We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A magical destination” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Farnatchi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Farnatchi
Ranked #87 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A magical destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

My first visit to Marrakech and with not really knowing what to expect, Riad Farnatchi was this amazing secret hideaway that you would never know was there due to the unassuming, yet beautiful door leading out onto the streets of Marrakech. So close to the Medina and the souks, yet once inside you are in your own little world; stunning interiors, incredibly friendly and helpful staff and such spacious private rooms you could spend all day relaxing in them. I could write for hours on what a fantastic place it is, but honestly it really is so magical and if you haven't been yet then I think this should definitely be someone you must go and visit....I will definitely be going again and again.....

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    23
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
49
214
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

What a fantastic and luxurious experience!

We were looked after really well. From our arrival to the Riad, met with fresh mint tea, to the unique rooms and stunning surroundings. We really enjoyed exploring all of the nooks and crannies, the sun terraces and the courtyard - especially the pool!

The evening dining is not one to be missed either!

Room Tip: Tell the hotel what you are looking for, they have different rooms for couples, friends etc so will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoST S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

This was a stunning place to stay - beautifully designed and decorated and such a peaceful haven from the madness and excitement that is the rest of Marrakech. A great location in the Medina from which to access the souks and other sights.... though we could quite happily have spent every day of our trip just chilling in the riad. Our 'room' (it was massive!)(suite 4) was gorgeous - full of character and had its own private roof terrace - breakfast up there in the sun was a real highlight. Service was faultless - the staff had worked out and sorted what we needed before we knew ourselves and their tips on navigating the souks were invaluable. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We visited Riad Farnatchi last year and found a little bit of paradise right in the heart of Marrakech’s medina! Impeccably run with excellent attention to detail and sumptuous rooms all decorated to a high end and all individual. The staff went out of their way to make us feel at home and the owner has superb local knowledge and gave some excellent recommendations in and around the city I cannot recommend Farnatchi enough!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

A city oasis, small discreet and more like a private home than a hotel. Everything was very personal, attentive and authentic. The Hamman was wonderful, with one of the best massages I have ever experienced, strong and deeply satisfying. The sights and sounds of the city from the roof garden were lovely. Would I go again.................yes, yes, yes.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
budapest
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

If you are looking for the perfect escape from the xmas hustle and bustle and the hurly burly of the enormous souk, this riad is just perfect. A sun drenched terrace for breakfast, a log fire in the evening lit for you, fine private dining, neutral advice on trips and stuff to buy in the souk are just the start.
Above all, James the owner. has created a team of people who quite obviously really enjoy working there. He has a passion to overcome all the little irritations you may encounter in a chain 5 star hotel. Internet is free and you feel you are a guest in a private house. Once you are there, everything is about pleasing you. The actual prices for drinks in the riad are cheaper than anywhere outside. The place is obviously a family's passion first, commercial gain is a deserved side product.. Please keep that idealism, it is so refreshing after spending so much of my time in antiseptic 5 star hotels.
We were in Suite 7. it had a beautiful private terrace, our own log fire, a huge bath and very quickly was like home. We miss it already.

Room Tip: in winter months, buy the rooms higher up with a terrace... downstairs is cool, upstairs is very war...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theclaphambear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brussels
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

My wife and I decided to take a trip without kids after a busy Christmas. We chose Riad Farnatchi for the great reviews it had received on this site and elsewhere, and are glad we did. Cliche it may be, but the Farnatchi really is an oasis of calm away from the madness of the souks: indeed I am not sure that the madness would have been bearable without the counter-balance of the Farnatchi. The staff were extraordinary: from James, the proprietor, and Myriam, Saida and many others we received an absolutely exceptional service, both friendly and professional. The food in the Farnatchi was so good (they have a great Berber cook) that we decided to "eat in" on most of our evenings there. Breakfasts on the roof or in one of the salons were a joy. The entertainment put together by James and his team on new year's eve, a group of Moroccan musicians, was great fun. Our principal outing, to the High Atlas mountains (with lunch in a Berber village) was also organised for us by the Farnatchi, and was a high-light of our stay.

We stayed in Suite 9, the largest of the suites in the Farnatch, which was absolutely beautiful: only two slight gripes, the first we should have spotted so is our (or rather my!) fault, the second was resolved. Gripe 1: the suite was on the ground floor of the Riad, and my wife had thought we had booked a suite with a roof terrace. It was consequently a little darker than some of the accomodation nearer to sky level (and of course didn't have a terrace, although it did have its own private courtyard, with fountain). Gripe 2; when we arrived, and for our first evening, the suite was very cold (which in late December/early January is normal once the sun has gone down). On our mentioning the issue, it was immediately rectified.

We are much seasoned travellers and stay in many 5 star hotels every year on both business and pleasure: the Farnatchi certainly ranks amongst the best of them. We would unhesitatingly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank craigBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#53 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#16 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#51 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#27 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#101 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#14 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Farnatchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Farnatchi

Property: Riad Farnatchi
Address: 2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#47 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#50 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#60 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Farnatchi 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Farnatchi has been described as "The City's Most Luxurious Riad" by Food and Travel Magazine, "The Ultimate Hideaway" by Harpers Bazaar and "Best Luxury Riad" by Conde Nast Traveller. It was created out of six small Riads in the heart of the oldest part of Marrakech, with 400 year old walls and 21st C comforts. With just 10 suites Farnatchi has the feel of a beautiful, highly individual, private house. The 2016 addition of a new Spa with private Hammams and en suite Massage rooms has taken Farnatchi to the level of a world class 5 star "boutique" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad Farnatchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Farnatchi Marrakech
Riad Farnatchi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing