We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My kind of place...”
Review of Riad Farnatchi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Farnatchi
Ranked #88 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2013

A sumptuous Riad, in a super location, nearby to the famous Marrakech souks. I am lucky to have a job that involves a lot of travel each year and this is definitely one of the best places I have ever stayed (I was on holiday this time, not working).

An architecturally stunning property, in which my wife and I had a cavernous bedroom, huge bath and shower - which had a glass roof, so I could see the blue Moroccan sky and green trees above in the morning.

Breakfast was substantial, delicious and served to us on our own private roof terrace.

Also included in the room rate was a car pick up from the airport and the staff were some of the most friendly and genuine I have encountered.

It's not cheap cheap, but I've never felt a place was so fairly priced and if it was in Europe it would be at least double the price and if it was in Capri/Monaco/Nice/St Tropez etc. I dread to think what a night here would cost!


Marrakech is a magical place and this Riad compliments the experience perfectly.

I think what I'm trying to say is that I'd recommend it...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
There are newer reviews for Riad Farnatchi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013

My first visit to Marrakech and with not really knowing what to expect, Riad Farnatchi was this amazing secret hideaway that you would never know was there due to the unassuming, yet beautiful door leading out onto the streets of Marrakech. So close to the Medina and the souks, yet once inside you are in your own little world; stunning interiors, incredibly friendly and helpful staff and such spacious private rooms you could spend all day relaxing in them. I could write for hours on what a fantastic place it is, but honestly it really is so magical and if you haven't been yet then I think this should definitely be someone you must go and visit....I will definitely be going again and again.....

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

What a fantastic and luxurious experience!

We were looked after really well. From our arrival to the Riad, met with fresh mint tea, to the unique rooms and stunning surroundings. We really enjoyed exploring all of the nooks and crannies, the sun terraces and the courtyard - especially the pool!

The evening dining is not one to be missed either!

Room Tip: Tell the hotel what you are looking for, they have different rooms for couples, friends etc so will...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoST S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This was a stunning place to stay - beautifully designed and decorated and such a peaceful haven from the madness and excitement that is the rest of Marrakech. A great location in the Medina from which to access the souks and other sights.... though we could quite happily have spent every day of our trip just chilling in the riad. Our 'room' (it was massive!)(suite 4) was gorgeous - full of character and had its own private roof terrace - breakfast up there in the sun was a real highlight. Service was faultless - the staff had worked out and sorted what we needed before we knew ourselves and their tips on navigating the souks were invaluable. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We visited Riad Farnatchi last year and found a little bit of paradise right in the heart of Marrakech’s medina! Impeccably run with excellent attention to detail and sumptuous rooms all decorated to a high end and all individual. The staff went out of their way to make us feel at home and the owner has superb local knowledge and gave some excellent recommendations in and around the city I cannot recommend Farnatchi enough!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

A city oasis, small discreet and more like a private home than a hotel. Everything was very personal, attentive and authentic. The Hamman was wonderful, with one of the best massages I have ever experienced, strong and deeply satisfying. The sights and sounds of the city from the roof garden were lovely. Would I go again.................yes, yes, yes.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

If you are looking for the perfect escape from the xmas hustle and bustle and the hurly burly of the enormous souk, this riad is just perfect. A sun drenched terrace for breakfast, a log fire in the evening lit for you, fine private dining, neutral advice on trips and stuff to buy in the souk are just the start.
Above all, James the owner. has created a team of people who quite obviously really enjoy working there. He has a passion to overcome all the little irritations you may encounter in a chain 5 star hotel. Internet is free and you feel you are a guest in a private house. Once you are there, everything is about pleasing you. The actual prices for drinks in the riad are cheaper than anywhere outside. The place is obviously a family's passion first, commercial gain is a deserved side product.. Please keep that idealism, it is so refreshing after spending so much of my time in antiseptic 5 star hotels.
We were in Suite 7. it had a beautiful private terrace, our own log fire, a huge bath and very quickly was like home. We miss it already.

Room Tip: in winter months, buy the rooms higher up with a terrace... downstairs is cool, upstairs is very war...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theclaphambear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#68 of 502 in Marrakech
432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#98 of 502 in Marrakech
286 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#28 of 502 in Marrakech
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#51 of 502 in Marrakech
958 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 502 in Marrakech
1,245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar Seven
Dar Seven
#108 of 502 in Marrakech
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Farnatchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Farnatchi

Address: 2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#50 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#66 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £254 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Farnatchi 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Farnatchi has been described as "The City's Most Luxurious Riad" by Food and Travel Magazine, "The Ultimate Hideaway" by Harpers Bazaar and "Best Luxury Riad" by Conde Nast Traveller. It was created out of six small Riads in the heart of the oldest part of Marrakech, with 400 year old walls and 21st C comforts. With just 10 suites Farnatchi has the feel of a beautiful, highly individual, private house. The 2016 addition of a new Spa with private Hammams and en suite Massage rooms has taken Farnatchi to the level of a world class 5 star "boutique" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Farnatchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Farnatchi Marrakech
Riad Farnatchi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing