We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This should be in the top 5 places to stay in Marrakech!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Farnatchi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Farnatchi
Ranked #87 of 495 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This should be in the top 5 places to stay in Marrakech!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

My boyfriend surprised me with a trip to Marrakech and throughout our holiday we stayed in 3 different Riads, two of which were considered 'luxurious'. This was definitely the case for the Riad Farnatchi where we spent our final evening.

The service was impressive, really 5* quality and made the experience that much better. We were taken aback with how much guidance was offered for our trip, information on places to visit, tricks for getting cheaper taxi fares, and so on. We stayed in room 6 which is one of two suites with a private terrace...perfect for sunbathing and outdoor lunches or evening drinks. The room was enormous, over two floors with main reception and fire place on the first floor, rainfall shower + separate bathtub and beautifully decorated bedroom on the 2nd floor. For those of you Molton Brown lovers, bathroom comes fully equipped! Upon arrival the owner left a booklet for us to read through, everything you need to know about the Riad, lunch, dinner and breafast menu which pretty much offers any type of egg imaginable and a personal (and quite humorous) guide into the best restaurants to visit in Marrakech. Would recommend eating elsewhere than the Riad as there are some amazing restaurants with better food and value, but we are aware that the owner is expanding and will be opening a new restaurant alongside the Riad and I'm sure that will be something worth experiencing.

If you fancy a movie after a great night out, they also offer a portable disk drive with great selection of US and other foreign films (just ask reception).

The luxurious and personal experience ended with the owner (James) personally driving us to the airport!

FYI, if you are in a dilemna or torn about which luxurious Riads to choose from, then look no further than the Riad Farnatchi!

Thanks again for a memorable stay!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbeVanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of Raid Farnatchi! We are all hugely grateful for your kind words and delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I was particularly happy to note your thoughts on our service which is something that we are constantly striving to improve. With 20 staff to 9 Suites we hope to make sure that everyone gets a very personal service. Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    23
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
50
217
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I cannot express in words the outstanding excellence of the Riad Farnatchi Everything including staff is/are to the highest of standards and it is faultless from the moment of entering "the Hole in the Wall" to exiting is PERFECTION to mind body and soul.

Carolyn Seel.
November 2013

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarksonwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind words it makes such a difference to all the team to know how much their efforts are appreciated! We very much hope that you will be back to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

My daughter surprised me with this most Amazing Riad and we felt so at home. Nothing was too much. And done with such love and friendliness. We were in suite 6. Huge bed. Log fire. Blazing when we requested. Late late breakfast. When we wanted. No is not a word ever used. Such luxury in the whole place. Last but not least total luxury of a gorgeous sunken bath. James you have reached perfection. Your staff are the best. A must to do after a long day - A Hamman.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuss485y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
I can't thank you enough for taking the time to not only write this review but correct it when there was a problem with the system, we are all hugely grateful as every great review makes such a difference! I really hope that you will visit Marrakech and Riad Farnatchi again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

What a wonderful experience. We celebrated our ruby wedding with our grown up children and we were blown away by the amazing suites and the professionalism and friendliness of all the staff. What a happy place to stay and so well situated in the Medina. Can't imagine how anyone would wish to stay in a hotel when you get such comfort and attention in this Riad.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
What a super review, thank you very much! I am so glad that you had such a great time in Marrakech and at Riad Farnatchi. I really hope that we will be able to welcome you all back to Marrakech again soon. Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
86 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

You can't go wrong staying at Riad Farnatchi. The staff's attention to detail is amazing - especially Karimia (I'm probably butchering her name) but she was so great at assisting us during our stay she deserves this shout out. We stayed in Suite 4 - super nice room with a huge king size bed and a beautiful fireplace. Bathroom was also very nice with the best towels I have ever had away from home. The floor in the bathroom is heated in the evenings which is a very nice touch. One thing I will caution on is that the tub does not drain well and it makes for a treacherous climb out of the tub without a handrail. I know Mr. Wix reads these reviews so I hope he takes it to heart when I say that the tub in #4 is a broken hip waiting to happen. Suite 4 also has a beautiful private terrace up on the roof-sitting there in the afternoon was simply wonderful. We really liked the riad's location which was in the medina but not in the middle of the medina's craziness.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBrantley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked your room and the location of the Riad. I have looked into the drainage of the bath and we have now rectified this problem, thank you for bringing it to our attention. I very much hope that you will come back to Marrakech again and that I can look forward to welcoming you back to Riad Farnatchi. I will also make sure I pass on your thanks to Karima who I know will be delighted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We got the chance to stay in Suite #3 and Suite #9 on our honeymoon. It was ideal. Lovely, friendly and helpful staff, beautiful place, unique and full of character. The bathrooms and balconies are incredible. Location is great, so much fun to explore in the medina of Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed spending your Honeymoon with us, thank you very much for taking the time to put your kind words on Trip Advisor, every good review helps us hugely. I very much hope that you will visit Riad Farnatchi again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We were booked here by Butterfield and Robinson as part of our bicycle vacation in Morocco. We stayed in several great places, but Riad Farnatchi was a jewel. James Wix, the owner, and his smiling, helpful staff welcomed us and were always ready with help and advice. The buildings and rooms are newly restored and beautifully done. Our whole group enjoyed the meals here; this was a perfect final accommodation for our trip.

Room Tip: Suite 9 was delightful and overlooked the central court. Don't miss the view over the city from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of Riad Farnatchi. We are all so grateful for your kind words and comments. I will definitely pass on your remarks about the food to the chef who will be delighted. I very much hope that you will come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#55 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#53 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#82 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#26 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Farnatchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Farnatchi

Property: Riad Farnatchi
Address: 2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#47 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#50 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#62 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Farnatchi 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Farnatchi has been described as "The City's Most Luxurious Riad" by Food and Travel Magazine, "The Ultimate Hideaway" by Harpers Bazaar and "Best Luxury Riad" by Conde Nast Traveller. It was created out of six small Riads in the heart of the oldest part of Marrakech, with 400 year old walls and 21st C comforts. With just 10 suites Farnatchi has the feel of a beautiful, highly individual, private house. The 2016 addition of a new Spa with private Hammams and en suite Massage rooms has taken Farnatchi to the level of a world class 5 star "boutique" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Farnatchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Farnatchi Marrakech
Riad Farnatchi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing