We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved every aspect of the Riad Farnatchi”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Farnatchi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Farnatchi
Ranked #85 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved every aspect of the Riad Farnatchi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2008

We just returned from our amazing trip to Morocco. Marrakesh exceeded our most wildly optimistic expectations and the
Riad Farnatchi was incredible and worth every penny. Upon arrival we had the driver meet us at the airport and take us to the Farnatchi. We stayed in Suite #3 and it was spectacular - large living room, beautiful bedroom with 20 foot ceilings, huge bathroom with sunken tub, and private balcony overlooking the courtyard and pool. Lynn the manager was excellent, catering to our overy need and her staff was also very strong. The hotel staff helped arrange reservations and taxis to several restaurants which we'd also recomment - Narwama and Dar Moha were excellent and we had a glass of wine at both Le Foundouk and Cafe Aribe which were both beautiful as well (Arabe made for an excellent afternoon spot with a great rooftop covered patio). In summary, Lynn and the staff consistently went above and beyond - given that we do quite a bit of research and are often confused by the polarized feedback on Trip Advisor - please take our sincere advice and consider the Farnatchi - you will not be disappointed ! Chris

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank cb_austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    23
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
50
217
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2008

Our visit to Morocco was to celebrate a ‘special’ birthday for my husband. I planned well in advance for this gift, staying at Kasbah Tamadot and the Riad Farnatchi for our Marrakech portion of the holiday. Part of my enjoyment of travel is the investigative portion which also encompasses locating the right accommodations. Riad Farnatchi was given positive reviews by Trip Advisor and other travel web-sites and those rave reviews combined with the highest room rates in the area misled me to reserve with them. Our stay was not disastrous or even anything near, but just truly disappointing. I had reserved the largest Suite 9, along with all our meals in-house. Lynn and I had emailed one another weeks in advance of our arrival. She had graciously inquired as to allergies and vegetarian diets and it was at this time that I communicated my desire to make my husband’s birthday very memorable. Lynn assured me that the service was quite personalized and that we would thoroughly enjoy our stay. But from our arrival, which was without a greeting or welcome, to our departure, all was just ordinary, at best, with communication lacking and standards below par. Given the room price, the bland service and meals, I would highly recommend checking all available riad options in the city before reserving the Riad Farnatchi

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CharlieSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claverdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2008

We have just returned from a 2 centre holiday in Morocco staying at Riad Farnatchi and Kasbah Tamadot.
RF was in the top ten riads when we booked last year but it is now 26!
There is absolutely no apparent reason for the fall ( except perhaps for the "bumping" that seems to be going on with reports for Marrakech).
We had suite 6 with a downstairs sitting room (huge) and upstairs bedroom, shower room, sunken bath (which is quite easy to fall into!) and large roof terrace. This had 2 loungers, a table and 2 chairs and great views over the roof tops.
Lynn and the staff are all great and nothing is too much trouble. Service was supplied almost before you asked for it.
We ate in once, on the roof terrace, and it was OK but pricey compared to the fantastic Le Foundouk just round the corner.
The location is great, just round the corner from Medersa Ben Youssef and right by the souks.
The hotel arranged a 90 minute tour of the souks by a guide for 100 MAD. He was not very good. No commentary. Just interested in getting us into various shops.
The complimentary pickup from the airport worked fine. The driver waited whilst we changed some money at the airport and took us as far as he could into the medina. He then guided us through the narrow streets for about 400 metres to the Riad.
A wonderful place and we would definitely stay there again if we return to Marrakech.

  • Liked — The roof terrace and the location
  • Disliked — The roof top dinner
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2008

Simply stunning! Everything about the Riad Farnatchi is perfect. We stayed here for 4 nights and had suite 9. We were thrilled with this suite as it felt like we had a whole riad all to ourselves. Not only did we have a wonderful bedroom, bathroom, & living room, but also our own private outside courtyard with a daybed & fountain. Just so relaxing after a busy day out in Marrakech.

The whole riad is beautiful - without fault. However, what was even more impressive (if that's possible) is the manager Lynn & her staff. We have never stayed anywhere else before where we have received such personal service. Absolutely no request was too much bother & the help we received arranging various activities took all the hassle away. Without exception, all of the staff were professional, friendly, helpful & always had a smile for us.

Also, the food is fabulous!

I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Marrakech & will definitely return. You will certainly not be disappointed if you stay at the Riad Farnatchi!

  • Liked — The Service!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank HotCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk, england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2008

As you step through the studded wooden door you leave the noise and bustle of the medina behind and enter another world, one of tranquility, courtesy, trickling fountains and stunning moroccan design. We stayed with a party that took over the whole riad for three days, and it was an unforgettable experience. It was simply impossible to find fault with anything, a first in my travelling experience. Every bedroom was examined and compared, to the sound of oohs and aahs as each one seemed more exotic and lavish than its predecessor. Go and experience it: I guarantee that you won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — the ambience
  • Disliked — We were only there for 3 nights
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hughbert54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2008

Quite simply the best place I've ever stayed. An essential retreat from the noise, smell and heat of the medina, the owners of this riad have distilled the essence of hospitality beautifully, and simply treat their guests as they would be treated themselves. Lots of nice little touches, but it is the genuine warmth and excellence of the staff that make this place extremely special.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank metalwynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2008

Situated 10 minutes walk North from the famous Jamaa El Fna sqare (you just have to cross the souk to reach it), the Riad Farnatchi is an oasis of calm and luxury in the buzzing Marrakech.

From the arrival to the way back to Marrakech airport, we spent 5 wonderful days in the Riad Farnatchi.

- An exceptional service : always ready to answer your needs, gentile, full of marvelous advice for visits and dinners.
- An amazing suite : this is certainly one of the greatest suites I ever had the chance to stay in. Furniture, decoration, atmosphere...everything is chosen with a fine and sure taste, bathroom, shower are unforgettable, we had also a sunny terrace with a view on the medina.
- Fine dinners : incredible breakfast, inventive dinners : the first who choose the menu determines the menu of the day. We had 2 times dinners and had amost the regret not to taste all the possibilities offered.
- You can also book the hamman, have some massages....

We recommend this riad for all trip advisor travellers who aims at relaxing in an outstanding place.

  • Liked — The wonderful suite we had
  • Disliked — nothing : all was perfect!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cilini2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#58 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#54 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#82 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#26 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Farnatchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Farnatchi

Property: Riad Farnatchi
Address: 2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#50 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#62 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Farnatchi 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Farnatchi has been described as "The City's Most Luxurious Riad" by Food and Travel Magazine, "The Ultimate Hideaway" by Harpers Bazaar and "Best Luxury Riad" by Conde Nast Traveller. It was created out of six small Riads in the heart of the oldest part of Marrakech, with 400 year old walls and 21st C comforts. With just 10 suites Farnatchi has the feel of a beautiful, highly individual, private house. The 2016 addition of a new Spa with private Hammams and en suite Massage rooms has taken Farnatchi to the level of a world class 5 star "boutique" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Farnatchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Farnatchi Marrakech
Riad Farnatchi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing