We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place for the genuine Moroccan experience!”
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #19 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect place for the genuine Moroccan experience!”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I have travelled all over the world on a regular basis to top destinations and hotels, but this is the first time I am providing a review...it would be unjust if I didn't!

If you are looking for comfort, elegance, genuine warmth from staff, and above all the 'real' Moroccan experience, then I have just done your research for you. Riad Kniza is most unique for actually being owned and run by Moroccans!

The location is perfect, just inside the Medina and walking distance to all the major attractions, yet it's in a quiet alley away from the hussle and bussle. From the moment you arrive at the airport, you are taken care of! The hotel transport takes you to the Riad, where you are greeted with Moroccan tea and sweets.

The rooms are all very spacious and of high standards with air conditioning, and you really get that Moroccan experience with the decor of the room and the Riad as a whole. The breakfast spread is aboslutely huge and will fill you up till dinner, and you can have it in any location in the Riad, the rooftop being the most popular spot. All the staff are extremely warm and hospitable, and Mohammad and Amina will take special care of any request you have. The owner and his son Kamal are often there so do say hello and there's a special discount for guests at their Moroccan antique shop which is a 10 min drive (highly recommend going if you want top quality Moroccan items that you won't find in the markets). If you want any ideas for where to have dinner or sightsee, don't hestiate to ask, the staff give great advice!

Book in advance, and if possible, request not to stay on the ground floor as it's sometimes a little more noisy.

Overall a really amazing place, and will definitely be coming back next time in Marrakech!

Room Tip: Ideally do not stay on the ground floor as this is the noisiest part of the Riad
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abeyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,333
    70
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
210
867
29
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We fell in love with every aspect of the Riad Kniza. As soon as we were met by the boarder gate to the moment we checked out the Riad our experience there was top class. We were treated like royality and nothing was too much to ask for. The building was even more beautiful in the flesh and the staff were very friendly, helpful and very considerate of us. We were upgraded as soon as we arrived and our room was beautiful, spacious and most importantly very cool even without the air conditioning on. The temperature being in the high 30’s-to low 40’s Riad Kniza was a sanctuary to return to after a few hours in the chaos Marrakech. It felt like a Palace and part of the Riad was a little haven. We wouldn’t think twice about returning.

Mr and Mrs Dragon

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pongnou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooks, Alberta, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I'll start by saying that Riad Kniza is beautiful!

The staff were very helpful and friendly. We were supposed to stay there for four nights, but only ended up staying three due to the airline changing a flight on us at the last minute. They were understanding and adjusted our bill. It was our first time in Marrakech, and I am extremely grateful that they arranged transportation from the airport.

The riad itself is amazing. Pictures do not do it justice. I think we got an upgraded room and it was a palace in itself. Breakfasts and a dinner were included in the package we got, and the food was absolutely incredible. We spent a lot of time on the rooftop patio.

They also arranged a tour guide to show us around the souks and the square and some historical sites. This was very helpful, and we spent a lot of time wandering around the next few days. Riad Kniza provided a peaceful place away from the madness of the marketplace.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acanthoplax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

My friend and I stayed at riad kniza for 5nts in july and absolutely loved it, the riad is beautiful as was our suite and the staff were all fantastic and could not do enough for us from replying promptly to emails before we arrived,giving advice on places to visit,where to eat, making restaurant reservation, arranging an excellent city tour to giving us directions every time we left the riad although we still managed to get hopelessly lost! All the staff were fantastic and it was great to be served breakfast,drinks ect wherever and whenever we wanted by such happy friendly staff, thank you all.
we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The hotel arranged an airport pickup which was really great. The Riad is really beautiful and you really feel you are in Marrakech, all of the woodwork and stone are of the highest quality.

The staff are really friendly and are more than happy to give advice on trips and restaurants, they all speak excellent English. The price of the stay was very reasonable considering the quality of the Riad and the service we experienced.

The trips that the Riad organise are on the expensive side but what you get is real quality. We took a day trip to the Atlas Mountains and the driver was excellent. He was very knowledgeable about the area and didn't push us into buying anything from the places we visited, he also provided us with an excellent guide to the Ourika Valley waterfalls (the guy was so good he even gave his shoes to my wife to walk up the rocks to the valley while he walked bare foot).

The Riad has a very nice pool and spa as well as a great roof terrace. One of the things we really liked was the freedom to eat and drink where we pleased. If you wanted breakfast in your room you just asked, you could have it on the roof terrace or even by the pool.

Overall I would definitely recommend staying here. All of the major sites are in walking distance as well as the new city.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GenevaSAFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We went for 1st year anniversary at the begining of july this year...they arranged airport transfer which was very comfortable good start to the trip...the riad is amazing the architecture of the place is wow...the staff are amazing...mustafa you rock...and also the hammam in the riad is reallly relaxing saiyda has magical hands.....amina, samira and mohammed at front desk a special thank you for making our visit the best it could have been :). overall this riad is a breath of fresh air and relaixing after a day out in the souks wonderful staff sooo friendly... i would go ther again.......

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam4muna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This is a genuinely beautiful property with exceptional service from wonderful staff. I would have no hesitation in booking Riad Kniza again.

I hope this review is useful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAC1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Moucharabieh
Riad Moucharabieh
#292 of 499 in Marrakech
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Darsor
Darsor
#339 of 499 in Marrakech
4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Barroko
Riad Barroko
#344 of 499 in Marrakech
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Pavillon Du Golf
Le Pavillon Du Golf
#322 of 499 in Marrakech
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Tuscia
Dar Tuscia
#294 of 499 in Marrakech
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
#460 of 499 in Marrakech
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Property: Riad Kniza
Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing