We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic venue”
Review of Riad Farnatchi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Farnatchi
Ranked #89 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Fantastic venue”
Reviewed 9 November 2011

My girlfriend and I didn't stay here as were were booked into another hotel but it was recommended to us by some friends. We booked (by email) dinner on the terrace one evening which was simply awesome.

On arrival we were greeted by James, the owner whose good humour and extensive local knowledge were welcomed.

The food we had was excellent. clearly well sourced and cooked to perfection. We had to order in advance so they could properly source what we wanted. The wine was beautiful and reasonably priced (between 150 and 400 MAD) and the meal was also great value.

You can't beat an awesome view at dinner and Riad Farnatchi delivered on that front too. A perfect romantic venue and a must for any guy wanting to score some points with his lady.

The service was also top-notch and we had a tour of a room and the Hammam which has convinced us we'll be staying there when we come back.

Highly recommended to those wanting to sample what a beautiful Riad has to offer.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7RAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    23
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
50
219
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Imagine arriving off a flight into the stifling heat of the afternoon in a bustling North African city like Marrakech. Collected from the airport very efficiently by hotel representatives and car, you and your bags are escorted protectively into, and through, the apparent chaos of the Medina area. When the car can go no further, you are invited to accompany the hotel staff member on a brief walk down the busy little alleyways, until you come to an inconsequential archway that will become increasingly familiar over the next few days of your stay in Marrakech. Out of the gloom of a guard house steps a welcoming figure dressed in hotel livery, who reaches up to a bell on a huge, but discreet, ancient wooden door tucked into the wall. Within that huge door there is a smaller, more manageable one, that is opened by yet another smiling member of staff. You step through, and you feel the extreme relief of finding yourself in what can only be described as the most wonderful Oasis of Sanity in Marrakech. We were told by a tour guide that "Riad" means "Internal Garden (of Paradise)" and the Riad Farnatchi certainly is that! The hotel exudes luxury, right from the entrance, through the public rooms, to the bedrooms. The spaciousness of the bedrooms is almost excessive. The furnishings and artwork are stunning. The quality of the food was superb. And on top of all of that, the hospitality and the service, from all the staff we encountered, without exception, (and we have never stayed in a hotel before where we could honestly say that!), was extremely friendly, courteous and above all, efficient! Truly an "(Internal) Garden of Paradise". Would we go back? THAT is a rhetorical question!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent value for money. Stretch the wallet to the best you can afford and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Just returned from a superb 4 day trip to Marrakech. We cannot praise the Riad Farnatchi enough. From the moment we were picked up from the airport, we were cossetted by the staff - the service was welcoming, efficient and yet completely unobtrusive. Dinner, one night, on the roof terrace was amazing. Our suite was superb and the pillows to die for! The Riad is a haven of peace and tranquillity in the bustling souks. We enjoyed the hamam and a massage and if you have a chance to arrange a drive to the Atlas mountains the trip is well worthwhile.

Room Tip: We were in suite 3, the lounge area of which opened onto a terrace overlooking the pool in the centr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mstebbings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Being the first guests of the season was a treat in itself, we had the whole place to ourselves for the first night! This beautiful Riad lies in the heart of the Medina and has 9 amazing suites. The service is impeccable and incredibly personal with every detail well thought out and very individual. It is easily the most personal service I have ever received when travelling, it was brilliant.

Outside the luxuries of the Riad, anything we could think of or wanted to see/do could be organised, and on the days we wanted to explore by ourselves James and his staff were a wealth of information on the different areas.

I'm not usually one to dine where I stay, but the beautifully cooked authentic dishes beckoned to be tried and we found ourselves eating in more often than not! The wines were also good, the ones we tried were very tasty and were well matched to our meals. Oh and the dining room walls are a must-see.

Our most memorable moment in the Riad was a private dinner organised for our honeymoon by the staff on our final night. We dined in the elegant open air courtyard, lit by candles hanging from the tree... it brought a tear to my eye, so pretty and thoughtful.

We also enjoyed a hammam spa, which was a refreshing experience and one I would also recommend. Overall, I would thoroughly recommend staying here and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samantha k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

I stayed at Riad Farnatchi last week and absolutely loved it. It is the perfect haven from the hustle and bustle of the souks which are just a few minutes walk away. From the moment the car picked us up from the airport we were treated like family and nothing was too much trouble. They even opened the kitchen back up at 10pm one night to make us dinner! We were given suite 6, which has a beautiful living room, with a bedroom upstairs and its very own roof terrace. You can see how much thought has gone into every detail of the design of the riad. The owners have perfectly combined a calming, tranquil atmosphere with little splashes of vibrant Moroccan colours. Little touches such as afternoon pastries and evening canapes were a real treat. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbiBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We recently embarked on a two week honeymoon in Morocco, staying in over six hotels in various regions and without doubt, Riad Farnatchi was our favourite of the entire holiday.
Everything from the service to the atmosphere to the amazing breakfasts and delicous dinners made our stay here very special. We loved the laid back atmosphere, were nothing was too much trouble. Quite simply, this place has a sophisticated air about it. I'm suprised it's not higher up in the ratings, although I think this may be because the owners don't push you to comment on here as many other hotels did.
Thank you for a wonderful stay, we can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EttieBettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This was our first time in Marrakesh so we do not have a yardstick for comparison but I cannot see how a place can better this! Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steliostria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#53 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#52 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#87 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#26 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#28 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Farnatchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Farnatchi

Property: Riad Farnatchi
Address: 2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#50 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#64 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Farnatchi 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Farnatchi has been described as "The City's Most Luxurious Riad" by Food and Travel Magazine, "The Ultimate Hideaway" by Harpers Bazaar and "Best Luxury Riad" by Conde Nast Traveller. It was created out of six small Riads in the heart of the oldest part of Marrakech, with 400 year old walls and 21st C comforts. With just 10 suites Farnatchi has the feel of a beautiful, highly individual, private house. The 2016 addition of a new Spa with private Hammams and en suite Massage rooms has taken Farnatchi to the level of a world class 5 star "boutique" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Farnatchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Farnatchi Marrakech
Riad Farnatchi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing