We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an oasis of clam where all your needs are met.”
Review of Riad Farnatchi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Farnatchi
Ranked #93 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2009

Not only was it my first trip to Marrakech, but my first time travelling alone. A friend had recommended Fernatchi to me as a great place to unwind and be gently introduced to the sights and sounds of the medina. As soon as I set foot in the door any anxieties that I had melted away and with expert guidance from Lynn Perez, who posesses an encyclopedic knowlege of all things Marrakech, I knew I could not fail to have a good time. Coming back at the end of the day to the riad's luxurious and peaceful facilites, where service is highly professional and pre-emptive and the rooms so beautifully decorated and comforting, I really wouldn't want to have stayed anywhere else. One tiny detail that I love is the locally made Verbena soap. A joy to the senses!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OriaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2009

I have been to Marrakech many, many times. There are so many riads that photograph beautifully. Yet, they disappoint in reality.

Among the handful of truly stellar places in Marrakech is Riad Farnatchi, and over the years it has become among my favorite places to stay.

First of all, it is incredibly beautiful. You are in the heart of the medina, you feel the breath of Morocco and you get a feeling unlike anywhere else. That is something of which I never tire.

Second of all, its level of service is among the highest in Morocco. Its staff is well trained and delivers exceedingly well to a discerning clientele – and always with a smile and a “no problem” attitude. I have seen them handle all sorts of clients from all over the world – some easy, some not-so-easy – always with grace and efficiency.

Third of all, its manager (a Canadian who has lived in Morocco nearly 10 years) is one of the most authoritative individuals on Marrakech. In Morocco, management is everything and it is rare to see a place that truly functions well.

Most importantly, perhaps, it has a certain energy, a certain vibe. It is a heartfelt hospitality. A sense of being in your own home. A place of great beauty and serenity, yet a place where you can feel 100% comfortable to relax and be yourself and curl up on the patio with a good book and some iced mint tea.

As someone who knows Morocco better than most, I think Riad Farnatchi embodies the very best of Morocco.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaz212ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2009

Riad Farnatchi is probably the best run Riad in Marrakech. We've stayed there numerous times and have been amazed each time by the level of service and attention to detail. Lynn Perez is a great host who will go to great lengths to fullfill any requests (as long as they are decent of course). It's a hidden gem in the Medina and those who are lucky enough to book a room will enjoy a great stay. The rooms are superstylish and have that lovely smell one can only find in Marrakech. It makes us want to go back each year.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Retepcram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Another great stay at Riad Farnatchi, our fourth - this place just gets better and better. Thinking of a break in Marrakech, there's no better place to stay. The location is great - minutes from Ben Yousef Medersa and the Museum of Marrakech; only 5 minutes away from the souks and 10 minutes from Jemma al Fna. The beautifully restored Riad is a fantastic place to relax with luxurious suites. The staff provide a service second to none - descrete but nothing is too much trouble. The food is delicious and on this visit we ate at home more than in the vast choice of restaurants around. The place is incredible and worth every penny. We are already planning to return and looking at flights for our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheepBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

I stayed at Riad Farnatchi after reading The Times had named it the hippest hotel in Marrakesh. I had high expectations given Angelina Jolie was a former guest and hoped the pictures were a true depiction of the hotel itself.

My partner and I stayed here to welcome in New Year 2009. All I can say was that the Riad absolutely made the trip. We were collected at the airport and taken to the Riad via a 4X4 followed by an expedition on foot (helped by a local boy who actually refused our tip as it wasn’t enough!) Marrakesh is a mad city, with monkeys, snakes, and scooters, and so may not be to everyone liking. Yet the Riad is an oasis of calm, peace and tranquility, complete with all mod cons from iPod dockers, DVD libraries, and Molton Brown toiletries.

The staff treated us like film stars and will organize anything you like from club nights at Pacha, to restaurant reservations.

Our room was super-huge with a shower that could have accommodated a whole football team, and a bath deep enough to get lost in. The bed itself was the size of a New York hotel room and we had our own outside space.

The roof terrace is a fabulous place to enjoy a breakfast – easily one of the best I’ve had and the service is understated and immaculate.

We had a truly memorable trip, and the staff were the most welcoming and attentive I have ever encountered. Thank you Riad Farnatchi!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William28London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

We stayed at this Riad in January. When we made the reservation, we requested room suite number 6 and when we arrived at the riad, we were checked in for suite number 6. Very high service level starting at the airport with the tranfer, at the riad with all meals (diner is a must!). All served meals are great. Nothing is to much to arrange. Next time in Marrakech we will stay at Riad Farnatchi again. We stayed 4 nigths but we left with the feeling we stayed for a week.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank itsbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

We visited the Riad Farnatchi for 2 nights. Good location and peaceful BUT vastly overpriced for the facilities offered. Breakfast was poor and the room was ok but inspite of reporting the smells from the drains, the poor drainage from the shower tray nothing was done. The roof terrace was pleasant but the furniture was in a terrible state. Overall it was ok but not worth the 5 star price we paid.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susieSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#64 of 501 in Marrakech
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#89 of 501 in Marrakech
291 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#30 of 501 in Marrakech
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#25 of 501 in Marrakech
1,175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#22 of 501 in Marrakech
545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
#151 of 501 in Marrakech
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Farnatchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Farnatchi

Address: 2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#50 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#52 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#68 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £227 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Farnatchi 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Farnatchi has been described as "The City's Most Luxurious Riad" by Food and Travel Magazine, "The Ultimate Hideaway" by Harpers Bazaar and "Best Luxury Riad" by Conde Nast Traveller. It was created out of six small Riads in the heart of the oldest part of Marrakech, with 400 year old walls and 21st C comforts. With just 10 suites Farnatchi has the feel of a beautiful, highly individual, private house. The 2016 addition of a new Spa with private Hammams and en suite Massage rooms has taken Farnatchi to the level of a world class 5 star "boutique" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Farnatchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Farnatchi Marrakech
Riad Farnatchi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing