea of five-star.

Finally, we were obliged to have new years eve dinner at the hotel as a condition of staying in the hotel for this period. In general, the evening put on by La Sultana was just average with 40% of the main-courses that arrived on our table being completely overcooked and inedible. In fairness this was promptly replaced once we pointed it out but should not have been served in the first place considering we were charge €250 a head for this meal!

This was obviously a very big let down after coming from the high what was Dar Ahlam which I would highly recommend if visiting Skoura. Also with the fact that there are so many amazing hotels in Marrakech, it is just a very big missed opportunity to not have an amazing hotel to come back to after spending our days out in Marrakech.

Because our flight was delayed, we had to spend one more night in Marrakech. We opted for Maison MK which was a fraction of the price to stay in but gave us an exponentially experience. The common areas and rooms were breathtaking and most importantly, immaculate. The staff were wonderful and friendly. And there was not a congealed butter packet in site. Definitely go to Maison MK instead if you are thinking of La Sultana. You're wallets will thank you for it and you'll have a much better experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pulundabung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2009

The approach to the Riad is the beginning...it puts you off...The reception does not know how to welcome or say goddbye to their guests. No air and light. The rooms kind of get stuffy! the only interesting part is its rooftop terace.
Some of its staff is very unfriendly. They need to be trained and treat all alike.
We loved Marakkech and many other Riads and would definitely make a second trip but will NOT stay at La Sultana!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita2054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Malling, Kent
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

La Sultana is a simply fantastic Riad-style hotel, located at the north end of the Kasbah adjacent to the Sadian tombs (you can look down into the tombs from the rooftop). It's about a 10 minute walk from Djemaa el Fna & the main souks.

The hotel comprises 5 inter-connecting riads, each decorated in an individual style. The attention to detail is superb. A roof terrace covers all 5 riads, which provides a large open area for sunbathing / relaxing - there's a rooftop bar, shaded lounges and a small plunge pool for cooling off.

We stayed in the 'Antelope' room in the Sultan Riad, which has its own little plunge pool (great for cooling your heels after a day in the souks). The 4 ground-floor rooms in this riad each have outside seating areas.

I would agree with other reviewers that the Hippopotamus and Chameleon rooms, which open directly onto the pool / restaurant areas are possibly a bit noisy, but the hotel as a whole is amazingly quiet and calm.

The Spa is lovely. We didn't take any of the paid-for treatments, though the jacuzzi is free to residents, which is a sumptuous romanesque marble-pillared room.

Things to note: There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms. English channels on the TV are limited to BBC news and CNN. There is free Internet access via a PC (French keyboard / windows). There isn't any Wi Fi access (I must admit I didn't ask, but I couldn't pick up any WI FI signal from our room or the pool area). It took us a couple of days to discover the DVD player (on top of the minibar in one of the cupboards).

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morphology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Just returned from the Sultana, where we had a great time. The building is absolutely beautiful inside - antique artefacts, cool courtyards with palm trees and roses, a good gym, comfortable loungers and very helpful staff. It is well located close to most of the top tourist sites, seconds away from the hustle and bustle but very quiet & peaceful.

The food in the restaurant was plentiful and good quality, with musicians and subtle lighting adding to the atmosphere. Internet was free and we seemed to be the only ones using it, or the gym - they have a top class running machine.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackieathome_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Just returned from Marrakech after a 3 night stay at La Sultana with my wife and her parents. Situated in the bustling Kasbah area to the south of the medina, the hotel is just up a small alley off one of the busy streets. Once you enter through the large golden doors, the noise behind disappears.

The hotel is a combination of four riads merged into one hotel - with a maze of corridors and winding stairs leading off to increasingly opulent rooms. The attention to detail in every aspect and finish is incredible - and you can really see why the hotel has been used in countless magazines. Each of the suites has it's own theme and is almost worth a tour just to see the intricate designs alone. The hotel was vast - with a number of courtyards, one for the pool, another for a water garden, and another with a jacuzzi and above the spa. When we arrived we were greeted with an array of delicious pastries and a glass of mint tea.

My wife and I stayed in the spacious Crocodile junior suite - a stunningly red room with intricate carvings and a grand king-sized bed. The bathroom was also something else - with gold finishings, a marble bath and shower area. The windows of the room looked inward to the centre of the riad courtyard on the first floor.

My parents in law were lucky to be upgraded to the Hippopotamus suite, due to a problem with the air-conditioning in their first room. Situated over two floors, and with two balconies, it was simply incredible, again with its own themes and exotic finishing. The bathroom had two levels itself - with steps up to a stunning plunge-pool style jacuzzi. Air conditioning worked very well in both rooms, which was particularly crucial as our first day was 43 degrees...

On our first night we ate at the restaurant on the spacious roof terrace. The food was wonderful - sampling an assortment of delicious salads, harrira soup (definitely try this), along with varying tagine and cous-cous dishes, all of which were to a high standard. This was accompanied by live musicians in the corner, creating an incredible atmosphere.

One thing we did notice - and something you have to get used to - was that service was fairly slow everywhere (particularly evident in bars and restaurants). It was simply just that life was so much more relaxed there. It made us realise how ridiculously fast-paced our lifestyle is back home. This is most summed up when you take a taxi ride around the city. To say driving is erratic there is an understatement - nobody knew how to drive, or in fact where to drive, and so quite often cars would end up on the opposite side of the road, face to face with another. People don't drive quickly there though, so we only once saw an accident, which was a minor bump.

Just looking over the wall of the roof terrace in the early morning let us watch life unfold down below - with stalls selling fresh fish, fruit and pastries quickly appearing. The view from here was something else - a panorama all round Marrakech and to the Atlas mountains.

The city itself was a sensory overload, with a bombardment of sights, sounds and smells! We decided to book a local guide for a day and a half, which was a very wise investment - and he took us on a tour of the city, through the Kasbah, into the Saadian tombs, through alleys across town, past the Koutobia, the Djemaa el Fna and into the labyrinth of souks. We visited stores akin to Aladdin's Cave and into a grand carpet store (where we did feet tests on an array of rugs!). He was most helpful in the souks though - fending off over-eager sellers and beggars, and keeping an eye to make sure we weren't ripped off. Frankly though, all you need to say is a simple 'Non' and people get the message - nobody went too far, we never felt threatened (as some reviewers have said) and the people were friendlier than in the majority of European cities. In fact, the banter with sellers and at the Djemaa el Fna at night was part of the fun.
Anyway - I could go on for ages, so here's a list of recommendations:
- hotel - as above, it is very expensive, but quite simply the most exotic place we have ever stayed, with service and attention to detail to match. The spa is also incredible.
- Djemaa el Fna - a chaotic frenzy of activity and sensory overload you would be crazy to miss out on. Snake charmers and monkeys by day, endless food stalls and storytellers by night.
- Le Marrakchi - a restaurant on the side of the main square, and has wonderful food at reasonable prices, with the best view on the second floor - but be warned you should sit next to a window as it got very hot in there.
- Cafe de France - sit back with a fresh orange juice on the roof terrace. You will not get a better view in the city.
- Le Riad Monceau - a small riad with a small restaurant near to the square, the food was simple but nice.
- camel trekking - in the Palmeraie to the north of the city.
- Jardin Majorelle - beautiful gardens, with vibrant blue, restored by Yves Saint Laurent.
- Saadian Tombs - definitely worth a visit.
- souks - goes without saying - go when it's busiest in the morning!!
- food and drink. Fresh orange juice. Is amazing. Also, the food was wonderful - kefta (meatballs in a tomato sauce with an egg on top) was amazing, as was harira soup and also berber breads.
- mint tea. Best. Drink. Ever. We rarely felt the need for alcohol, and it was a blessing that few places served it. Why don't they make this drink more in England?

Bear in mind...
- it can be expensive in town, and try to remember the exchange rate when you are bartering (think how much you'd value the purchase back home). We had to bring someone down from 9000 dirhams to 1500 in one store for a some antiques. The same applies to taxis - agree the rate before you get in. Most times they will ask you for the price first, so go in way below your ideal amount.
- take sterling or Euros. You can change at La Sultana, and there are loads of ATMs around town, which we had to use. Many places didn't take card (despite guidebooks saying that most did...).
- be sensible. Although we had a guide, when we didn't, we just used common sense around town. In the souks and Djemaa el Fna, most people will try to stop you to engage in conversation before getting you to buy something. Watch for the Henna tattoo artists too - dont let them grab your hand!! A simple 'Non' does the trick. If you take a photo of a snake charmer expect to pay them.

If you want an oasis of calm to return to in the city, then I'd definitely recommend La Sultana. The location was perfect and we could not fault it. Ignore previous reviews - I cannot understand why this hotel is not nestled at the top of the list. Marrakech is a wonderful place with incredible people, and we will be going back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swempo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

My husband and I stayed in La Sultana for 4 days having stayed at the Kasbah Tamadot in the Atlas mountains for the first part of our trip. Unfortunatly for La Sultana, I doubt any hotel could easily follow Tamadot... that said for the prices they charged the hotel was just not up to scratch.

First the good stuff... The hotel itself was very nicely present - a new-ish hotel done in a Riad style. The maze of corridors around 3 courtyards, with beautful moroccan lanterns, tiles and stonework certainly gave an interesting and authentic feel. The swimming pool in the largest coutyard was very nice (and one of the better Riad pools or so I have read) but it was a shame there were only a couple of loungers around it. There were mainly tables as this was one of the places breakfast and lunch was serviced.

The roof terrace was great - spacious with plenty of loungers, good views and pretty lanterns and plants. You could get breakfast and lunch on the roof and there was also a small plunge pool up here to cool off.

I was a little disappointed in our room. It was quite cool in its own way with funky lights and OTT bathroom, but it was also quite small and dark (painted all dark blues and greens) with no natural light. It was set on one of the smaller riad courtyards and from peering into the other rooms, I'd say there were better rooms than ours. Rooms are named and ours was called "Poun" so if you end up in this room and have checked in early enough (we got there early evening) ask to look at some other rooms in case there are any you like better.

Areas where I thought the hotel wasn't up to scratch are the service, the spa and the general attention to detail. Whilst the staff were friendly, the service was patchy and slow, particularly at breakfast. Breakfast was meant to start at 8am and on our last day we were leaving for the airport at 8.30 so wanted to eat before we went. Tables were still being set at 8.15, half the buffet was empty and I had to go and look for someone in the kitchen to order coffee.

The spa was the worst though. The spa staff were unfriendly and incompetent - it took 3 visits and a complaint to the hotel manager before we could get treatments booked at times we wanted (having actualy made an appointment already that was flatly denied when we popped back to confirm). Our treatments were also not great - my back massage done by a surly unsmiling theraprist was almost as aggressive as it was ineffectual. My husband had the hammam which he desribed as "brutal" and again, following by a pointless massage. Whilst the spa is extremely good looking, the large show- piece jacuzzi was on the cold side and not very vigourous.

Overall attention to detail also showed me the hotel cuts corners - e.g. thin, stained scratchy towels in the bathrooms, poor quality toilettries, the stale welcome pastries brought on our first day then left for the duration. This may sound picky but for nearly £400 a night I expected more.

Finally - make sure you use the safe in your room and keep it locked at all times as we both had cash taken from our wallets (which were in the safe, although unlocked) around the time of the evening turn down service. It was GBP that was taken, and not all the cash we had so we did not notice until back in the UK. I have complained to the hotel but after 5 days have still not heard from them.

Overall, La Sultana is a good looking, interesting hotel with a good location (only 10-15 mins walk from the main square) but ultimately the spa, service and prices let it down.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Intrepid_Monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#12 of 500 in Marrakech
1,234 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#29 of 500 in Marrakech
635 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#42 of 500 in Marrakech
377 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#81 of 500 in Marrakech
1,981 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#35 of 500 in Marrakech
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Property: La Sultana Marrakech
Address: 403 rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads. Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing